The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 35 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2013, 02:59 PM
sportpeppers sportpeppers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 660380
sportpeppers Reputation: 10
Default K60 Keyboard : Significant issue with pipe key ( | ) repeating when used

I am having severe issues with my K60 repeating when used in normal typing.

This key is used frequently for many operations on my linux workstation and for programming. To recreate, i press 'shift'+\ and release quickly.

'|\\ ' is what comes out.

When typing some thing like this:
ps ax |\\ grep foo

you can see that it has the potential to inflict a deleterious effect on my sanity.

The timing seems to have changed slightly in firmware 1.31, but it still occurs and i more frequently get two repeats instead of one repeat like i used to.

Is there expected to be any effort toward a fix for this issue ?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-19-2013, 03:32 PM
sportpeppers sportpeppers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 660391
sportpeppers Reputation: 10
Default

I should add that I did some additional testing and it appears that the problem with the pipe/backslash key repeating occurs regardless of what key you press beforehand (not just shift).

for example, i can press any letter key, then the backslash, and get a repeat.

Example: s\\\d\\\e\\\q\\\t\\\
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-20-2013, 06:43 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,334
POST ID # = 660488
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

Have you tried reflashing the FW?
Does the K60 keys still repeat on a different computer?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-20-2013, 01:45 PM
sportpeppers sportpeppers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 660541
sportpeppers Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, I've reflashed the firmware. The issue seems to only occur in linux. In windows the issue does not seem to be present.

It seems I am not the only one with this issue, but it is a major problem for me and I was hoping to get some comment on it as to whether there is any focus on resolving it or not.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-20-2013, 02:35 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 660554
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

If it doesn't happen in Windows but happens in Linux, it may be an OS driver related issue.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-20-2013, 02:45 PM
sportpeppers sportpeppers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 660558
sportpeppers Reputation: 10
Default

Well the thing is the K60 is a standard USB input device without any bells or whistles beyond the mechanical switches, no?

Keyboards are fairly well understood and this device is the only one i've ever experienced this issue with (i have other keyboards as well), and I do not seem to be the only one with this problem (maybe other linux users can chime in ?)

It strikes me that the issue is something in the signals that the keyboard is sending, rather than the driver itself. In reading the firmware logs, this keyboard model has experienced repeating and stuck keys on Windows in the past as well which required firmware updates, I have a hard time believing that the fault is in linux. Is there any chance that this issue could be investigated ?
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-20-2013, 03:02 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 660560
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

The K60 is a standard plug and play device, but it is not an 8-bit standard keyboard like a typical rubber dome unit. We don't officially support Linux but I can pass your findings along to the engineering team.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-20-2013, 04:30 PM
sportpeppers sportpeppers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 660597
sportpeppers Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks man! That's as much as I could have hoped for. :)

-aaron
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-21-2013, 07:59 PM
bjk bjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 660889
bjk Reputation: 10
Default

I have the same problem in Linux. I updated to firmware 1.34 and disabled the multimedia keys with WinLock+F1 and the problem is fixed. But then, I no longer have multimedia keys. :)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-28-2013, 01:32 PM
sportpeppers sportpeppers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 662166
sportpeppers Reputation: 10
Default

Aha!!! Fixed!!

Thanks for the note bjk, in 'standard mode' with firmware 1.34 the pipe key works perfectly normally. You have no idea how pleased I am with this development.

:)
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-19-2014, 06:02 PM
Beijmn Beijmn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 693469
Beijmn Reputation: 10
Default Love this keyboard.

I purchased a Corsair Vengeance K70B keyboard the other day and noticed the same issues in Arch Linux. I don't know a lot about the Linux kernel, HID, or keyboards in general so bear with me.

In HID it seems there is a constant flow of updates for keys informing if they are pressed or not. All of the keys seem ok but the one exception is the backslash key. After depressing the key, a message update is sent saying it was depressed but IMMEDIATELY after another message is sent saying it is lifted up. It seems backslash is the only key that does this.

I have whipped up a quick hack for hid-core.c in the linux kernel. All it does is ignore this message. A more permanent and cleaner solution is to provide a custom hid-vengeance driver. Posting messes the whole format up but you get the idea.


--- drivers/hid/hid-core.c 2014-01-19 16:27:37.674829730 -0500
+++ hid-core_patched.c 2014-01-19 16:24:39.992006709 -0500
@@ -1130,6 +1130,14 @@
{
struct hid_driver *hdrv = hid->driver;
int ret;
+ static bool skip = false;
+
+ if (skip) {
+ skip = false;
+ return;
+ }
+ if (usage->code == KEY_BACKSLASH && value == 1)
+ skip = true;

if (!list_empty(&hid->debug_list))
hid_dump_input(hid, usage, value);
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 02-23-2014, 09:08 PM
lem79 lem79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 698778
lem79 Reputation: 10
Default Gigabyte Osmium also has this issue

Just registered to say that The Gigabyte Osmium keyboard (Aivia Osmium) also has this issue of non-repeating backlash key, and repeating spuriously when held down and other keys are pressed, like: \a\\\s\\\d\\\f\\\, and holding \ while pressing/releasing shift: \|\\|\\|\\|\\|\\|\\|\\|\\|\\ etc

I don't have any answers, but this seems to be an issue specific to Linux. It doesn't happen in the BIOS (Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, F10a), in Windows, or in FreeBSD 10 console.

Does Corsair share some electronics with Gigabyte? Seems to be pretty coincidental that two different manufacturers can have the exact same issue.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 02-24-2014, 10:14 PM
lem79 lem79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 698944
lem79 Reputation: 10
Thumbs up Patch worked for Gigabyte Osmium keyboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beijmn View Post
I purchased a Corsair Vengeance K70B keyboard the other day and noticed the same issues in Arch Linux. I don't know a lot about the Linux kernel, HID, or keyboards in general so bear with me.

In HID it seems there is a constant flow of updates for keys informing if they are pressed or not. All of the keys seem ok but the one exception is the backslash key. After depressing the key, a message update is sent saying it was depressed but IMMEDIATELY after another message is sent saying it is lifted up. It seems backslash is the only key that does this.

I have whipped up a quick hack for hid-core.c in the linux kernel. All it does is ignore this message. A more permanent and cleaner solution is to provide a custom hid-vengeance driver. Posting messes the whole format up but you get the idea.


--- drivers/hid/hid-core.c 2014-01-19 16:27:37.674829730 -0500
+++ hid-core_patched.c 2014-01-19 16:24:39.992006709 -0500
@@ -1130,6 +1130,14 @@
{
struct hid_driver *hdrv = hid->driver;
int ret;
+ static bool skip = false;
+
+ if (skip) {
+ skip = false;
+ return;
+ }
+ if (usage->code == KEY_BACKSLASH && value == 1)
+ skip = true;

if (!list_empty(&hid->debug_list))
hid_dump_input(hid, usage, value);
I tried applying your patch to the Ubuntu 13.10 kernel (Linux 3.11; the line numbers were a bit different but that's all), and it worked for my Gigabyte Osmium keyboard. Backslash now repeats like it should, and it no longer inserts extra keypresses when it's held down while other keys are pressed.

There are other issues with the Osmium keyboard though (like Num/Caps/Scroll lock lights not visibly changing but the keys actually do change state), but that's a minor issue.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 06-23-2014, 02:39 PM
roflbacon roflbacon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 716275
roflbacon Reputation: 10
Default

ignore what I wrote. the backspace key was going on my keyboard making it act exactly like it did before the patch. The patch works. I'm dumb.

Last edited by roflbacon; 07-01-2014 at 02:29 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 08-26-2014, 03:54 AM
megahallon megahallon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 724479
megahallon Reputation: 10
Default Patch posted to linux-input

Hi, I have tried to make a proper patch for this bug. It is a problem in the kernel rather than with the keyboards, although it could be argued that the keyboard behave in a strange way. Anway, the patch is submitted to the linux-input list for review but there are no comments on it yet.
If you have a Corsair K70, Gigabyte Osmium, QPAD MK-85 or other similar keyboard that has the repeat bug it would be great it you can test the patch. If you test it let me know if it works and also what keyboard you have, it is also important what language version you are using, US and non-US keyboards will behave differently. Note that the backslash key on US keyboards will have other labels on other versions of the keyboard.

Here is the mail from linux-input with the patch:

http://article.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel.input/37583

Thanks

Last edited by megahallon; 08-26-2014 at 04:20 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.