The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2019, 08:35 AM
macklin265 macklin265 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1004725
macklin265 Reputation: 10
Question Commander Pro: Internal Memory / Using Under Linux

I'm considering getting a Commander Pro for my upcoming build. However, I might want to dual-boot with Windows+Linux in the future. I understand that there is no official support for iCUE under Linux, but does the CoPro have internal memory to save the fan curves (and maybe LED settings?) set in iCUE in Windows? That is, if I use iCUE to tie my case fan speeds to e.g. the CPU/GPU temperature, or a reading of the included temperature probes, will these curves also be applied when booting into a platform without support for iCUE, such as Linux?

Also, and this may be an obvious question, but it's not possible to control a fan through the BIOS fan curve, when it's connected to the CoPro, right?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-16-2019, 01:25 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,379
POST ID # = 1004747
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The CoPro (and NoPro, for that matter) have hardware lighting that runs when iCUE isn't, including at boot and in Linux. Fan curves that are based on the included temp probes will run in hardware only mode as well; fan curves based on anything else will not as they require the software.

And no, you cannot control the fans through a BIOS fan curve.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-14-2019, 07:51 PM
HuggyB HuggyB is offline
Registered User
HuggyB's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1014685
HuggyB Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The CoPro (and NoPro, for that matter) have hardware lighting that runs when iCUE isn't, including at boot and in Linux. Fan curves that are based on the included temp probes will run in hardware only mode as well; fan curves based on anything else will not as they require the software.

And no, you cannot control the fans through a BIOS fan curve.
When you say 'included temp probes' you do mean the probes that came with the kit to be plugged in to the CoPro, right? Just want to make sure that I understand as I am having trouble with my CoPro in Linux. Even the presets are not staying stored after having set custom curves. I've tried every preset now and when I boot into Linux I am left at the lowest RPM I had in my original custom curve.

You wouldn't happen to know a way to 'clear' the internal memory would you? I've tried unistalling iCUE and Link 4 then installing Link 4 only as I've read here that it has the best chance of success (presets) running in Linux.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
commander pro, fan curve, linux, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.