The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2018, 08:15 PM
SweetNothing SweetNothing is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 947582
SweetNothing Reputation: 10
Default iCue (and some Corsair) Questions

I realize iCue is in early access, but I am having trouble identifying what my expectations of the shipping product will be.

It's time for me to build a new rig, and I have been very impressed with Corsairs accessories. I am considering going "all in" on corsair RGB products to unify the look and feel, but I am worried that my expectations of what Corsair intends to do will not match what they expect to accomplish. Is there a list of features they hope the shipping product will have? I called customer support / tech support today but they seem to be working off of a limited trial of the software.

Right now I have 24 RGB strips, 6 from Phanteks and 18 from Ikea, that I would like to replace so they unify with my other Corsair accessories. (It's not that bad. They are in the PC, behind the monitors, and under the desk. It look a lot better than I make it sound.) I haven't looked to far into this yet, but Corsair Tech Support told me I can daisy chain Lighting Node PROs until I have enough lighting channels to meet my needs.

For airflow, aesthetic, and cable management reasons I also keep my PC on the left side of the monitor with my ST100 and Void Pro, and my Glaive, MM800, and portrait display on the right. I only mention this because all the product images show the PC on the right side. Will I be able to adjust the software so it knows where my hardware is located on my desk and animates correctly across corsair devices?

Besides a strange RMA experience I haven't really had a lot of contact with Corsair. Do they reach out to customers (or should I say, Corsair enthusiasts) to refine their products or are they an empty shell of a company that ships what they have and abandons users when they need to revive a product line?

I am ready to go all in and just buy a few of each on their store, but I am a little reserved that the iCue team, especially when advertising a beta product, doesn't have direct email contact.

I would love some feedback from other users. If Corsair reads their forums maybe they can add some input.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2018, 09:01 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,237
POST ID # = 947583
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetNothing View Post
I realize iCue is in early access, but I am having trouble identifying what my expectations of the shipping product will be.

It's time for me to build a new rig, and I have been very impressed with Corsairs accessories. I am considering going "all in" on corsair RGB products to unify the look and feel, but I am worried that my expectations of what Corsair intends to do will not match what they expect to accomplish. Is there a list of features they hope the shipping product will have? I called customer support / tech support today but they seem to be working off of a limited trial of the software.

Right now I have 24 RGB strips, 6 from Phanteks and 18 from Ikea, that I would like to replace so they unify with my other Corsair accessories. (It's not that bad. They are in the PC, behind the monitors, and under the desk. It look a lot better than I make it sound.) I haven't looked to far into this yet, but Corsair Tech Support told me I can daisy chain Lighting Node PROs until I have enough lighting channels to meet my needs.
You can put any number of Lighting Node Pros (NoPros) into a system or outside of a system. The limiting factor is available SATA power connectors and USB ports. The can also be outside the system - there is a user on here (Zotty) that has many. He put together the RGB FAQ that you see in my signatures. NoPro's can't exactly be daisy-chained; that implies that you connect NoPro A into NoPro B. You can do that with the Commander Pro (CoPro), which also has an internal USB header. The CoPro also has lighting channels and can provide advanced fan control. It's one of my personal favorite devices.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetNothing View Post
For airflow, aesthetic, and cable management reasons I also keep my PC on the left side of the monitor with my ST100 and Void Pro, and my Glaive, MM800, and portrait display on the right. I only mention this because all the product images show the PC on the right side. Will I be able to adjust the software so it knows where my hardware is located on my desk and animates correctly across corsair devices?
That is in the plans.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetNothing View Post
Besides a strange RMA experience I haven't really had a lot of contact with Corsair. Do they reach out to customers (or should I say, Corsair enthusiasts) to refine their products or are they an empty shell of a company that ships what they have and abandons users when they need to revive a product line?
YES! They absolutely do! There is a group of Corsair enthusiasts that is deeply involved in beta testing; I'm in that group. You'll also see a number of Corsair employees active here on the forums. They do engage with their community and quite actively. It's one of the things that sold me on the ecosystem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetNothing View Post
I am ready to go all in and just buy a few of each on their store, but I am a little reserved that the iCue team, especially when advertising a beta product, doesn't have direct email contact.

I would love some feedback from other users. If Corsair reads their forums maybe they can add some input.
Just look around here ... they are pretty active. Anyone with "Corsair" in their name is a Corsair employee. There are others as well and they are tagged as Corsair employees. Doing it on a public forum ensures that everyone gets the benefit of the advice given on the forum, not just one person via email. It also helps them scale tremendously.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2018, 09:36 PM
Hyncharas's Avatar
Hyncharas Hyncharas is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 117
POST ID # = 947590
Hyncharas Reputation: 12
Default

Personally, iCUE is a nice step-up from the earlier CUE software; I don't yet have a desktop with LL fans, but you can still create profiles for them.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2018, 11:23 PM
hastegag hastegag is offline
Registered User
hastegag's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 895
POST ID # = 947603
hastegag Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyncharas View Post
Personally, iCUE is a nice step-up from the earlier CUE software; I don't yet have a desktop with LL fans, but you can still create profiles for them.
I like it so far as well a great deal, it fixed a number of previously persistent bugs

Now that's marketing! Like the device preview from CUE 2. The drill down capability (which link had, but all in one app) makes icue a great way forward.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2018, 12:28 AM
xMacias xMacias is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 278
POST ID # = 947607
xMacias Reputation: 20
Default

If you want, you can download iCUE as a standalone software. It has a demo mode where you can configure devices and see the effects that should be displayed on your actual devices. I think my favorite are the LL fans which have 2 light loops so you can get some awesome effects with them.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2018, 09:00 AM
SweetNothing SweetNothing is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 947663
SweetNothing Reputation: 10
Default

I wan't to be clear - the Cue platform is *a lot* better than some of the other software packs I have had to use by other companies. So please keep in mind that I really like the Corsair products I have purchased so far. Replacing my $9 Amazon mouse with a GLAVE resulted in this conversation: "What's the difference between this mouse and what you had?" "Enjoying it."

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
You can put any number of Lighting Node Pros (NoPros) into a system or outside of a system. The limiting factor is available SATA power connectors and USB ports. The can also be outside the system - there is a user on here (Zotty) that has many. He put together the RGB FAQ that you see in my signatures. NoPro's can't exactly be daisy-chained; that implies that you connect NoPro A into NoPro B. You can do that with the Commander Pro (CoPro), which also has an internal USB header. The CoPro also has lighting channels and can provide advanced fan control. It's one of my personal favorite devices.
Thanks! I guess it's only a $10 difference to get the CoPro instead of the NoPro, but it looks like it takes up a lot more space. I'll take a look at the links and take some measurements.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
That is in the plans.
Awesome! Is there a forum post with other features... or do I just submit my thoughts as new posts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
YES! They absolutely do! There is a group of Corsair enthusiasts that is deeply involved in beta testing; I'm in that group. You'll also see a number of Corsair employees active here on the forums. They do engage with their community and quite actively. It's one of the things that sold me on the ecosystem.
Thanks! I'll keep my eye out for them as I sift though the forum.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Just look around here ... they are pretty active. Anyone with "Corsair" in their name is a Corsair employee. There are others as well and they are tagged as Corsair employees. Doing it on a public forum ensures that everyone gets the benefit of the advice given on the forum, not just one person via email. It also helps them scale tremendously.
That's a fair enough reason, but I hope they can see how a new customer might be suspicious. Microsoft tells you the same thing, and let's be real, if you don't feel ignored over there you probably feel misunderstood.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyncharas View Post
Personally, iCUE is a nice step-up from the earlier CUE software; I don't yet have a desktop with LL fans, but you can still create profiles for them.
Again, I realize it's early access but it's not always the most intuitive software for a new user.

I downloaded the new software and while replacing the two programs with a single application is nice I find myself confused when I try and do some things. For one I have no idea how to sync the lights with what is on the screen. I don't know what the feature is officially called, and none of the lighting options seem to accomplish it. I really hope this feature doesn't have to be baked into the app by the app developer. It's fine if it's part of a promotion with Ubisoft right now, but I hope it works with other games and applications. It would be really nice to sit back and watch YouTube, Netflix, or MLB.tv and have the same immersive experience as fighting off a wolf. Searching Corsair's website hasn't revealed to me how it works, and clicking the big FarCry 5 ad in the iCue software takes me to a "Not Found" Corsair page.

Unrelated to lighting, I also struggle with the dashboard. I keep trying to reorganize the panels because they don't make sense to me where they are, only to remember that they can't be moved, recolored, or renamed. I keep expecting that if I hover the mouse over something an overlay will tell me more about that item. Or at least see a larger graph with labeled axes with historical numbers. I expected similar function to occur in other places in the software (software... tell me more about single and multi rail OCP), but it feels like a notable omission in the dashboard.

Boy now, wouldn't it be nice to have a single button that checks iCue for new software and also checks all connected devices for new firmware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hastegag View Post
I don't yet have a desktop with LL fans, but you can still create profiles for them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by xMacias View Post
If you want, you can download iCUE as a standalone software. It has a demo mode where you can configure devices and see the effects that should be displayed on your actual devices. I think my favorite are the LL fans which have 2 light loops so you can get some awesome effects with them.
I saw I could preview what the effects would look like on the NoPro and CoPro (but not the H115i), but I don't see how I sync them with what is on screen. Maybe that would create a feedback loop the software can't deal with?

Thanks for all the feedback!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2018, 10:19 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,237
POST ID # = 947675
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetNothing View Post
Thanks! I guess it's only a $10 difference to get the CoPro instead of the NoPro, but it looks like it takes up a lot more space. I'll take a look at the links and take some measurements.
It does but it also does a lot more ... like control fan speeds, provides 2 additional USB headers, and has additional thermistors for temperature monitoring. I, personally, have both ... 1 CoPro and 2 NoPros.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetNothing View Post
Awesome! Is there a forum post with other features... or do I just submit my thoughts as new posts?
Submit them on the iCue Early Access section: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/forumdisplay.php?f=280.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetNothing View Post
That's a fair enough reason, but I hope they can see how a new customer might be suspicious. Microsoft tells you the same thing, and let's be real, if you don't feel ignored over there you probably feel misunderstood.
While I can expound on this for days as I spent 9 years at Microsoft, I'll refrain. As for Corsair ... just browse around. You'll see a lot of responses from Corsair folks. And in the early access section, you'll see responses from Corsair James, who is the lead/boss man on iCue, as well as others.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetNothing View Post
Again, I realize it's early access but it's not always the most intuitive software for a new user.
Take a look at the videos that I have on YouTube (linked in my signature). There's also an iCue Guide by Inheritance, another beta team member, at https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...jjrHX4Rhk/edit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetNothing View Post
Unrelated to lighting, I also struggle with the dashboard. I keep trying to reorganize the panels because they don't make sense to me where they are, only to remember that they can't be moved, recolored, or renamed. I keep expecting that if I hover the mouse over something an overlay will tell me more about that item. Or at least see a larger graph with labeled axes with historical numbers. I expected similar function to occur in other places in the software (software... tell me more about single and multi rail OCP), but it feels like a notable omission in the dashboard.
Good feedback ... better over in the iCue Early Access section. As for moving them around ... yeah, it's a pretty frustrating until you get the hang of it. And then it's just occasionally mildly annoying. You have to get just the right spot, click and hold for a couple of seconds and then it'll come undocked. I show that in my videos as well. That's something that they are definitely working on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetNothing View Post
Boy now, wouldn't it be nice to have a single button that checks iCue for new software and also checks all connected devices for new firmware.
Again, good feedback for the iCue Early Access section.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetNothing View Post
I saw I could preview what the effects would look like on the NoPro and CoPro (but not the H115i), but I don't see how I sync them with what is on screen. Maybe that would create a feedback loop the software can't deal with?
They should be pretty in sync with the devices. And while a "feedback loop" might be possible, I think that's unlikely. I've added over 100 Lighting Link effects simultaneously across my devices and it handled it quite well in fact. The H115i doesn't support all of the lighting effects that you can get in iCue ... that's a hardware limitation, unfortunately. Only the new Pro series coolers support all of the funky things that you can do with iCue.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-30-2018, 10:30 AM
Corsair Rick's Avatar
Corsair Rick Corsair Rick is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Rick's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 274
POST ID # = 947679
Corsair Rick Reputation: 10
Default

Hey there SweetNothing!


It looks like DevBiker has done a great job answering your questions. I'm here to help as well if you have any others.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
icue

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.