The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Systems > CORSAIR ONE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2017, 01:08 AM
MrPace MrPace is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 73
POST ID # = 923641
MrPace Reputation: 10
Default Question on GPU temp vs. GPU cooler temp

Corsair One Pro...with m.2 SSD and 1080 TI

Just got finished playing Doom for about an hour or so...CPU temps went as high as 77, but MAX CPU load was only 76% during this period...

My SSD went as high as 60...not too worried about that...m.2s run hotter

GPU max temp was 60...not worried about that

BUT

CORSAIR ONE GPU COOLER temp registered a high of 123.2!!!!

What does THAT mean? That sounds WICKED high...but GPU temp itself never got above 60...

Should I be worried? Or does that mean it's simply doing its job and absorbing and carrying away the heat, allowing the GPU to remain at 60 or below?

At idle, GPU temp and GPU COOLER temp are always within 1 degree of each other.

Ambient temp in the room I was playing was around 20-22

Thanks for any guidance on the above...
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-18-2017, 08:18 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,263
POST ID # = 923678
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Assuming your GPU coolant temperature isn't set to Fahrenheit, that is most likely a false peak reading due to a sensor glitch or more likely a program glitch. With a liquid cooled GPU, you coolant temp should be just a few degrees below the same as your GPU diode temperature (often simply labeled GPU temp). In a cold room on first boot/wake, you may see the diode temp drop down to room temperature by coolant temp may be a few degrees higher to reflect the slightly warmer case compared to the colder room temp. As soon as you fire up the GPU to do something, things go back to normal.

Peak glitches are somewhat common, especially if you are using multiple monitoring programs. If using Link, you can also enable the graphing option on the side bar. That should provide more meaningful feedback than a single data point value.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-18-2017, 08:32 AM
MrPace MrPace is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 73
POST ID # = 923680
MrPace Reputation: 10
Default

I thought about the Fahrenheit thing too but it was definitely set to Celsius...

I am using the link software to monitor my temps... Don't have any other monitoring apps as of yet... I'll pay closer attention next time and review the graph to see if it is a spot glitch... Don't recall ever seeing a temp that high yet (have had this bad boy for a few weeks now), so I'm sure you're correct.

Thanks

Last edited by MrPace; 10-18-2017 at 08:34 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-18-2017, 10:26 AM
MrPace MrPace is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 73
POST ID # = 923687
MrPace Reputation: 10
Default

OK, so I took a look at the Link log file...and found another interesting anomaly this morning. GPU high thus far since I turned the machine on is 31c, but the GPU Cooler temp shows a high of 76.5c

Looking at the log file, I see these entries, only seconds apart:

2017-10-18 09:32:14.7651 | 10 | DEBUG: SensorDataLogger | Coolit '0c0450/\\.\HID#VID_1B1C&PID_0C04#6&1A2539F7&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}0' FirmwareVersion[Port0] = <not parsed>
2017-10-18 09:32:14.7651 | 10 | DEBUG: SensorDataLogger | Coolit '0c0450/\\.\HID#VID_1B1C&PID_0C04#6&1A2539F7&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}0' FanRpm[Port0] = 425
2017-10-18 09:32:14.7681 | 10 | DEBUG: SensorDataLogger | Coolit '0c0450/\\.\HID#VID_1B1C&PID_0C04#6&1A2539F7&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}0' Temperature[Port0] = 25.71

one second later:

2017-10-18 09:32:15.9605 | 10 | DEBUG: SensorDataLogger | Coolit '0c0450/\\.\HID#VID_1B1C&PID_0C04#6&1A2539F7&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}0' FirmwareVersion[Port0] = <not parsed>
2017-10-18 09:32:15.9605 | 10 | DEBUG: SensorDataLogger | Coolit '0c0450/\\.\HID#VID_1B1C&PID_0C04#6&1A2539F7&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}0' FanRpm[Port0] = 425
2017-10-18 09:32:15.9605 | 10 | DEBUG: SensorDataLogger | Coolit '0c0450/\\.\HID#VID_1B1C&PID_0C04#6&1A2539F7&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}0' Temperature[Port0] = 76.52

and then another second later:

2017-10-18 09:32:17.1407 | 10 | DEBUG: SensorDataLogger | Coolit '0c0450/\\.\HID#VID_1B1C&PID_0C04#6&1A2539F7&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}0' FirmwareVersion[Port0] = <not parsed>
2017-10-18 09:32:17.1407 | 10 | DEBUG: SensorDataLogger | Coolit '0c0450/\\.\HID#VID_1B1C&PID_0C04#6&1A2539F7&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}0' FanRpm[Port0] = 425
2017-10-18 09:32:17.1407 | 10 | DEBUG: SensorDataLogger | Coolit '0c0450/\\.\HID#VID_1B1C&PID_0C04#6&1A2539F7&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}0' Temperature[Port0] = 25.74


So it shoots from 25.71 to 76.52 back to 25.74 all in the space of less than three seconds...

I didn't post the log portion from the GPU itself, but I just checked and it remained at 26c during the above time period, both before, during and after the 76.5c GPU cooler "spike"...

Last edited by MrPace; 10-18-2017 at 10:37 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-18-2017, 12:04 PM
Corsair Dustin's Avatar
Corsair Dustin Corsair Dustin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Dustin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4,100
POST ID # = 923702
Corsair Dustin Reputation: 41
Default

That's extremely unusual. If the coolant were running at 125C you'd know, and you wouldn't need Link to tell you.

Has your fan speed been fluctuating rapidly or has it been pretty smooth ramping up and down?

It sounds like you have a faulty coolant temperature sensor, but since Corsair One bases the fan speed off of the CPU and GPU temperatures, your system should have no problem actually operating normally. That being said, you're totally within your rights to request a replacement system.
__________________
Corsair DIY & Gaming Systems Architect
Product Manager for Cooling


Please do not send private messages requesting tech support or trouble shooting. You can create a thread and let the solution to your issue be visible to everyone, or alternatively, work directly with tech support by contacting them here.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-18-2017, 12:08 PM
MrPace MrPace is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 73
POST ID # = 923705
MrPace Reputation: 10
Default

I only notice fan speed increase when I am gaming, and do not notice any unusual fluctuating up and down.

Overall I'm quite happy with the system, and if the machine isn't basing any decisions on the coolant temperature, I would probably just let it be, at least for now.

The coolant temp is provided only for informational purposes? The PC isn't using it for any other purposes?
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-18-2017, 03:31 PM
MrPace MrPace is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 73
POST ID # = 923733
MrPace Reputation: 10
Default

I have one other question. All the reviews of the Corsair One I've read states it only has two fans. The top, main fan, and the fan on the 1080 TI card...yet LINK displays three distinct fan RPMs...

Where is the third fan?

The fan listed under the motherboard temps on LINK, I assume, is the top, main fan? Then there is a fan listed under the 1080TI on LINK, and there is another fan listed under the GPU cooler section.

The one listed under the motherboard section is currently blowing at 4,000+ rpms, which sounds HIGH, especially for a big fan like that...lol

The 1080TI fan is going at around 1000 rpm and the one listed under the cooler is around 400rpm.

These numbers were observed at around a 6-10% CPU load.

Do these numbers sound right? And is there a third fan? Must be, since I'm getting three distinct RPM readouts...
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-18-2017, 03:40 PM
MrPace MrPace is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 73
POST ID # = 923735
MrPace Reputation: 10
Default

DUH....PSU fan is the third fan...right? LMAO

Is that the one going at 4,000 rpm?

The 400 rpm one is the case fan at the top?

And the 1000 rpm fan is the one on the 1080ti...am I getting this now?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 10-19-2017, 12:44 PM
Corsair Dustin's Avatar
Corsair Dustin Corsair Dustin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Dustin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4,100
POST ID # = 923834
Corsair Dustin Reputation: 41
Default

Update to the most recent version of Corsair Link for Corsair One. It resolves all your questions about fan speeds. ;)

The only time the system fan will be dependent on the coolant temperature is when Corsair Link isn't running.
__________________
Corsair DIY & Gaming Systems Architect
Product Manager for Cooling


Please do not send private messages requesting tech support or trouble shooting. You can create a thread and let the solution to your issue be visible to everyone, or alternatively, work directly with tech support by contacting them here.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.