The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2018, 03:40 AM
AbbyNormal AbbyNormal is offline
Registered User
AbbyNormal's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 952264
AbbyNormal Reputation: 10
Woah! Commander Pro - USB 2.0 Mobo connector, but it has 2 USB 3.0 Headers, why?

So I freely admit that I might be missing something, but I am thoroughly confused by the Commander Pro. It connects to the mobo with USB 2.0, but it has 2x USB 3.0 headers. Ihave one, a lighting pro node, 4x LL series 140mm fans, and 5 of the LED strips. I also have an ax1200i PSU. Both the PSU and the lighting node have USB 2.0 connectors, and are link supported devices. I have no way of physically cabling either to the commander pro. The product description of the commander pro mentions using the USB 3.0 headers to connect to other Link devices, but I have yet to see a link device that's has a USB 3.0 connector. Can someone help me understand here?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-27-2018, 06:00 AM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,212
POST ID # = 952275
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

No USB 3.0 headers on the C-Pro. The oversized plug receptacle might catch you out at first, but the pin out is 2.0 and I use it for my cooler usb connector.

https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego.../CL-9011110-WW
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-27-2018, 12:09 PM
AbbyNormal AbbyNormal is offline
Registered User
AbbyNormal's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 952311
AbbyNormal Reputation: 10
Default

Ok, you're right. But none of my devices use that oversized USB 2.0 connector. Do I need an adapter or something? The lighting node pro has the same connector as the commander, and for that matter so does the PSU.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-27-2018, 01:27 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,513
POST ID # = 952327
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

To plug other Link devices into the CoPro, you don't need an adapter or anything. It's a standard keyed 9-pin USB internal header. There are two of them side-by-side on the CoPro.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-27-2018, 02:09 PM
AbbyNormal AbbyNormal is offline
Registered User
AbbyNormal's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 952335
AbbyNormal Reputation: 10
Default

The shroud of the connector is what threw me. It looks weird, at least in comparison to standard USB 2.0 connectors you find on a motherboard.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
commander

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.