The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 05-31-2019, 09:51 PM
fxlsetrvth fxlsetrvth is offline
Registered User
fxlsetrvth's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1006464
fxlsetrvth Reputation: 10
Default

Any updates? Just bought this extension cable so I could run my GPU vertically, but it doesn't work...

Description of issue: My GPU isn't recognized in BIOS or Device Manager and Nvidia drivers can't be installed when this extension cable is connected.

Motherboard Model (and version/BIOS): ASUS ROG Maximus XI Code (BIOS v1005)

GPU Model (and version/BIOS): Gigabyte Aorus Xtreme Waterforce RTX 2080 Ti

CPU: Intel i9-9900k


*EDIT: The extension cable works in PCIE slot 3, but it's causing the cable to bend a lot more... I'd prefer to use slot 1 if possible.

**EDIT 2: My GPU is severely bottlenecked in PCIE slot 3. I can barely get 60 fps in PUBG with low settings while streaming 720p/60fps. PLEASE FIX THIS ISSUE!

Last edited by fxlsetrvth; 06-25-2019 at 04:03 AM.


  #17  
Old 06-03-2019, 12:05 AM
Eremeir's Avatar
Eremeir Eremeir is offline
High Exarch
Eremeir's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1006661
Eremeir Reputation: 10
Default

Description of issue: Fans spin and LEDs turn on but no video is outputted to the monitor.

Motherboard Model (and version/BIOS): ASUS ROG Maximus XI Hero (Wifi) (Bios v0805)

GPU Model (and version/BIOS): ASUS GeForce RTX 2080 O8G ROG STRIX OC Edition
CPU: Intel i9-9900k


  #18  
Old 06-08-2019, 11:54 AM
benjamin lara benjamin lara is offline
Registered User
benjamin lara's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1007370
benjamin lara Reputation: 10
Default

Description of issue: Fans spin and LEDs turn on but no video is outputted to the monitor.

Motherboard Model (and version/BIOS): Gigabyte aourus master z390 bios f8)

GPU Model (and version/BIOS):gigabyte gtx 1080 aourus g1
CPU: Intel i7-8700k


  #19  
Old 06-12-2019, 12:42 PM
Drako77 Drako77 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1007782
Drako77 Reputation: 10
Default

i'm a shop owner (drako.it) and we've tried the riser in different configuration, and the riser just don't work on any z390 we tried (Asus/Gigabyte), except if you put the riser on a 4x PCIe. Wich of course make no sense using a powerful GPU.

Description of issue: no video signal
Motherboard Model (and version/BIOS): Asus Z390 - all of them / Aorus Z390 - all of them
GPU Model (and version/BIOS): RTX 2080 / RTX 2080 ti Asus / Aorus
CPU: All K intel processore, so 9700K/9900K/9900KF/9700KF/9600K

Tomorrow i'll try to set the PCIE slot to a 8X bus or trying to give it more power if the mobo support that.


  #20  
Old 07-04-2019, 11:04 PM
Johnny_B500 Johnny_B500 is offline
Registered User
Johnny_B500's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 116
POST ID # = 1010317
Johnny_B500 Reputation: 15
Default

Any update on the Z390 (Asus) platform or is it just a no go? Updating GPU in the coming weeks and preferably I would like to use a Corsair extension/riser cable.
__________________
570X Mirror Black



  #21  
Old 07-12-2019, 05:05 AM
Frids001 Frids001 is offline
Registered User
Frids001's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1010910
Frids001 Reputation: 10
Default

Bought a Corsair Riser when i built my new PC in March and thought it was just a faulty riser so i sent it back. Seems like i was wrong.

I couldn't get it to work in any PCI port on the motherboard. GPU powered up and fans spun but there was no display output to the monitor.

System Specs:

Intel I9-9900K
Asus Prime Z390-A
Nvidia GTX 1070 Dual OC
Bios: Version 0905


  #22  
Old 07-17-2019, 01:56 PM
blackisback blackisback is offline
Registered User
blackisback's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1011600
blackisback Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Nick View Post
We have recently discovered that certain GPUs may not output video correctly when plugged into some Z390-based motherboards via our Premium PCIe 3.0 extension cable. We were able to replicate the issue on a single board, but our sample size is small and we are in the process of doing further testing. If you are having issues with the extension cable, please post in this thread with the following information:
  • Description of issue:
  • Motherboard Model (and version/BIOS):
  • GPU Model (and version/BIOS):
  • CPU:

Thank you
ASUS Maximus XI Hero (Bios 1105)
MSI RTX 2080 Duke (Bios 90.04.23.00.40)
Intel I9 9900K
2*8 GB DDR 4 Corsair Dominator 3200MHZ

Riser cable doesn't work. no Display output to the monitor.

Last edited by blackisback; 07-17-2019 at 02:01 PM.


  #23  
Old 07-17-2019, 02:15 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,882
POST ID # = 1011608
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackisback View Post
ASUS Maximus XI Hero (Bios 1105)
MSI RTX 2080 Duke (Bios 90.04.23.00.40)
Intel I9 9900K
2*8 GB DDR 4 Corsair Dominator 3200MHZ

Riser cable doesn't work. no Display output to the monitor.
Well, that's a Z390 board, so... As Nick said, it's not going to work on Z390 boards. :(


  #24  
Old 07-17-2019, 02:22 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,882
POST ID # = 1011610
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

The problem is, the PCI-SIG specification states that if you're making a PCIe card that does not support hot swapability, you can EITHER leave PRSNT2# open OR ground them. On the Corsair riser, they're open. Z390 boards, however, expect them to be grounded.

I totally blame the PCI-SIG for this. You should never make something in your spec say, "if you don't support this feature, do this OR this." That leaves too much open to interpretation. One company can choose one option while another chooses another and that causes compatibility issues like this one.

Theoretically, you could take the PRSNT2# pins on the riser and bridge them over to any ground and the riser will work.

Of course, if you were to do this, you void the riser cable's warranty. Also, if you bridge the wrong pins, you could damage the graphics card and/or the motherboard. So I strongly recommend NOT doing this unless you're REEEEEEEEALY familiar with soldering PCBs and love to live dangerously.


  #25  
Old 07-17-2019, 02:23 PM
Waukeen Waukeen is offline
Banned
Waukeen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 263
POST ID # = 1011611
Waukeen Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
Well, that's a Z390 board, so... As Nick said, it's not going to work on Z390 boards. :(
And as a Corsair employee this is an acceptable answer for someone with these boards? At the very least there should be a warning on the product page that this is not working on certain chip sets. But there isn't. And you guys continue to sell it knowing there is an issue. Be glad I didn't buy it because then we would be going back through marketing, advertising and general fraud laws in regards to what companies can do.

Triggered by this statement: Absolutely because this has been going on for a while and people continue to buy an item that clearly has issues with certain hardware. And most people just see multiple PCIe slots and assume they are all the same. So they are going to be plugging into the one that "works" and wonder why their new [insert GPU model here] is preforming like horse puckey.


  #26  
Old 07-17-2019, 02:28 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,882
POST ID # = 1011612
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waukeen View Post
And as a Corsair employee this is an acceptable answer for someone with these boards? At the very least there should be a warning on the product page that this is not working on certain chip sets. But there isn't. And you guys continue to sell it knowing there is an issue. Be glad I didn't buy it because then we would be going back through marketing, advertising and general fraud laws in regards to what companies can do.

Triggered by this statement: Absolutely because this has been going on for a while and people continue to buy an item that clearly has issues with certain hardware. And most people just see multiple PCIe slots and assume they are all the same. So they are going to be plugging into the one that "works" and wonder why their new [insert GPU model here] is preforming like horse puckey.
Would you knock it off? Your trolling is not helpful. Just annoying.

My post was an FYI for blackisback in case he DID NOT know his board was a Z390 board. Not everyone knows what their chipset is.

The cable was introduced to the market BEFORE Z390 boards were on the market. And, AFAIK, it still works on MSI Z390 boards. Possibly others.

I agree a "compatibility list" would be ideal, but I think the best solution may already be in the works: Replace the riser card with one that works. Which is not an impossible solution.


  #27  
Old 07-18-2019, 02:49 AM
blackisback blackisback is offline
Registered User
blackisback's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1011671
blackisback Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
Would you knock it off? Your trolling is not helpful. Just annoying.

My post was an FYI for blackisback in case he DID NOT know his board was a Z390 board. Not everyone knows what their chipset is


I have only specified the board, without chipset because the chipset on the board is so clear.


  #28  
Old 07-27-2019, 06:18 PM
Saftheone Saftheone is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1012797
Saftheone Reputation: 10
Default

The question is, Will Corsair make a new cable compatible ?


  #29  
Old 07-27-2019, 06:20 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,882
POST ID # = 1012798
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saftheone View Post
The question is, Will Corsair make a new cable compatible ?
Yes. I've been waiting for someone that represents Corsair to respond to this thread.


  #30  
Old 07-28-2019, 02:55 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,055
POST ID # = 1012825
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
Yes. I've been waiting for someone that represents Corsair to respond to this thread.
Hope there are shorter versions this time


Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.