The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2014, 04:36 PM
RyanD RyanD is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 695692
RyanD Reputation: 10
Default Bad AX860

I used to build computers professionally for aviaton A/V systems, so I assure you this isn't operator error.

Built a brand new rig, all parts bought new from Amazon. I started it up for the first time and thought I smelt a slight burning smell which went away in under 5 seconds. The machine wouldn't recognise my secondary storage drive (WD 2TB on Sata Port1). I switched the sata and power connenctors from my primary drive (Sata Port0 and Power Cable A) to secondary (WD2 TB) drive with primary disonnected and same, no HDD recognised. Then I switched another WD 2TB, same model number, from another build onto the new rig on Sata port 0 and Power Connector A and it worked fine. Then thinking I had a bad Sata port or cable on Sata Port1, I pluged the borrowed drive into Sata Port1 with Power connector A and it worked fine. I then plugged the donor drive into Sata Port1 Power Connector B and it did not recognise it and yet again smelt what we can all agree is the smell of money burning. The brand new WD 2TB and the donor WD 2TB no longer work.

From this I can tell Corsair's brand new PSU or its supplied connector is to blame. My question is who should pay for this? The PSU I know is under full warranty. Am I stuck with $270 in dead HDDs? I can return one to amazon and say it burnt up but I feel WD shouldn't have to pay for Corsair's poor quality control. Anyone ever have to deal with this?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-03-2014, 11:34 PM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 695731
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Ryan, please use the link on the left to request an RMA for the PSU and you can also request a damage claim form for the drives at the same time.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-12-2014, 02:29 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 696937
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please fill out a RMA ,make sure to mention that it damaged your hard drives we will start a damage claim and compensate you. I'm very sorry this happened.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.