The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-12-2013, 05:33 PM
vandist vandist is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 669621
vandist Reputation: 10
Default If you need assistance in getting the Commander unit working...

I have link commander, many cooling nodes and a lighting node for a short while now. Initially for my build it was a bit frustrating to get commander to firstly show up in the link software and secondly to work with all the nodes.

The following will hopefully help if you are experiencing issues.

Before you begin.

Some obvious steps:

-- Remove ALL fan controlling and monitoring software from your machine ---
-- Clean your registry, I use Webroot for this but ccleaner will also do fine--
-- make sure your motherboard USB drivers are up to date!--

Check your motherboard manufacturers website, if in doubt update the drivers providing you are certain it is your motherboard.


The Corsair link software doesn't see commander.

Remove the link software.

Then go here:

%APPDATA%\Roaming\Corsair

Might also be here

%APPDATA%\Corsair

Delete the entire corsair folder.

Now go to add remove/programs and remove the USB driver.

Clean your registry and reboot.

Option 1) I want to keep my Windows OS and I won’t be doing a fresh install.
See option 2 if you are willing to reinstall your OS.

First things first, windows updates of the .net framework seem to cause issues with the link software not seeing the commander. I do recommend you reinstall windows but if thats something you are not willing to do, then follow these steps.

--Create a system restore point--
(google this for your OS if you don’t know how)

What you need to do is remove .net framework updates, later on you can update it.

Go into windows updates and remove all the .net updates.

I found some of the following .net updates especially problematic

KB2742595
KB2836939
KB2656368
KB2468871
KB2656351
KB2736428
KB2487367
KB2533523

You can try by just removing these updates but personally I would remove them all.

Clean your registry, reboot your machine.

Go to this post and get version 2.2 of the link software

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=111405

Note: my OS asked me to trust/always trust during the following installation below, tick always trust.

Install software - version 2.2 will tell you that you need the .net framework before proceeding, accept this and allow the installation to complete. Version 2.2 will also install the USB driver required.

If you are not being told you need .net framework, do you want to install? then you haven't removed it all.

At this point you should also see the USB taskbar notification pop up, allow all this to complete

reboot your machine, load up the software. You should now see the commander unit. Do not touch any software options or save any profiles.

Go to options and then devices and start updating the firmware

Go and get the commander firmware

http://www.corsair.com/en/media/cms/...SBFW_2.0.6.zip

Update it

Cooling node firmware here (V1.2.5):

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=105156

Update it/them

--Keep this file, if at any point your cooling nodes act up just apply the firmware again.--

Remove version 2.2 of the software via the section after “before you begin” part of this post.

Now install the commander software version 2.3.4

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=118618

Now you can play with the software by setting up groups and rules etc.

You can now update .net

Option 2) I want to or I’m willing to reinstall my OS.

Upon just installing your OS do the following:

---DO NOT allow windows to install or update the .net framework----

Do this first before any other installations of software.

Go to this post and get version 2.2 of the link software

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=111405

Note: my OS asked me to trust/always trust during the following installation below, tick always trust.

Install - version 2.2 will tell you that you need the .net framework before proceeding, accept this and allow the installation to complete. Version 2.2 will also install the USB driver required.

At this point you should also see the USB taskbar notification pop up, allow all this to complete

reboot your machine, load up the software. You should now see the commander unit. Do not touch any software options or save any profiles.

Go to options and then devices and start updating the firmware.

Go and get the commander firmware

http://www.corsair.com/en/media/cms/...SBFW_2.0.6.zip

Update it

Cooling node firmware here (V1.2.5):

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=105156

Update it/them

--Keep this file, if at any point your cooling nodes act up just apply the firmware again.--

Remove version 2.2 of the software via the section after “before you begin” part of this post.

Now install the commander software version 2.3.4

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=118618

Now you can play with the software by setting up groups and rules etc.

Finish updates including .net


My cooling node doesn't keep my settings or my fan speeds change randomly

Reapply the cooling node firmware as above (you can do it in version 2.3.4 of the link software).

If this doesn't work flash the commander firmware again.

This is something I'm still trying to figure out, occasionally my fan speeds will increase randomly on boot up. I found reapplying the cooling node firmware will correct this after I adjust the fan speeds manually in the software.

Last edited by vandist; 08-12-2013 at 07:13 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-12-2013, 06:24 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 669627
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

this is a very good article for the link,very thorough and complete.
ive always suggested for best results,a registry clean is best.
thx for taking the time to do this,im sure many will benefit from this...
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-30-2014, 07:18 AM
-| The Beast |-'s Avatar
-| The Beast |- -| The Beast |- is offline
Registered User
-| The Beast |-'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 703406
-| The Beast |- Reputation: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to -| The Beast |-
Default

Hi if i reinstall my OS and install Link RC v2.5.5176 will i get the commander unit to show then? read that these latest versions auto update firmware fore you?
or do i have to do it the hard way as you said here? if so some of the links are broken :/
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-30-2014, 11:50 AM
-| The Beast |-'s Avatar
-| The Beast |- -| The Beast |- is offline
Registered User
-| The Beast |-'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 703440
-| The Beast |- Reputation: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to -| The Beast |-
Default

It may work, i can install firmware now.
Were can i get the Lightning Node firmware?
Cant seem to find it anywere.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-06-2014, 09:57 AM
ahope ahope is offline
Registered User
ahope's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 709767
ahope Reputation: 10
Default

Excellent description on how to get this working.
However - if this is really needed, the software should never have been released. We are now in 2014 and there is no excuse for releasing software that is so poorly supported and packaged. The public should be protected from wasting time on a product that has serious deficiencies in installation and seems pretty full of bugs.

But cudos to vandist for doing this bit of research and posting it.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-11-2014, 04:23 AM
Sharpnd Sharpnd is offline
Registered User
Sharpnd's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 710571
Sharpnd Reputation: 10
Default

is Cooling Node F/W 1.2.11 newer than 1.2.5? If so, is there a reason why you're recommending the older version? I'm a little confused, as my cooling node currently says the version is 1.2.8 - yet I cannot find that 'download' or release notes anywhere.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-12-2014, 03:54 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 710647
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

1.2.11 is newer than 1.2.5.

Not sure about 1.2.8, 1.1.12 should be the shipping firmware.

The only ever updates for the Cooling node was 1.2.5 and 1.2.11.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
commander, cooling node, firmware update, help me, not working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.