The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-27-2018, 06:27 AM
EchoRunner EchoRunner is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 960989
EchoRunner Reputation: 10
Default HS70 Mic Issues

Hi all,

I just yesterday received my new Corsair HS70 Headset and was pretty impressed with the audio on them, with one hiccup.

All of my friends on discord, steam chat and battle net voice chat and they all said the mic quality sounded absolutely terrible.

I have recorded voice clips on my PC locally and it sounds fine, Uploaded them to a google drive and they still sounded fine. But my friends say that the clips when sent over discord sound really quiet though much better quality than I do when I join the actual chat room.

I have reinstalled ICUE several times and re plugged the receiver several times.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-27-2018, 12:33 PM
Corsair Mint's Avatar
Corsair Mint Corsair Mint is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 857
POST ID # = 961048
Corsair Mint Reputation: 31
Default

Hi EchoRunner,

This is a little harder to test if you're hearing it fine but they say it isn't. Namely, you'll want to actually hear what they do, to see if it's an issue with the headset itself or if some settings in the chat apps are affecting your microphone.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-14-2018, 11:56 PM
Fenor Fenor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 968597
Fenor Reputation: 10
Default

I know this is an old thread but i have this same exact problem. It sounds fine for me when i listen to records but my friends say i sound far away and its not good.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-15-2018, 03:30 PM
Corsair Mint's Avatar
Corsair Mint Corsair Mint is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 857
POST ID # = 968726
Corsair Mint Reputation: 31
Default

Also, it may sound goofy, but make sure you have the mic inserted firmly and fully into the headset. I've made the mistake before of just partially inserting the mic and didn't get proper performance.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-15-2018, 06:32 PM
Fenor Fenor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 968753
Fenor Reputation: 10
Default

The mic is fully in and still it sounds bad.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-15-2018, 08:41 PM
Fenor Fenor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 968772
Fenor Reputation: 10
Default

Nevermind my friends were just heavily over exaggerating to the point where they said i sound like im in a box/trunk. I now run into the problem where i cant convince them that my mic is actually decent. They somehow prefer my webcam mic.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 08-16-2018, 08:55 PM
xtrimcs xtrimcs is offline
Registered User
xtrimcs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 968981
xtrimcs Reputation: 10
Default

Hello Fenor,

You didn't really mention what app you were using to chat with your friends. Skype has a Echo/Sound test you can try. For discord I highly recommend using this unusual but very useful test : https://www.reddit.com/r/discordapp/...ne_in_discord/ this way you can actually compare HS70 mic vs Laptop Mic/Webcam Mic and also adjust settings(echo noise gain whatever) on the fly and be ready for your next online voice chat.

I agree the mic on this headset is not great but it should surely do the job better than built in mic.

Good luck

Last edited by xtrimcs; 08-16-2018 at 09:04 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-30-2018, 09:11 PM
dav3evans dav3evans is offline
Registered User
dav3evans's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 987629
dav3evans Reputation: 10
Default

Bit of an old thread now but I had this same issue and got to the bottom of why it sounds so trash. Annoyingly I can't find a fix at the minute though, but felt like people needed this for reference.

When you have an input device in Windows, you can set the audio quality, if you go to the device settings, then the advanced tab, by default it's set at "Telephone Quality". On my old headset, one that rhymes with Smodgitech, you can change this to "DVD Quality" and the sound is much improved.

With the Corsair one, no matter how many times you change this, it jumps back to "Telephone Quality" when the window closes.

Image for reference:

This makes the headset utterly useless for me. No-one can hear what I'm saying which is kinda the point of the microphone. Personally I'm going to return mine and look for another option, which is a shame as I wanted to have all of my peripherals unified under one brand - I'm a completionist that way

If anyone else manages to fix this please let me know, I would love to keep my headset, but at the minute the performance is awful
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.