Corsair Community

[Question] H150i Pro RGB Fan Setup - Push Pull

juanwill

I'm thinking about getting the H150i Pro AIO, and then mounting a second set of three corsair RGB fans to it. I'm looking at either the ML120 RGBs or the HD120s for the second set of fans on the radiator, as the LL120s do not have that light ring on the back side. I'm going to use three LL140 fans for exhaust on the top/rear of my case instead.

I've never done a push pull config before, so I was wondering which set of fans (the ML120 RGBs or the HD120s) would better suited for push pull along with the three included ML120s that came with the AIO?

I understand that I would need two Corsair RGB lighting hubs, 1 for the set of LL fans, and another for the set of HD/ML RGB fans. I would then connect each lighting hub to the two channels on the Corsair Commander Pro. Would I then connect the included ML120 (non-rgb fans from AIO) to the three pwm connectors on the AIO, and then connect PWMs for the other six fans (3x LL140s, 3x ML120 RGB/3x HD120) to the Corsair Commander Pro?

Any help is appreciated!

What made you choose to set the fans to exhaust rather than intake?

In physics, the second law of thermodynamics says that heat flows naturally from an object at

a higher temperature to an object at a lower temperature, and heat doesn’t flow in the

opposite direction of its own accord.

Unless sophisticated refrigeration is employed it would be impossible for the temperature within a computer case to be lower than the ambient temperature (the temperature surrounding the case)

Therefore drawing warm air from within the case through a radiator will be less effective

than drawing cooler ambient air, from outside, through the radiator fins to exchange the heat.

Corsair know the laws of thermal dynamics that is why they recommend fans be set to intake air

not exhaust unless you have special cooling case properties.