The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2018, 12:21 PM
mikeh117 mikeh117 is offline
Registered User
mikeh117's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 975555
mikeh117 Reputation: 10
Woah! Corsair Service - 60% CPU Usage!

I've recently installed iCUE 3.7.99 in my new build to control the lighting effects on my Vengeance Pro RGB RAM and 3x LL120 RGB fans (CO-9050072-WW). I had originally controlled everything from the Corsair header on my MSI M7 X470 motherboard but wanted to use the additional effects available in iCUE so I have now setup the fans with the controller which is connected to a USB header on my motherboard and everything works perfectly with the latest version of iCUE. My problem is the Corsair Service (32bit) version 3.7.0.22 is using huge amounts of system resources (over 60% CPU usage) and as a result my CPU temp sits over 50c and all my fans are on max to keep the system cool. I've tried disabling all lighting effects but it does nothing. Full system specs in my profile. Any advice welcome. Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: png CPU.png (127.6 KB, 615 views)
File Type: png Version.PNG (27.7 KB, 501 views)

Last edited by mikeh117; 10-08-2018 at 12:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2018, 12:59 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,086
POST ID # = 975562
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

If you kill iCUE and then both CorsairService 32 bit and Corsair Display service in task manager, will it pop right back up to 60% on relaunch? Sometimes iCUE will get into this with other programs (like Mystic Light) and one or the other will get stuck in the loop, but it shouldn't happen each time.

Can you also list all the iCUE connected devices in your system? (keyboards, mice, fans, etc). Sometimes one specific component is responsible.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2018, 08:14 PM
mikeh117 mikeh117 is offline
Registered User
mikeh117's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 975622
mikeh117 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply. OK, I killed all the Corsair services and iCUE app and rebooted but this made no difference. I'm not running any connected iCUE devices other than my fans and RAM, however I do have an addressable RGB strip and some non-addressable RGB fans connected to my MSI motherboard that I control with Mystic Light. The Corsair fans and RAM are connected to the Corsair controller however they still appear in Mystic Light so it may still be trying to control them.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2018, 10:07 PM
cc10101 cc10101 is offline
Registered User
cc10101's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 53
POST ID # = 975628
cc10101 Reputation: 13
Default

I have 10 LL120s and 3 LL140s, 8 sticks of Vengeance Pro RGB ram, plus the h150i cooler, and Corsair RGB keyboard and mouse all running w/iCUE at the moment. Everything has been working pretty well, even when stress testing during overclocking.

My CPU use, throughout, on an i9-7940X, has been about 4% to 5%, which seems high to me, but could potentially be explained by the software just needing an optimization pass or three.

60% CPU use, though, clearly indicates some kind of bug or software conflict.

We're using different CPUs and motherboards, but similar Corsair products in our builds. So I'm guessing the problem will ultimately be traced to motherboard or BIOS settings or something like that.

The only problem I had, so far, with iCUE was that my keyboard refused to light up. Couldn't figure out why, but ultimately, the solution to that wound up being to uninstall and remove all iCUE and iCUE profiles, then reinstall iCUE and try again. After doing that, everything has worked fine since.

I'd give that a try, just to rule it out as a potential simple fix.

Also, are you running other software that might be conflicting with iCUE, such as HWiNFO64, or another vendor's fan or RGB controller software? For instance, I found that I had to disable HWiNFO64's monitoring of the H150i PRO cooler or my fans would freak out.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-2018, 10:11 PM
cc10101 cc10101 is offline
Registered User
cc10101's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 53
POST ID # = 975629
cc10101 Reputation: 13
Default

Actually, there is another setting in iCUE to play with that does affect CPU use. On the Device Settings tab for the RAM, there's a setting called: "Enable full software control". If I uncheck that, my CPU use goes down from the 4% or so it typically uses (when the setting is enabled) to about 1.3 or so.

Unfortunately, it also means that my ram's RGB lighting turns off, although that might be due to the lighting setup I'm currently using, or a conflict with ASUS Aura which I have running to control my motherboard RGB.

Still, it's worth a try to disable that setting and see what impact that has on your CPU use.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-2018, 03:16 PM
mikeh117 mikeh117 is offline
Registered User
mikeh117's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 975758
mikeh117 Reputation: 10
Default

I disabled 'enable full software control' and usage has dropped to 5-10% which is still very high but an improvement over 60%. I suspect it may be conflicting with Mystic Light which I need to control my other lights, including the onboard lighting, as the MSI software recognizes the RAM and doesn't give me an option to remove it. Perhaps one day all these hardware manufacturers will sit down together and play nicely for the benefit of all us consumers, but somehow I doubt it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-09-2018, 04:09 PM
c00lkatz c00lkatz is offline
Registered User
c00lkatz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 40
POST ID # = 975765
c00lkatz Reputation: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeh117 View Post
I disabled 'enable full software control' and usage has dropped to 5-10% which is still very high but an improvement over 60%. I suspect it may be conflicting with Mystic Light which I need to control my other lights, including the onboard lighting, as the MSI software recognizes the RAM and doesn't give me an option to remove it. Perhaps one day all these hardware manufacturers will sit down together and play nicely for the benefit of all us consumers, but somehow I doubt it.
It's for this reason I picked a platform and stuck with it. I use Corsair RGB devices and iCUE exclusively, and I am getting great results. I also have an MSI board (X470 Gaming Pro Carbon), but just loaded up Mysitc Light to disable all the onboard RGB and LEDs, then uninstalled it. I have HD 120 fans and Corsair RGB strips to provide all other lighting inside the case, and looks much better than MSI's implementation on the board itself, which is spotty. iCUE does bump CPU usage up to about 5-10% if I have software control enabled for the RAM, but without it I sit around ~1% usage. The RAM lighting will still work, you just have to go back and assign a lighting profile to it, and you don't have as much control.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-09-2018, 04:44 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,086
POST ID # = 975774
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

I'll admit, my suspicions revolve around the RAM. We are all using LL and don't have anywhere near that level of difficulty. The RAM is newer and more complex in its requirements to function.

Even with that in mind, the extreme cases of CPU usage have previously been around 20-25%. 60% is a beyond extreme. If you haven't already, uninstall iCUE and go to the C:Users/(name)/App Data (hidden)/Roaming/Corsair/CUE folder and either delete it, or maybe better still cut it out and paste it to the desktop. These are all your exisiting profiles and settings. Reboot. Reinstall iCUE and see if the usage is crazy with the standard effects. If things are OK (or still bad), you can drop the CUE folder back into the App Data/Roaming/Corsair location then restart iCUE to bring back all your old settings and programs links. You can also manually export all your profiles, but it is a slower process and does not preserve icon, background, and programs links.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-09-2018, 04:48 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,097
POST ID # = 975775
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

The Software Mode for the Vengeance Pro RGB does use a bit of CPU. I've got it turned off - it's just too much.

I shoulda thought of that when I first saw this post.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-31-2018, 09:40 AM
digitalizeur digitalizeur is offline
Registered User
digitalizeur's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Belgium
Posts: 76
POST ID # = 987678
digitalizeur Reputation: 10
Default

Mine eats 5,0% of my 8700k stock
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-22-2019, 10:37 AM
MediumNuggets MediumNuggets is offline
Registered User
MediumNuggets's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 998533
MediumNuggets Reputation: 10
Default

Hi. I also need help. I'm using bootcamp in my 2018 13 inch touchbar macbook pro. It has an upgrade i7 8559u cpu, but corsair.service.cpuid is eating up upto 25% of my cpu usage (task manager). I'm using the latest icue software and mouse firmware (Harpoon wireless), but it still eats up my usage.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-26-2019, 01:31 AM
center311 center311 is offline
Registered User
center311's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 998998
center311 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MediumNuggets View Post
Hi. I also need help. I'm using bootcamp in my 2018 13 inch touchbar macbook pro. It has an upgrade i7 8559u cpu, but corsair.service.cpuid is eating up upto 25% of my cpu usage (task manager). I'm using the latest icue software and mouse firmware (Harpoon wireless), but it still eats up my usage.
I don't know too much about macs, but try the native macos beta if you get a chance.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-02-2019, 12:17 PM
Axeinator Axeinator is offline
Registered User
Axeinator's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1003367
Axeinator Reputation: 10
Default Cpu Usage

I had the same trouble with mine, especially after i place in 2 more sticks or Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3600mhz ram. My cpu usage went through the roof. In fact I tried a benchmark and it wouldn't finish saying I had too high of Cpu usage. Once I chose the rgb setup I wanted I had to uncheck this box in advanced setting "Enable full software control" After that all was good. I reboot and it maintaines the last known rgb setting. I could not believe how many resources it was using before I did that. Until they have a fix for compatibility with Asus Aura I will just use the generic lighting for now.

Last edited by Axeinator; 05-02-2019 at 12:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-01-2019, 03:20 AM
d0k d0k is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1019791
d0k Reputation: 10
Default

Same problem. Tired of hearning my pc burning
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.