The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-2009, 08:28 PM
DaEnigma DaEnigma is offline
Registered User
DaEnigma's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 401068
DaEnigma Reputation: 10
Default Tr3x6g1600c7 g

I just purchased this new setup but I am having trouble running it stable. Does anyone have any settings suggestions?

Thankyou!

Last edited by Wired; 05-12-2009 at 10:02 PM. Reason: removed specs; already in profile
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-12-2009, 10:04 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 401079
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Gigabyte EX58-UD4P BIOS Settings For CORSAIR Dominator TR3X6G1600C8D & TR3X3G1600C8D

This thread should give you a start.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-14-2009, 08:48 AM
dab dab is offline
Registered User
dab's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 401248
dab Reputation: 10
Default

I was having trouble getting mine to run stable at the rated timings. With no overclock on my i7 920 I could do 7-7-7-20 fine at 1600. With any overclock of my i7 it wouldn't post at those timings at frequency above 1200, voltage at 1.64v. The uncore frequency was correct and bumping up the qpi/vtt voltage didn't help. I finally changed the timings to 8-8-8-20 and things seemed to work. Should I be able to do 7-7-7-20 at 1600 with the i7 overclocked? I tried a whole range of settings from 3.0 to 3.8 with 19 and 20 multipliers.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-14-2009, 07:48 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 401329
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Not really if you are over clocking the CPU that will automatically over clock the memory as well and because the memory controller is in the CPU you may have to relax the settings to get a better O.C. on the CPU.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-16-2009, 06:59 PM
DaEnigma DaEnigma is offline
Registered User
DaEnigma's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 401508
DaEnigma Reputation: 10
Default

If I choose to run the above memory at 1600 7-7-7-20 and the processor at 200 baseclock *20 with Turbo enabled how much QPI should I start with? (This is the new C7 G set with the blue label, which has no information on the main corsair page)

I have the memory set at 1.65 (via XMP profile) when I set it to 1.64 in bios the pc would bluescreen with a 9c or 50 stop code. The QPI/vtt is set to 1.35 via the XMP also. with these settings I get a 124 stop code error before even getting into windows.

Even at with the processor at the stock 2.66 I get the stupid 124 error with the XMP profile set.

My system is in my profile as requested.

(keep in mind that I have a D0 stepping 920 S-spec:SLBEJ FPO/Batch #3844A716)
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-27-2009, 05:16 PM
bolden bolden is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 402521
bolden Reputation: 10
Default

Hey Enigma, I have the same ram, and I'm thinking to get the same mobo x58-UD4P, do you still have stability problems?
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-27-2009, 06:27 PM
DaEnigma DaEnigma is offline
Registered User
DaEnigma's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 402535
DaEnigma Reputation: 10
Default

Not any longer... I do wish I would have gotten an official QPI setting response, but oh well...

I have the QPI set to 1.4350v and the processor set to 1.3000v (shows 1.285 while in windows) @ 200bclk *21 for 4.2ghz, memory @1600 7-7-7-20 with mem set at 1.66v (the board undervolts so the memory is actually running at 1.64850).

I hit 79c when running linX 64 8 threads X20... Keep in mind it is 27c in the house.

I guess I just have a D0 which needs more QPI, but I am still trying to tweak the memory.

I would also check out this forum for more GigaByte info:

http://forums.tweaktown.com/f69/
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-27-2009, 09:24 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 402554
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
I do wish I would have gotten an official QPI setting response, but oh well...
DaEnigma I tried to explain that to you before, there is no set QPI Voltage except for what is set at Default and it will vary with the CPU you use Just don't go over 1.65 Volts on the memory and do not go over about 1.7 Volts for QPI Voltage
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-17-2009, 04:00 PM
bolden bolden is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 404864
bolden Reputation: 10
Default

I have same setup and I can't boot with 200 BCLK when the ram timmings are set to 7-7-7-20, it will boot if I change the timmings to 8-8-8-24, memory is already downclocked to 1066 before going to 200 BCLK .... 200BCLK x 20 would make the ram to run @ 1600 but can't get it to boot @ 200BCLK, it gives me continuous beeps, 199 BCLK boots fine, I tried to bump all voltage but didn't help

memory works fine without OC @ 1600 7-7-7-20 at stock settings
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-18-2009, 02:29 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 405007
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

That would suggest it is the CPU topping out.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 06-18-2009, 06:09 PM
bolden bolden is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 405036
bolden Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
That would suggest it is the CPU topping out.
if the CPU is topping out, why I can boot up to 215BCLK when I change the memory timmings to 9-9-9-20?
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 06-19-2009, 04:06 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 405124
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Try and lower the Memory frequency Ratio so it is is not over clocking it so much.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
ga-ex58-ud4p, i7, tr3x6g1600c7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.