The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2012, 07:48 PM
Cougar281 Cougar281 is offline
Registered User
Cougar281's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 620387
Cougar281 Reputation: 10
Default Just got Corsair Link kit - Issues with H80

I just got my Corsair Link kit delivered today. I started working with it and found that it was not detected with the v2.2.0 software. Did some reading and found the references to the v1.2 software needing to be run first in order to update it to the latest firmware so it would work with the v2.2.0 software. Since Win8 isn't 'supported', I threw another HDD in the machine and isntalled Win7 to make sure Win8 wouldn't brick the link module(s) and went through the procedure.

When I initailly started the app, I got a message prompting me to update my H80's firmware. When I clicked the “Check for Updates” button, it showed the cooling modules as 'up to date' (which they are not) and 'no information' on the H80.I found the Commander's firmware and applied it, after which the commander was not detected by the software (not a huge surprise). I removed the v1.2 software, rebooted and installed v2.2.0. Now the commander and modules are detected, however, here are the issues:

If I try to update firmware, the only devices I have in the dropdown are the commander and the H80.I did find a file posted by Toasted for the H80, but I got a message stating that 'The firmware file selected is not correct'.

The data being recieved from the H80 is... erratic... to say the least. I'ts showing the H80 pump at 0, H80 Temp 2 at ~436 (It's also set to 'device type: Power'). The H80's fans are all over the map; currently reading 0, but bouncing all over from inder 1k to over 7k; H80 Temp 1, 2 & 4 all read 0. As I type, the H80's fans are cycling between low and high.

I think that covers my issues for now...
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-18-2012, 09:21 PM
Cougar281 Cougar281 is offline
Registered User
Cougar281's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 620400
Cougar281 Reputation: 10
Default

Just to add... After getting the Link kits installed, I did some searching and it sounds like my H80 is doing the same thing as others have reported; It wounds like one fan is at a speed; not sure if it's 100% or lower, and the other is running at 100%, dropping speed for a fraction of a second, then spinning back up. When it drops speed, the 'person' on the CPU block lights for that fraction of a second.

I tried the FW reset pprocedures found here and nothing worked. When I held the button, the 'person' would light then the middle speed indicator would light. I also noted in the BIOS that the 'CPU Fan' (AKA pump) is being reported as going between 0RPM and 2000RPM, seemingly in sync with the fan speed changes.

Seems my H80 may have bought the farm... Man it's obnoxious....

Last edited by Cougar281; 12-18-2012 at 09:26 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-19-2012, 01:22 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,334
POST ID # = 620422
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

Did you select the correct device in the firmware updater?
Refer to this guide, if you are unfamiliar with the firmware update process on LINK 2.X.X http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=112067

Have you tried a different LINK device port and LINK Digital cable?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-19-2012, 10:36 AM
Cougar281 Cougar281 is offline
Registered User
Cougar281's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 620495
Cougar281 Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, that was one of the links I used from the beginning. Yes I had tried different ports, but not a cable dut to the... Challenge... changing that cable presents.

I was also having issues with some of the fans on one of the cooling modules not running.

After a bunch of messing around, it would seem I got (almost) everything working right and brought my H80 back from being brain dead.

The way I did it was with the V2 software, I flashed the v1.1.9 firmware back to the commander. Not surprisingly, it vanished from the v2 software. I then removed the software and all folders, rebooted and then installed the v1.2.7 software. That recognized the commander as well as all the modules. I then was able to flash the FW to the H80, which brought it back to life. I also updated the firmware to v 1.2.5 on the cooling modules with the 1.2.7 software. This fixed the fans not running. After re-flashing the v2.0.6 firmware, removing the 1.2.7 software and all folders and re-installing the v2.2.0 software, almost everything now works right. The only thing that for some reaon isn't working right is the GPU node. It was reading fine, then stopped giving a reading. at one point it seemed like rebooting brought it back, but now it's not coming back.

I have a few suggestions... In the forums, how about either making a new post that includes links to download all available firmware version for all modules, or add links to the existing firmware guides so that users don't have to search all over the place to find one file here, one there and another buried in some onter post?

In the software, add the addresses of the various sensors. Near as I can tell, in the v2 software, there is no way to tell which sensor/fan is on which module, so if you have multiple modules, it can be a cahllenge to figure out which is which. I noticed in the v1 software that the sensors originally showed up as '(controller):Sensor number' or something similar. This does not appear to be the case with the v2 software, plus if you rename the sensors, you lose the address. I would suggest that Corsair add the node number and sensor number somewhere, such as in the config panel so that when you select a sensor, there's either a line with the node & Sensor/fan (IE: 1:F1, 1:T1 for node 1 fan 1 or node 1 temp 1), or seperate lines for the node and sensor/fan.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-19-2012, 05:39 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,334
POST ID # = 620587
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

Thanks for posting the method on how you revived the H80. I'm not really sure about the GPU node as i have no clue on how its all connected and how it works.

The device name can be changed in the dashboard so you can identify it.

If you don't know which fan or temperature sensor is which on the cooling nodes, Unplug one and rename the devices detected first. Plug the other and do the same.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-20-2012, 03:16 AM
KappaRho KappaRho is offline
Registered User
KappaRho's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 620681
KappaRho Reputation: 10
Default

I am going to agree with both of you :)

Toasted's idea of unplugging modules to help identify others will work well and, as it should not need to be done often (if ever) again is not too much of a bind.

However in the longer term it does seem a bit of an oversight on a product of this spec and it should be easy to tag the items with the controller identifier in the software as Cougar suggested. I know I ran into this problem as well and even though it was easy to get around it was frustrating to have to do it that way!

Just my $0.02 or 2p or whatever currency you use that is now worth less than it was when I started typing this !

Cheers

K
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-07-2013, 07:48 PM
Cougar281 Cougar281 is offline
Registered User
Cougar281's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 624378
Cougar281 Reputation: 10
Default

After doing some testing, I have noticed the following:

With the temperature units in 'Fahrenheit', which I personally prefer since that's the scale we use in the US, the GPU Power usage sits at zero. If I switch it to 'Celsius', the GPU Power reading shows properly (In my case, 31.x Watts at relative idle). Any chance of getting that fixed so it displays properly regardless of the temperature scale used (as well as Sierra2 almost constantly crashing)?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.