The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2018, 06:36 AM
Hex. Hex. is offline
Registered User
Hex.'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 937745
Hex. Reputation: 10
Question Corsair Link 4 has stopped working. - Windows 10

Hello,

I have recently acquired 3x LL140 RGB Fans and have set them up all correctly.
I've installed Corsair Link 4 and discovered that whenever I try to open it, after 20 seconds or so - it "stops working".

I'd appreciate some help as soon as possible.

Thanks~
Hex.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-28-2018, 11:07 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,530
POST ID # = 937779
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Are you running any other monitoring tools?
HWInfo? HWMonitor? EVGA XOC? Anything?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-28-2018, 06:42 PM
DangerClose DangerClose is offline
Registered User
DangerClose's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 75
POST ID # = 937840
DangerClose Reputation: 10
Default

From what I've read online, Corsair Link 4 causes many issues with other software programs such as Asus AiSuite, HWmonitor, etc. It really has to be the only software on the system, otherwise you'll get lockups / restarts / DPC Latency issues.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-28-2018, 08:15 PM
Hex. Hex. is offline
Registered User
Hex.'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 937846
Hex. Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Are you running any other monitoring tools?
HWInfo? HWMonitor? EVGA XOC? Anything?
I'm not using any monitoring tools besides NZXT's CAM - which I uninstalled, making no difference.
I've added a screenshot of my startup services to help solve the problem.



Cheers :D
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-28-2018, 10:30 PM
DangerClose DangerClose is offline
Registered User
DangerClose's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 75
POST ID # = 937857
DangerClose Reputation: 10
Default

My guess would be the Razer software, that is another known issue. Or maybe the steel series software? Also make sure USB drivers are up to date. Try removing one at a time, also download Latency Mon and run it to look for any hard pagefaults.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-28-2018, 10:36 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,530
POST ID # = 937861
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Hmmm ... doubtful that it's Razer. I'm running both Razer and SteellSeries without issues. Can you talk a look in C:\ProgramData\CLink4 to see if there are any log files in there?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-29-2018, 04:18 AM
LicSqualo's Avatar
LicSqualo LicSqualo is offline
Registered User
LicSqualo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 85
POST ID # = 937877
LicSqualo Reputation: 32
Default Try disable rainmeter

My 2 cents over Rainmeter... is the only that read from MB values and consequently can be in conflict with Link services.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-29-2018, 05:18 AM
Hex. Hex. is offline
Registered User
Hex.'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 937883
Hex. Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Hmmm ... doubtful that it's Razer. I'm running both Razer and SteellSeries without issues. Can you talk a look in C:\ProgramData\CLink4 to see if there are any log files in there?
I've checked the logs, and below is a paste from Client_Error.log:

I have also tried disabling and uninstalling Razer Synapse, SteelSeries Engine 3 aswell as Rainmeter - all with no success.

2018-01-29 17:25:45.6877 | 10 | ENTHOOEVOLV | 4.9.4.28 | App | ->
System.Exception: Can't start ManagementEventWatcher
at CorsairLink4.Common.PowerManagementWatcher.<Start>d__0.MoveNext()
--- End of stack trace from previous location where exception was thrown ---
at System.Runtime.CompilerServices.AsyncMethodBuilderCore.<>c.<ThrowAsync>b__6_1(Object state)
at System.Threading.QueueUserWorkItemCallback.WaitCallback_Context(Object state)
at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
at System.Threading.QueueUserWorkItemCallback.System.Threading.IThreadPoolWorkItem.ExecuteWorkItem()
at System.Threading.ThreadPoolWorkQueue.Dispatch()
at System.Threading._ThreadPoolWaitCallback.PerformWaitCallback()

Cheers.

EDIT: The Lighting Node Pro works absolutely fine within Windows 7, which I have setup to tri-boot alongside Windows 10 and Ubuntu 16.04.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-29-2018, 05:38 AM
LicSqualo's Avatar
LicSqualo LicSqualo is offline
Registered User
LicSqualo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 85
POST ID # = 937885
LicSqualo Reputation: 32
Default I don't use CLink to control my Corsair hardware

Sorry Hex.
But unluckily I don't use Corsair Link Software to control my Corsair hardware (this is the 4th year!!! ).
This is the reason I can't help you, now, with this problem, seems too software related .
Wait and perhaps DevBiker can help you to solve your issue.
Or wait Corsair support here ;)
Have a nice day!
Lic
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 01-29-2018, 06:03 AM
Hex. Hex. is offline
Registered User
Hex.'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 937888
Hex. Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks buddy :D
I wish I didn't have to use Corsair Link either... the Rainbow Mode is too flashy for me x3
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-29-2018, 08:03 AM
Paradox187 Paradox187 is offline
Registered User
Paradox187's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 937897
Paradox187 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LicSqualo View Post
Sorry Hex.
But unluckily I don't use Corsair Link Software to control my Corsair hardware (this is the 4th year!!! ).
This is the reason I can't help you, now, with this problem, seems too software related .
Wait and perhaps DevBiker can help you to solve your issue.
Or wait Corsair support here ;)
Have a nice day!
Lic
Sorry for the HiJack.
What do you use?
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-29-2018, 08:47 AM
LicSqualo's Avatar
LicSqualo LicSqualo is offline
Registered User
LicSqualo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 85
POST ID # = 937911
LicSqualo Reputation: 32
Default Alternative software to control link hardware

Sorry, I can't here, is better for all of us.
But you can search on this forum or/and also in google... is simple to find.
Good luck!
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 01-29-2018, 11:58 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,530
POST ID # = 937932
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hex. View Post
I've checked the logs, and below is a paste from Client_Error.log:

I have also tried disabling and uninstalling Razer Synapse, SteelSeries Engine 3 aswell as Rainmeter - all with no success.

2018-01-29 17:25:45.6877 | 10 | ENTHOOEVOLV | 4.9.4.28 | App | ->
System.Exception: Can't start ManagementEventWatcher
at CorsairLink4.Common.PowerManagementWatcher.<Start>d__0.MoveNext()
--- End of stack trace from previous location where exception was thrown ---
at System.Runtime.CompilerServices.AsyncMethodBuilderCore.<>c.<ThrowAsync>b__6_1(Object state)
at System.Threading.QueueUserWorkItemCallback.WaitCallback_Context(Object state)
at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
at System.Threading.QueueUserWorkItemCallback.System.Threading.IThreadPoolWorkItem.ExecuteWorkItem()
at System.Threading.ThreadPoolWorkQueue.Dispatch()
at System.Threading._ThreadPoolWaitCallback.PerformWaitCallback()

Cheers.

EDIT: The Lighting Node Pro works absolutely fine within Windows 7, which I have setup to tri-boot alongside Windows 10 and Ubuntu 16.04.
Hmmm ... interesting. It's happening when Link is trying to register for notification of power events. Let me see if I can dig into this a bit; it may also be something that we need to get Corsair's feedback on.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #14  
Old 01-29-2018, 07:07 PM
Hex. Hex. is offline
Registered User
Hex.'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 937991
Hex. Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Hmmm ... interesting. It's happening when Link is trying to register for notification of power events. Let me see if I can dig into this a bit; it may also be something that we need to get Corsair's feedback on.
Thank you. :D

It would be good if you could just get a standalone version for only control of the Lighting Node Pro aswell as one for Fan Control etc.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 01-30-2018, 12:21 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,530
POST ID # = 938021
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hex. View Post
Thank you. :D

It would be good if you could just get a standalone version for only control of the Lighting Node Pro aswell as one for Fan Control etc.
Well, that I can't do.
Interestingly enough, the exception is thrown when it's trying to start a pretty standard WMI notification query for a power management event. It tries to start this 50 times and then throws the exception that you see.
I can't think of any good reason why this would fail ... WMI is pretty standard stuff on a Windows system and it really shouldn't fail unless there's an underlying issue with WMI.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
corsair link, fans

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.