The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2019, 10:49 PM
hvgotcodes hvgotcodes is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 1017051
hvgotcodes Reputation: 10
Default I think the USB Port on my H115i Platinum might be busted

I've been struggling to get my H115i AIO to show up in iCue, or just in as a device in Device Manager or USBDevview. I have other threads on this on these forums.

I was tinkering tonight -- I went into my BIOS and turned the Q Fan control (Asus motherboard) off for the CPU Fan, made sure that handoff setting was enabled, etc.

Then on one forum thread someone suggested trying a different USB cable, like grabbing an standard micro-usb cable and plugging it into the pump, then into an external USB port. As soon as I touched the USB cable that came with the AIO it popped up in iCue.

I restarted my computer, and it's gone, and I can't get it back. I tried swapping the cable, changing the USB header into which I plugged it, everything.

Given that I got it working once by just shifting the cable attachment into the pump ever so slightly, and haven't been able to get it back, is it possible the USB port on the pump is just busted?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-06-2019, 01:47 AM
Yemble Yemble is offline
Registered User
Yemble's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)
Posts: 107
POST ID # = 1017068
Yemble Reputation: 11
Default

Most likely, however, first I would try hooking up a long standard cable between the pump USB port and a laptop, with the PC powered up, just to see if Windows detects it on the laptop.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-06-2019, 07:47 AM
hvgotcodes hvgotcodes is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 1017111
hvgotcodes Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yemble View Post
Most likely, however, first I would try hooking up a long standard cable between the pump USB port and a laptop, with the PC powered up, just to see if Windows detects it on the laptop.
Hmm, I only have Apple laptops; this is the only windows computer in the house.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-06-2019, 08:07 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,679
POST ID # = 1017115
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

It does sound possible that the USB port is busted. Or at least one of the connections is, which is effectively the same thing.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-06-2019, 08:26 AM
hvgotcodes hvgotcodes is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 1017116
hvgotcodes Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
It does sound possible that the USB port is busted. Or at least one of the connections is, which is effectively the same thing.
DevBiker, any recommendations on how to absolutely be sure?

The other thing is I was thinking of swapping this, as a 280mm radiator, with a 240mm, as it's very tight in the case and restricting some cable access in the grommets along the top of the case.

Do you have a recommendation for a 240mm AIO?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.