The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 01-30-2018, 12:27 AM
Hex. Hex. is offline
Registered User
Hex.'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 938022
Hex. Reputation: 10
Default

That's a bit annoying...

Hopefully Corsair/you can find a good fix. :D
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 02-09-2018, 03:57 AM
Hex. Hex. is offline
Registered User
Hex.'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 939802
Hex. Reputation: 10
Default

Does corsair support ever view these forums :c
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 02-20-2018, 05:58 PM
PabloEsco PabloEsco is offline
Registered User
PabloEsco's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 941550
PabloEsco Reputation: 10
Default

I just ran into this same crash loop with Corsair Link 4. I can't seem to find the cause nor find a fix at the moment. The hardware seems to be 100% fine, easily controllable with SIV. Presumably DevBiker is right and it's an issue software sided. The crash seems to come from Link's background service that runs along side the client GUI.

Quote:
2018-02-20 13:48:26.3345 | 9 | DESKTOP-816GVVS | 4.9.5.25 | App | ->
System.Exception: Can't start ManagementEventWatcher
at CorsairLink4.Common.PowerManagementWatcher.<Start>d__0.MoveNext()
--- End of stack trace from previous location where exception was thrown ---
at System.Runtime.CompilerServices.AsyncMethodBuilderCore.<>c.<ThrowAsync>b__6_1(Object state)
at System.Threading.QueueUserWorkItemCallback.WaitCallback_Context(Object state)
at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
at System.Threading.QueueUserWorkItemCallback.System.Threading.IThreadPoolWorkItem.ExecuteWorkItem()
at System.Threading.ThreadPoolWorkQueue.Dispatch()
at System.Threading._ThreadPoolWaitCallback.PerformWaitCallback()
(no hijack, just adding along)
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 02-20-2018, 06:14 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,398
POST ID # = 941553
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Interesting. We're starting to see some instances of this; I'm going to try to collect logs to see if there's a pattern.

This, however, is from when the service is attempting to attach to a WMI query that would notify it of a power event (sleep, etc) ... and it's failing (after like 50 tries or something crazy like that).

This really shouldn't happen ... unless your WMI database is corrupted - something that is far more common than one would imagine.

Can you take a look at this: https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/...ption-or-not/?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 02-20-2018, 07:15 PM
PabloEsco PabloEsco is offline
Registered User
PabloEsco's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 941557
PabloEsco Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Interesting. We're starting to see some instances of this; I'm going to try to collect logs to see if there's a pattern.

This, however, is from when the service is attempting to attach to a WMI query that would notify it of a power event (sleep, etc) ... and it's failing (after like 50 tries or something crazy like that).

This really shouldn't happen ... unless your WMI database is corrupted - something that is far more common than one would imagine.

Can you take a look at this: https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/...ption-or-not/?
E-yup, that sounds about right then. I ran a wmidiag test yesterday and noticed a few WBEM_E_INVALID_CLASS errors along with a few others.

I'll attempt to repair the WMI repository when I get back from class.
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 02-21-2018, 01:20 AM
PabloEsco PabloEsco is offline
Registered User
PabloEsco's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 941588
PabloEsco Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Interesting. We're starting to see some instances of this; I'm going to try to collect logs to see if there's a pattern.

This, however, is from when the service is attempting to attach to a WMI query that would notify it of a power event (sleep, etc) ... and it's failing (after like 50 tries or something crazy like that).

This really shouldn't happen ... unless your WMI database is corrupted - something that is far more common than one would imagine.

Can you take a look at this: https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/...ption-or-not/?
I attempted around five different methods to repair/rebuild/reset the WMI repository, none of the methods worked -- WMIDiag consistently threw out fatal errors that point towards corruptions. This is really odd, because I even tried to invoke a whole repository rebuild, uninstalling anything not Corsair before doing so, and still the repo appeared to be corrupted.

Took one for the team and did a full system reset to scrub everything clean, essentially back to stock Windows. Corsair Link 4 of course works without flaw now.

Note; At the time I also had XTU installed, I noticed that it too stopped working properly (showing an alert and exiting out due to errors). Unrelated to Corsair but may be related to the WMI corruption.

Last edited by PabloEsco; 02-21-2018 at 02:24 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 03-05-2018, 02:30 PM
SgtDeathAdder SgtDeathAdder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 943520
SgtDeathAdder Reputation: 10
Default

Hi guys, I found this thread since my Corsair Link software stopped detecting my hardware, I recently installed the Asus AI Suite 3.

Corsair Link was working well before this, just wanted to report that the Asus software might be causing this issue, I'm uninstalling both and will report back what happens

EDIT: Uninstalled Ai Suite and restarted the PC, now the Corsair Link is working back to normal

https://prnt.sc/in8qyy

Last edited by SgtDeathAdder; 03-05-2018 at 02:39 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 03-05-2018, 05:44 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,398
POST ID # = 943558
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SgtDeathAdder View Post
Hi guys, I found this thread since my Corsair Link software stopped detecting my hardware, I recently installed the Asus AI Suite 3.

Corsair Link was working well before this, just wanted to report that the Asus software might be causing this issue, I'm uninstalling both and will report back what happens

EDIT: Uninstalled Ai Suite and restarted the PC, now the Corsair Link is working back to normal

https://prnt.sc/in8qyy
Thanks! Yup ... AI Suite is often a suspect. Love the Asus hardware ... really dislike their software tools.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 04-06-2018, 02:09 PM
mb7756 mb7756 is offline
Registered User
mb7756's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 948864
mb7756 Reputation: 10
Default

Just in case this helps anyone- I was also unable to uninstall/upgrade/install the latest Corsair LINK. I tried a variety of things and nothing worked. However this DID work for me: In the Windows 10 Virus and threat protection settings, I temporarily turned off "Real-time protection". As soon as I switched this off, I was able to successfully install Corsair Link (before I was getting the crash when running the installer). Hope this helps!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
corsair link, fans

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.