The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 09-25-2015, 06:38 AM
MadIce MadIce is offline
Registered User
MadIce's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 92
POST ID # = 810429
MadIce Reputation: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [ J ] Man View Post
...
If I assume there is nothing wrong with the installation then something else must cause the skipping of pixels. How about this:

I've read on this forum that the Scimitar is using a Pixart S3988. Kommando Kodiak got that information from Corsair James. If that is true then the interesting part is that this sensor is not capable of 12000 DPI (the max. DPI of the Scimitar).

Look at the specs of the sensor: Pixart SDNS-3988. It's supposed to have a resolution of 6400.

So, if the SDNS-3988 is being used then to reach 12000 DPI Corsair must have doubled the resolution by using a hack, which may cause the skipping of every second pixel.

That would be doable for a DPI above 6400, but below that there is no need to double it. I assume this can be fixed by a firmware or driver update.

Just an educated guess. I may be wrong, though.

Last edited by MadIce; 09-25-2015 at 07:17 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 09-25-2015, 01:46 PM
Kommando Kodiak's Avatar
Kommando Kodiak Kommando Kodiak is offline
Keyboard Kommando
Kommando Kodiak's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 810510
Kommando Kodiak Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadIce View Post
If I assume there is nothing wrong with the installation then something else must cause the skipping of pixels. How about this:

I've read on this forum that the Scimitar is using a Pixart S3988. Kommando Kodiak got that information from Corsair James. If that is true then the interesting part is that this sensor is not capable of 12000 DPI (the max. DPI of the Scimitar).

Look at the specs of the sensor: Pixart SDNS-3988. It's supposed to have a resolution of 6400.

So, if the SDNS-3988 is being used then to reach 12000 DPI Corsair must have doubled the resolution by using a hack, which may cause the skipping of every second pixel.

That would be doable for a DPI above 6400, but below that there is no need to double it. I assume this can be fixed by a firmware or driver update.

Just an educated guess. I may be wrong, though.
The other way they reach higher DPIs is to use a different lens as well

Jman what are the DPI steppings for this mouse? (are they custom or fixed) if theyre fixed do your sensor test with each dpi, if theyre custom do dpi steps divisible by 4 and see if you can find one thats smooth.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 09-25-2015, 01:57 PM
[ J ] Man [ J ] Man is offline
Registered User
[ J ] Man's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 810512
[ J ] Man Reputation: 10
Default

You can set the dpi to what ever you want, changing it doesn't make the skipping any better/worse.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 09-25-2015, 02:58 PM
MadIce MadIce is offline
Registered User
MadIce's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 92
POST ID # = 810517
MadIce Reputation: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [ J ] Man View Post
You can set the dpi to what ever you want, changing it doesn't make the skipping any better/worse.
If Corsair doubled the resolution for all then that makes sense.
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 09-25-2015, 07:11 PM
[ J ] Man [ J ] Man is offline
Registered User
[ J ] Man's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 810556
[ J ] Man Reputation: 10
Default

Almost 800 views and no response from Corsair?
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 09-25-2015, 07:51 PM
Ein Ein is offline
Registered User
Ein's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 810559
Ein Reputation: 10
Default

I suggest you give up, skimming the threads on this board should tell you how much Corsair cares.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 09-25-2015, 08:40 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,311
POST ID # = 810564
Inheritance Reputation: 41
Default

Ive asked Corsair James to take a look in to the issue.

Update: he will be looking in to this issue.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support

Last edited by Inheritance; 09-26-2015 at 12:06 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 09-26-2015, 12:07 AM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,311
POST ID # = 810584
Inheritance Reputation: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [ J ] Man View Post
Almost 800 views and no response from Corsair?
could you list the basic specs of the computer you tried the mouse on?
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 09-26-2015, 01:50 AM
[ J ] Man [ J ] Man is offline
Registered User
[ J ] Man's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 810594
[ J ] Man Reputation: 10
Default

Main PC


Laptop


Guest PC
Same issues on Windows 8.1 and after upgrading to 10


HP 310-1125f
Same issues on Windows 7 and after upgrading to 10


I also tried it on a 2011 Mac Mini with OS X Yosemite up to date as of this post, no different.

Last edited by [ J ] Man; 09-26-2015 at 01:51 AM. Reason: Added more information
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 09-26-2015, 07:33 AM
terabyte's Avatar
terabyte terabyte is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
terabyte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,360
POST ID # = 810619
terabyte Reputation: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ein View Post
I suggest you give up, skimming the threads on this board should tell you how much Corsair cares.
Just a quick note for everyone: this forum is mainly for feedback and peer-to-peer support. If you want fast/official support you should always submit a ticket in their support area.


And no, I don't work for Corsair before someone asks
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 09-30-2015, 07:27 PM
Medieval Nerd's Avatar
Medieval Nerd Medieval Nerd is offline
OC & HW Enthusiast
Medieval Nerd's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 991
POST ID # = 811463
Medieval Nerd Reputation: 22
Default

I can't seem to reproduce the pixel skipping, but I tried with MS Paint so. :P

I have to say that when I am in game, like a first person shooter for example, moving the cursor in diagonals seems to be something the mouse doesn't like at all.

I get very severe 'snapping'. I also own a Naga 2014, and when having both connected and switching on the fly the difference is very pronounced.
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 10-01-2015, 01:13 PM
Medieval Nerd's Avatar
Medieval Nerd Medieval Nerd is offline
OC & HW Enthusiast
Medieval Nerd's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 991
POST ID # = 811590
Medieval Nerd Reputation: 22
Default

I found a really easy way to showcase the pointer issues.

Open MS Paint with a blank canvas, and move the pointer around it. MS Paint tracks the cursor's position on the X/Y axis. So you can easily see that the Scimitar always moves 2 pixels at a time. 100, 102, 104, 106, etc.

But if you compare to the Naga, it goes through each coordinate one at a time. 101,102,103,104, etc.

I'm sure someone messed up a calculation somewhere and rounding to the closest 'pair' not 'whole' number.

You can also end up with the 'odd' numbers at times, and then can only do 101, 103, 105, 107, coordinates.

Very strange.
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 10-01-2015, 08:36 PM
Wartman Wartman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 811685
Wartman Reputation: 10
Default

I tested this with mine too. Looks like mine also moves 2 pixels at a time.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 10-01-2015, 10:49 PM
Medieval Nerd's Avatar
Medieval Nerd Medieval Nerd is offline
OC & HW Enthusiast
Medieval Nerd's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 991
POST ID # = 811710
Medieval Nerd Reputation: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wartman View Post
I tested this with mine too. Looks like mine also moves 2 pixels at a time.
Like the OP said you can sort of mitigate the issue by lowering the Mouse Sensitivity in Windows. (IE, from 6/11 to 4/11) and you'll get 1 pixel precision. But this is only for the desktop, you'd have to tweak the values for games.

It really seems like there is something off in the hardware level. Hopefully a firmware patch can fix this. I'd personally be willing to forego the 12k DPI, in favor of 6K max DPI but with constant 1 pixel precision.

Seriously, who uses higher than 6K? I always bring my own mouse to work, and I tend to use 4k for single monitor stations and 6k for multiple monitors. And people can't even use my mouse. Since they are mostly used to work with 300/600dpi mice. lol
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 10-02-2015, 12:56 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,446
POST ID # = 811805
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Hi all, I just wanted to confirm with everyone that we were able to duplicate the issue and will work on a resolution via firmware. I don't have an ETA yet, however.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Reply

Tags
mouse problem, scimitar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.