The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) 1.x and 2.x

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2016, 07:34 PM
GumbyDammit223 GumbyDammit223 is offline
Registered User
GumbyDammit223's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Montana
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 882120
GumbyDammit223 Reputation: 11
Default CUE 2 & WinLock key on K70 RGB

This should be straightforward, but I just don't see it.

When I press the winlock key on my K70 RGB while running CUE 2, I would like to disable the lighting of the Windows keys, yet I don't see how. Can someone point me in the right direction? Thanks!
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #2  
Old 12-10-2016, 09:18 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,308
POST ID # = 882126
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

I would refer to the offical unoffiicial cue 2 manual http://bit.do/CUE2M
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-10-2016, 09:52 PM
GumbyDammit223 GumbyDammit223 is offline
Registered User
GumbyDammit223's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Montana
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 882129
GumbyDammit223 Reputation: 11
Default

Guess I don't see it. I found the Performance section where I can change the color of the winlock button and disable certain key combinations. But what I want to do, turn the lighting of the windows keys off when winlock is active, I don't see it. And in the lighting effects section, I can't select the winlock button and do anything with it, so....confusion.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-10-2016, 10:32 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,308
POST ID # = 882130
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GumbyDammit223 View Post
Guess I don't see it. I found the Performance section where I can change the color of the winlock button and disable certain key combinations. But what I want to do, turn the lighting of the windows keys off when winlock is active, I don't see it. And in the lighting effects section, I can't select the winlock button and do anything with it, so....confusion.
set the color to black 0,0,0 It will be off.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-10-2016, 11:06 PM
GumbyDammit223 GumbyDammit223 is offline
Registered User
GumbyDammit223's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Montana
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 882132
GumbyDammit223 Reputation: 11
Default

LOL, no, I know that....I don't see the link between the winlock button and the windows key(s). That is...press the winlock button and the windows key goes dark. Press the winlock button again and the windows key lights back up. Sure, I can press the windows key and get it to turn any color I want, but how can I turn it off indirectly (by winlock)?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-10-2016, 11:57 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,308
POST ID # = 882135
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

Ohhh... Sadly that is something you cant do anymore. Ill ask if they can put it back im tho.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #7  
Old 12-11-2016, 12:35 AM
GumbyDammit223 GumbyDammit223 is offline
Registered User
GumbyDammit223's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Montana
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 882139
GumbyDammit223 Reputation: 11
Default

*sigh* Ok, thanks for your help. I appreciate your time helping me out. :) If this functionality can be re-implemented, that would be cool!

Was hoping this version would fix a bug I'm seeing in World of Warcraft (not related to this thread), but no. I'll keep watching/waiting to see if it gets cleared up.

-g
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-13-2016, 10:03 AM
brainless's Avatar
brainless brainless is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 363
POST ID # = 882387
brainless Reputation: 11
Default

I found a way to achieve this:
  1. First create a copy of your profile
  2. Remove lighting effect from Windows key on your copy
  3. Add two new Actions on your copy:
    1. Add to the Lock key: Profile Switching > Direct profile selection > select the original profile
    2. Add to the Windows key: Disable > Disable key
  4. And last add a new Action to your original profile:
    Add to the Lock key: Profile Switching > Direct profile selection > select your copy profile

If you have any questions to any step just ask.



Edit: For step 2 you can also just add a new layer on top with 100% black.
Edit²: Maybe change the color of the Lock key at performance tab for the copy profile to indicate wheter the button is locked or not.
__________________

Last edited by brainless; 12-13-2016 at 11:02 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-13-2016, 10:21 AM
GumbyDammit223 GumbyDammit223 is offline
Registered User
GumbyDammit223's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Montana
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 882389
GumbyDammit223 Reputation: 11
Default

Intriguing! Since I'm at work I can't try this, but from what I remember, I don't recall being able to do anything with the winlock button except change its enabled/disabled colors. In the lighting effects tab, I couldn't even select the button. Apparently this is different in the Action tab???
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-13-2016, 10:59 AM
brainless's Avatar
brainless brainless is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 363
POST ID # = 882394
brainless Reputation: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GumbyDammit223 View Post
Intriguing! Since I'm at work I can't try this, but from what I remember, I don't recall being able to do anything with the winlock button except change its enabled/disabled colors. In the lighting effects tab, I couldn't even select the button. Apparently this is different in the Action tab???
Yes you can assign new Actions to the Brightness and Lock key at the Action tab. I use this to switch (loop) through all my profiles with the Brightness key, because I never change the brightness.

Edit: btw I think it was a stupid decision to remove these two keys from the lighting tab.
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 12-14-2016, 09:15 PM
GumbyDammit223 GumbyDammit223 is offline
Registered User
GumbyDammit223's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Montana
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 882532
GumbyDammit223 Reputation: 11
Default

Cool!!! Thanks for the help and great idea!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
cue 2, k70 rgb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.