The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2020, 09:55 AM
sunnydevgan422 sunnydevgan422 is offline
Registered User
sunnydevgan422's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1037869
sunnydevgan422 Reputation: 10
Default Bad ram upgrade

I Have recently purchased corsair vengeance RAM.
When i pared this ram with already installed another same pair ram ,Every time windows OS start to crash and games and other software also crashes after 5 to 15 min.
I have tested this ram with memtest86 software and then it shows so many errors . When i remove this ram my pc runs without any crashing of freezing.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-15-2020, 03:36 PM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 1,042
POST ID # = 1037897
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

Test ne new kit individually and if you get any errors module for module, to see if one of them is defective.

Otherwise it might be a compatibility issue between the two kits. Even if they share the same model number, mixing kits is not recommended in general. If the ICs used on them are different, that can also further reduce the chance of them working together at spec. You can verify the ICs with the Corsair version number on the heatspreaders.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-24-2020, 06:00 AM
Magnarkwan Magnarkwan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1038645
Magnarkwan Reputation: 10
Default

Compatibility issue. Experience this problem also and found out mixing of RAM is not a good idea.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-24-2020, 07:59 PM
ResurrectorRTX's Avatar
ResurrectorRTX ResurrectorRTX is offline
Intel and NVIDIA Fanboy
ResurrectorRTX's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1038735
ResurrectorRTX Reputation: 10
Default

Yep, don't mix different kits with each other. Try and return your recently bought kit and buy a fully new one with desired memory capacity and sell the old kit.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-28-2020, 02:35 PM
cwitty cwitty is offline
Registered User
cwitty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1039105
cwitty Reputation: 10
Default

try running passmark memtest 86 as opposed to the windows built in program as this is a very good program to identify problems as the new ram may be faulty ive just had 2 sets of faulty ram myself corsair reliability do sent see-mas good as it once was

Last edited by cwitty; 03-28-2020 at 02:36 PM. Reason: add a picture
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.