The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2020, 01:39 PM
GrtWhtBuffalo GrtWhtBuffalo is offline
Registered User
GrtWhtBuffalo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1034943
GrtWhtBuffalo Reputation: 10
Default iCUE not finding NoPro, lights are working

I am new here, and this was also my first build. I have been searching everywhere and troubleshooting to figure out why I can't find the NoPro in iCUE.

I have a H100i AIO cooler and 3 LL120 fans plugged into the fan hub (slots 1,2,3) then to the NoPro.

A little background,
Originally I had the AIO into a MOBO USB2 and the NoPRO plugged into another MOBO USB 2.0. Only the AIO or the NoPRO would show up in iCUE, not both. I swapped the usb's and whichever unit was being detected would disappear and the other would show up. I am mentioning this because I know that the NoPRO does work. What I though was an acceptable USB had two pins without power for the ROG_EXT.

I bought a USB splitter to go into the one actual USB 2.0 and plugged both the AIO and NoPro into its two slots. Now all that is detected is the AIO and not the NoPro. I have uninstalled and re-installed iCUE, updated all firmware and tried the reset button on the NoPRO.

I also downloaded your link software to see if it would recognize the NoPRO, and it did...and told me that iCUE was controlling it

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Sorry for the novel
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2020, 04:11 AM
usna92's Avatar
usna92 usna92 is offline
I fight for the users
usna92's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 68
POST ID # = 1034988
usna92 Reputation: 10
Default

TLDR: 1. Uninstall LINK 2. Remove the splitter 3. Make sure both devices have SATA power 4. Try the NZXT hub if the rest doesn't help.

I am assuming that both h100i and the LNP are plugged into SATA power as well as the USB header. You will probably not get both of them to appear when connected to a USB splitter. To be honest I am surprised even one showed up. Uninstall link software, it's just going to make iCue cranky. If you're have problems with USB 2.0 headers, you might try something like the NZXT motherboard header hub. It will allow you to connect it to the motherboard and then your other USB 2.0 devices to the hub. You should be able to see everything then. If not, we can go from there.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2020, 03:55 PM
GrtWhtBuffalo GrtWhtBuffalo is offline
Registered User
GrtWhtBuffalo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1035043
GrtWhtBuffalo Reputation: 10
Default

I guess a USB splitter is the wrong terminology. I have a USB hub, not the NZXT brand but it looks very similar but with only two USB 2.0 slots on it.

I only had corsair link for an hour to troubleshoot and see if it would register.

Both the AIO and the NoPro have sata power. I have unplugged and plugged them back in to ensure a good connection.Everything works, fans, pump, lights, but all that icue can detect is the AIO and my ram.

I decided to buy a USB3.1 to 2.0 connector.I'll unplug my front panel usb's/audio and see if icue will register the nopro on a dedicated mobo usb slot. The computer sees the nopro is there because when i unplug the microusb? macro, idk whatever that connection is, it makes that ding noise like plugging in a flash drive.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2020, 10:20 AM
GrtWhtBuffalo GrtWhtBuffalo is offline
Registered User
GrtWhtBuffalo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1035580
GrtWhtBuffalo Reputation: 10
Default

I added a commander pro and took the USB from the AIO cooler and plugged into the commander pro. I can now see everything and control everything from iCue.

I am now getting the USb disconnected and connected sound sporadically. Only the AIO cooler lights will go out and then come back. Usually only a second or two of off time. The other three fans not associated to the AIO stay lit as well as my MOBO and GPU lights.

I have changed where the pump and Commander Pro get their SATA [ower but that has not fixed the issue. Could this be a hardware issue? The cooler is a H100i Pro SE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2020, 11:27 AM
GrtWhtBuffalo GrtWhtBuffalo is offline
Registered User
GrtWhtBuffalo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1035584
GrtWhtBuffalo Reputation: 10
Default

I also noticed the speed of my fans not connected to the AIO were fluctuating quite a bit. I uninstalled icue and the fans are now running at a constant speed and the AIO does not disconnect/reconnect.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-20-2020, 01:51 PM
xMacias xMacias is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 334
POST ID # = 1035594
xMacias Reputation: 20
Default

How many USB headers do you have on your motherboard? If you have 2, try connecting the AIO cooler directly to the motherboard. Then the Lighting Node Pro to the Commander Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-24-2020, 11:01 AM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 118
POST ID # = 1035897
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

I've never had lighting node pro's appear in iCUE, just Commander Pro's.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-24-2020, 12:39 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,407
POST ID # = 1035911
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrtWhtBuffalo View Post
I also noticed the speed of my fans not connected to the AIO were fluctuating quite a bit. I uninstalled icue and the fans are now running at a constant speed and the AIO does not disconnect/reconnect.
That sounds like a fan curve based on the CPU temperature. This is typically not recommended for case fans or AIO fans - and it's not something that you need to do with a CoPro as it has temp sensors that are absolutely great to use as the source for your fan curve.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2020, 07:22 PM
GrtWhtBuffalo GrtWhtBuffalo is offline
Registered User
GrtWhtBuffalo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1038613
GrtWhtBuffalo Reputation: 10
Default

A little late, but after removing icue all of my fans are running smoothly and I do not have the random "ding" sound of a usb being unplugged and then plugged back in. Everything has been running smoothly without icue. It is a little frustrating not to have the monitoring or color choices, but until I have more time to dig into it I guess this will just have to do. I did go into bios to ensure Asus mobo wasn't trying to control fans, and it was not.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-24-2020, 12:49 AM
Baio Baio is offline
Registered User
Baio's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 186
POST ID # = 1038626
Baio Reputation: 16
Default

How can mobo control the fans if they are connected to the CoPro?
I'd rather check in the BIOS if every USB-related control is active.

If I were in your shoes i'd rather install iCue again and try to solve the problem... obviously time is necessary.

1) double check your configuration and connections. As far as I understand what you wrote, you have 1 CoPro, 1 RGB hub, 3 LL 120 RGB fans and an AIO. If you're still using the Lighting Node Pro, remove it as it's pleonastic. A CoPro is a LNP+fan hub, and you don't need 2 LNPs.

So the right connections should be:

RGB => plug all RGB fan cables into the RGB hub, then connect it to LED port 1 of the CoPro. Pay attention to use ports 1, 2 and 3 of the RGB hub, don't skip any port.
RPM => plug all RPM fan cables to the CoPro fan ports. Skip one of those ports is not mandantory but I'd use the first 3 ports anyway
USB => plug the USB cable from the AIO into USB port 1 of the CoPro, then the CoPro USB cable into a motherboard USB 2.0 header. Look your mobo's manual carefully, some manufacturers often use "half" headers but Corsair's stuff need a full one.
AIO => don't know your AIO well, but there should be a double fan header to plug RPM fan cables into, then a fan cable to plug into the motherboard to read pump speed.
SATA POWER => don't use Y splitters for those cables but plug them directly into cables from you PSU, it's very important.

2) If you still experience USB disconnects, try to hard reset the CoPro by the pinhole procedure. Check if there is an avaliable firmware upgrade first.

3) install iCue and go into the AIO section. Set a custom fan curve binding it not to the CPU temperature sensor but to the AIO's liquid temperatur sensor... this should resolve the fans spikes issue.

If you're still experiencing the USB disconnect issue, you may try to use an internal USB hub and see if it helps.
And check if there are newer USB drivers for your mobo... I'd rather reinstall them even if it's not a new version.

Can't think of anything else at the moment...

Baio
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-26-2020, 06:56 AM
GrtWhtBuffalo GrtWhtBuffalo is offline
Registered User
GrtWhtBuffalo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1038868
GrtWhtBuffalo Reputation: 10
Default

Everything was connected as you had said already. I did not realize that the default fan curves were based off CPU temp. I was trying to find how to change it, but making my own curves solved the fan speeding up and slowing down problem. I also found the USB in device manager to be corrupt. I re-installed it and the cooler pops back up in icue.

Unfortunately, the USB disconnect/connect issue is still a problem. Upon further research it looks like a lot of people are having it. To clarify, my computer makes the usb disconnect and then connect right after and my AIO H100i Plat. cooler light flickers. There are many posts about this issue.

Like this post
https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthr...i+platinum+usb

So until corsair fixes this I guess i'm out of luck. On a side note is it normal for CPU temp to jump like crazy? At 3% load in a 16 degree (C) ambient room my coolant temp is 28 degrees (c) but my cpu temp is jumping between 39 and 49 degrees (C)?

Last edited by GrtWhtBuffalo; 03-26-2020 at 07:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-26-2020, 12:12 PM
Baio Baio is offline
Registered User
Baio's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 186
POST ID # = 1038886
Baio Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrtWhtBuffalo View Post
Everything was connected as you had said already. I did not realize that the default fan curves were based off CPU temp. I was trying to find how to change it, but making my own curves solved the fan speeding up and slowing down problem. I also found the USB in device manager to be corrupt. I re-installed it and the cooler pops back up in icue.

Unfortunately, the USB disconnect/connect issue is still a problem. Upon further research it looks like a lot of people are having it. To clarify, my computer makes the usb disconnect and then connect right after and my AIO H100i Plat. cooler light flickers. There are many posts about this issue.

Like this post
https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthr...i+platinum+usb

So until corsair fixes this I guess i'm out of luck. On a side note is it normal for CPU temp to jump like crazy? At 3% load in a 16 degree (C) ambient room my coolant temp is 28 degrees (c) but my cpu temp is jumping between 39 and 49 degrees (C)?
Yes, the USB connect/disconnect problem affects a certain number of users… sorry for you.
Which CPU do you have in your system? If it's a Ryzen (1 or 2) it's absolutely normal.

Baio
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-27-2020, 07:34 AM
GrtWhtBuffalo GrtWhtBuffalo is offline
Registered User
GrtWhtBuffalo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1038974
GrtWhtBuffalo Reputation: 10
Default

It's is a ryzen 7 2700X, I did some research and it does seem normal. Thank you for your help, I guess I'll just live with the USB sound for as long as I can. I may talk to corsair to see if I can exchange it for something that ruin game and movie sounds.A little disheartening, first build and it looked so good.

Once again thanks for all the help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.