Corsair Community

Vengeance PRO RGB poor colour consistency

Hi All

I recently picked up a 32GB kit of Vengeance PRO RGB DDR4 3000C15 as reviews said they were pretty much the best in town as far as RGB quality goes.

There is so much to like about these and the config options are great but unfortunately the RGB colour consistency on my kit is very poor. Worse than that, the colour is inconsistent across the RGB LEDs on each DIMM.

As a photographer I'm maybe a little more sensitive to colour casts than some but that's not the issue. Tuning the RGB settings for a neutral white is easy enough for an individual RGB LED, the problem is there are several LEDs showing distinctly different hues and some of the iCue lighting effects cannot compensate for individual LED hues. I'd fully expect to need to do some tuning to match the kit's white setting to that of the GPU and motherboard but that's simply not possible if I can't get a consistent white across the DIMM kit.

This really shouldn't be an issue on a premium quality component, and I don't think it's unreasonable to expect excellent colour uniformity given the "RGB PRO" title. Setting the LEDs to white is an excellent way to highlight consistency and quality, neither of which seem to be on display here. I guess if many folks are running their kits in unicorn mode they'll never notice the lack of consistency.

The first image shows the deviations from white across all the DIMMs (ALL LEDs set to R:255 G:255 B:255) and the second shows a single LED illuminated on two neighbouring DIMMs (again, LEDs set to R:255 G:255 B:255).

Have I got a kit from a bad batch or are they all this poor? Is it worth returning them for another set or should I just go with another manufacturer? I had higher expectations from this kit and am wondering whether to cancel my order for an LL120 kit if it's going to be equally patchy.