The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2019, 07:25 PM
Ahjira's Avatar
Ahjira Ahjira is offline
Registered User
Ahjira's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1001361
Ahjira Reputation: 10
Question Commander Pro PWM for H100i Fans

Hey guys I just got the Commander Pro and wired it all up in my 570X. My system wouldn't boot because I moved the power connectors for the two fans on my H100i from the motherboard CPU fan power to my Commander Pro ( slots 4 and 5 ). When I moved the power cables back to the motherboard, I could boot.

Is there something in the bios I have to set to make this work? I'd prefer the fans to be connected to the Commander Pro so that everything is monitored through that interface, but maybe I'm losing functionality by doing that? ELI5 please :)

Motherboard: Asus ROG Strix Z270-E Gaming

Last edited by Ahjira; 04-13-2019 at 07:31 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-13-2019, 08:42 PM
tjgodin's Avatar
tjgodin tjgodin is offline
PC Gaming Enthusiast
tjgodin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 84
POST ID # = 1001363
tjgodin Reputation: 10
Default

Couple questions:

One, I'm sure you have the Commander Pro powered by the USB 2.0 motherboard header - right? And I'm assuming you have other fans powered by Slots 1-3 on the Commander Pro? You can't mix fan types with the Commander Pro, as far as I know, so hopefully, that isn't the issue here.

Why aren't your H100i fans connected to the power connectors wires from the pump? Not sure why you are plugging those fans into the motherboard CPU fan power. Only the H100i pump should be connected to the CPU Fan header. Then in iCUE you can control the pump and the two fans. And if you don't have multiple USB 2.0 headers, you can connect the H100i USB power to one of the USB ports on the Commander pro.

Hope this helps.

Tony
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-13-2019, 08:48 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,247
POST ID # = 1001364
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

You need to disable the "CPU Fan Boot Error" warning system if CPU Fan is empty. It's designed to tell you when there is a device failure for that header. It's a bit motherboard specific and not always intuitive. You may be able to google up "disable CPU boot warning" and your board for specific instructions. Most likely it will be in the Adv. BIOS -> Monitor Tab -> scroll down to the CPU fan readout (0 rpm) and click it. There should be a disable/ignore option on Asus boards.

As mentioned above, you really don't need to power those fans from the Commander Pro instead of the cooler unless they are 3 pin DC motors. There is no inherent advantage. There is one disadvantage. When using the cooler's internal fan controller, it will keep the fans going at your preferred settings with or without the software. That is includes the boot cycle. If you run them from the C-Pro and set the control variable to coolant temp, the C-Pro will loose contact with that data any time the software is not running. You will get a max fan blast at boot.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-13-2019, 10:02 PM
Ahjira's Avatar
Ahjira Ahjira is offline
Registered User
Ahjira's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1001374
Ahjira Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjgodin View Post
One, I'm sure you have the Commander Pro powered by the USB 2.0 motherboard header - right? And I'm assuming you have other fans powered by Slots 1-3 on the Commander Pro? You can't mix fan types with the Commander Pro, as far as I know, so hopefully, that isn't the issue here.
Sorry should have included that, yes I have a total of 6 Corsair LL's in the case, 2 on the H100i and 4 of them are hooked into the Commander Pro now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjgodin View Post
Why aren't your H100i fans connected to the power connectors wires from the pump? Not sure why you are plugging those fans into the motherboard CPU fan power. Only the H100i pump should be connected to the CPU Fan header. Then in iCUE you can control the pump and the two fans. And if you don't have multiple USB 2.0 headers, you can connect the H100i USB power to one of the USB ports on the Commander pro.
Prior to this I had the Lighting Node Pro and at that time my H100i fans *were* connected through the power connectors on the pump, but I got got confused when the mobo starting throwing the error about the empty CPU fan controller.

Your context and the info provided by c-attack below clarified this for me. My bios info was telling me to do exactly what c-attack was saying ( disable the error messaging ) but it sounds like you both recommend keeping the power connected to the pump connections like I had it originally. I'll do that and report back for the sake of anyone else asking similar questions in the future. Many thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-13-2019, 10:05 PM
Ahjira's Avatar
Ahjira Ahjira is offline
Registered User
Ahjira's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1001375
Ahjira Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
You need to disable the "CPU Fan Boot Error" warning system if CPU Fan is empty. It's designed to tell you when there is a device failure for that header. It's a bit motherboard specific and not always intuitive. You may be able to google up "disable CPU boot warning" and your board for specific instructions. Most likely it will be in the Adv. BIOS -> Monitor Tab -> scroll down to the CPU fan readout (0 rpm) and click it. There should be a disable/ignore option on Asus boards.

As mentioned above, you really don't need to power those fans from the Commander Pro instead of the cooler unless they are 3 pin DC motors. There is no inherent advantage. There is one disadvantage. When using the cooler's internal fan controller, it will keep the fans going at your preferred settings with or without the software. That is includes the boot cycle. If you run them from the C-Pro and set the control variable to coolant temp, the C-Pro will loose contact with that data any time the software is not running. You will get a max fan blast at boot.
Ok this clarified a bunch of stuff. The bios messaging on screen was telling me basically the same thing but I didn't have enough context to understand what to do. This helped a ton. And it sounds like keeping the fans powered via the pump connections is wiser. If you read my response to Tony above, I mention I had things set up that way when I was just running the Lighting Node Pro so I'll go back to that set up. Thanks for the explanation.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
commander pro, cpu cooler, pwm

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.