The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2020, 01:23 PM
Grungefadedn94 Grungefadedn94 is offline
Registered User
Grungefadedn94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1036023
Grungefadedn94 Reputation: 10
Default iCUE “Quiet” “Balenced” and “Extreme” filters not ramping up h100i fan rpm

I’ve been dealing this problem for months, contacted Corsair multiple times, submitted Reddit posts, but still can’t figure out what the issue is. When I select my “h100i platinum se” tab on iCUE, I’ll go to performance and select one of the 3 default performance filters “Quiet, Balenced and Extreme” and none of them seem to be ramping up my h100i fans (White LL120’s) rpm higher then 800RPM. It’s almost as if iCUE isn’t recognizing the LL120’s max rpm or something. However when I make a custom fan curve for my h100i fans, they ramp up fine, hitting the max 2200rpm. I also have 4 other white LL120’s connected to a Corsair Commander Pro but those don’t have this problem. It’s just my h100i platinum se connected fans. Any ideas on how to fix this? I’ve provided a video I submitted to the Corsair Reddit page illustrating the issue...https://www.reddit.com/r/Corsair/com...tm_name=iossmf
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2020, 01:48 PM
xMacias xMacias is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 334
POST ID # = 1036025
xMacias Reputation: 20
Default

Hi, in that reddit thread, one user points out that your coolant temperature is also low. The preset curves are running off of your coolant temperature and I believe it starts ramping up around 30 some degrees C. It does seem pretty low for a 9900K running 100%, so I would make sure you have good contact with the CPU/Cold Plate and see how long it takes for the coolant to heat up.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2020, 01:50 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,416
POST ID # = 1036026
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

There's nothing to fix; it's operating as it should.

The fan speeds are based on the coolant temperature, not the CPU temperature. As your coolant temp isn't really increase, neither are your fans. The built-in curves won't start ramping up the fans significantly when the coolant is at 26C.

This is the correct (and desired) behavior.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2020, 02:06 PM
Grungefadedn94 Grungefadedn94 is offline
Registered User
Grungefadedn94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1036028
Grungefadedn94 Reputation: 10
Default

So at what temperature should my pump be before my AIO fans start to ramp up? I’ve noticed after playing Modern Warfare for a while that my speeds didn’t change even with my pump temp at around 30-33c. I should also prob mention that my rig is set up in my basement where the ambient temps get pretty cool especially since it’s winter. The Corsair rep that responded to my email told me to delete iCUE, delete the app data folders and to run ccleaner then install again which led me to believe this was an actual issue which is why I asked.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2020, 02:12 PM
Grungefadedn94 Grungefadedn94 is offline
Registered User
Grungefadedn94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1036030
Grungefadedn94 Reputation: 10
Default

i had my sons i7-7700k being cooled by a h150i upstairs and when I set his iCUE performance filters to extreme, they seemed to ramp up all the way to max which was 2200-2600rpm. This previous experience with the software was one of the reasons I raised concern. However someone else pointed out the default performance filters were controlled by the pumps liquid temps but also during the video, I had prime95 running for a bit which I would expect raise my pump coolant temps significantly.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-25-2020, 02:46 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,416
POST ID # = 1036033
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grungefadedn94 View Post
i had my sons i7-7700k being cooled by a h150i upstairs and when I set his iCUE performance filters to extreme, they seemed to ramp up all the way to max which was 2200-2600rpm. This previous experience with the software was one of the reasons I raised concern. However someone else pointed out the default performance filters were controlled by the pumps liquid temps but also during the video, I had prime95 running for a bit which I would expect raise my pump coolant temps significantly.
It will. Eventually. It takes some time. That video really wasn't very long. Run it for an hour. Then you'll see the temps increase. And they did increase in that video by a couple of degrees. When your starting point is 24-25C, you have a ways to heat up before the fans ramp up.

Also, the ambient temp of that room will have an impact. I'm going to guess that room is quite chilly. On your son's system, I'm going to venture to guess that his coolant temps were in the 30's and his starting point was higher.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-25-2020, 03:00 PM
Grungefadedn94 Grungefadedn94 is offline
Registered User
Grungefadedn94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1036034
Grungefadedn94 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
It will. Eventually. It takes some time. That video really wasn't very long. Run it for an hour. Then you'll see the temps increase. And they did increase in that video by a couple of degrees. When your starting point is 24-25C, you have a ways to heat up before the fans ramp up.

Also, the ambient temp of that room will have an impact. I'm going to guess that room is quite chilly. On your son's system, I'm going to venture to guess that his coolant temps were in the 30's and his starting point was higher.
This is correct. He’s upstairs where the heater operates. And yes the downstairs is like the antarctic which was one of the reasons I set up everything down there to keep a lot of my components running cooler. I guess it worked a little too well.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-25-2020, 03:38 PM
kndll kndll is offline
Registered User
kndll's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1036039
kndll Reputation: 10
Default

I had this same problem , fan rpm at 600 no matter what the load was or room temp , balanced or extreme never changed rpm , A SIMPLE FORCED FIRMWARE UPDATE fixed it even though there is no update .
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2020, 04:20 PM
Grungefadedn94 Grungefadedn94 is offline
Registered User
Grungefadedn94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1036043
Grungefadedn94 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kndll View Post
I had this same problem , fan rpm at 600 no matter what the load was or room temp , balanced or extreme never changed rpm , A SIMPLE FORCED FIRMWARE UPDATE fixed it even though there is no update .
Interesting. What firmware version did you update to get it to work?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-25-2020, 07:48 PM
kndll kndll is offline
Registered User
kndll's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1036063
kndll Reputation: 10
Default

current one , just refreshed it
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-26-2020, 01:20 PM
KnightArch's Avatar
KnightArch KnightArch is offline
Registered User
KnightArch's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Brasil
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 1036106
KnightArch Reputation: 10
Default

Well, I have the same issue here with my H115i and my solution was disconnect the fans from the watercooler and plug them on the motherboard, tried several possible workaround but no one worked. I have currently no firmware update available to download and install so I think I'll be using this "solution" for the watercooler lifetime...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-03-2020, 06:59 PM
jamie1073 jamie1073 is offline
Registered User
jamie1073's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 1036707
jamie1073 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightArch View Post
Well, I have the same issue here with my H115i and my solution was disconnect the fans from the watercooler and plug them on the motherboard, tried several possible workaround but no one worked. I have currently no firmware update available to download and install so I think I'll be using this "solution" for the watercooler lifetime...
You can create your own fan curve profile in iCue and have it based off of CPU temp. That is what I ended up doing so I could get my fans to spin faster as CPU temp rose so that the coolant temp would rise more slowly under heavy load or stay pretty close to the same temp for most uses. I find that you can not add a custom profile to the pump speeds though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
h100i platinum se, icue, ll120, performance mode, rpm pump h100i

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.