The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) 1.x and 2.x

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2018, 01:26 AM
neo189 neo189 is offline
Registered User
neo189's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 953738
neo189 Reputation: 10
Default CUE and Steam incompatibility & controller freezing issue FIX.

So about a month ago I received my k63 wireless keyboard and dark core mouse and shortly after a wired void pro headset. Best keyboard, mouse, and headset I've used, hands down BUT I had a problem that plagued me for almost the entire month I had it. I searched and searched for a solution, even reinstalled windows 10 thinking my OS was broken/corrupted. Took me like 2 weeks before I figured out it was CUE/ Corsair Drivers conflicting with Steam and causing my Xbox One controller to constantly freeze up mid game and become unresponsive, as well as Steam itself freezing up frequently. Also caused a lot of weird disconnects with my other USB devices. Did a lot of research and sounds like it's a known issue, Corsair knows about it and is doing it's best to get a fix out but sounded like the Steam people weren't much help. Steam is the culprit but Corsair says it might take a couple months to fix on their end. I updated to the latest beta update of both CUE and Steam, but the problem still persists. A thread of another user gave me a clue where he narrowed it down a driver in the device manager that was causing it but I don't believe he messed with it thinking that it might cause more problems. The name is Corsair virtual input device. I wondered what would happen if I uninstalled disabled it(if worst came to worse I could just uninstall the drivers and do a clean install) It wouldn't let me disable it at first so I uninstalled it and clicked the box that says delete driver software. It disappeared for a moment then came back with a yellow mark then I went back into properties and was finally able to disable it. Restarted my PC and I was expecting that one of my corsair devices would stop working but my mouse, keyboard, and headset still work fine. I don't use all of the advanced features in the CUE software so there might be some things that don't work that I haven't tried but so far so good. Lighting still works too. And now Steam and the Xbox One controller work perfectly. Took me so long to figure out and I didn't feel like waiting for an patch/update and figured I would save other people the trouble I went through.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-08-2018, 11:45 AM
yellowblanka yellowblanka is offline
Registered User
yellowblanka's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 62
POST ID # = 953795
yellowblanka Reputation: 10
Default

1.) It's definitely not a Steam issue as they've claimed - it's an issue with their drivers/CUE...I've verified this by completely closing steam and still having any program that queried ANY USB controller freeze up my system (even the USB control panel) as long as the USB controller AND my K55 keyboard controller were plugged into the same system at the same time (Even bought a powered hub, so it's not a power/mobo issue) - unplugging the keyboard caused the system to instantly become responsive.

2.) The only way to "solve" this issue was to disable their HID drivers - unfortunately, as you've probably already found out, this locks the keyboard into the default lighting pattern and disables any extra functionality (media keys, macros, custom lighting etc. all require the HID drivers/CUE software).

So I'm left with the option of my "gaming" keyboard becoming a basic keyboard with zero extra functionality or physically unplugging the keyboard before launching a game that uses a USB controller. Corsairs "solution" to this problem is to pass the buck to Valve, rather than admit there's a problem with their drivers/firmware and actually implement a competent testing procedure to fix it for their paying customers. I have NEVER had issues like this with any other peripheral.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-08-2018, 02:27 PM
MongoJon MongoJon is offline
Registered User
MongoJon's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 953809
MongoJon Reputation: 10
Default

I have the same problem. My Thrustmaster TX becomes highly unstable and the game controller program (joy.cpl) does not start or freezes (not responding). But once I disable or remove CUE it's all fine and dandy again. I sure hope this issue is soon resolved.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-08-2018, 02:57 PM
neo189 neo189 is offline
Registered User
neo189's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 953822
neo189 Reputation: 10
Default

So it does appear that macros no longer work with my fix but all the lighting presets still do. Which I can live with since I only used a couple of macros for 1 or 2 games. Mouse DPI settings still work too. So I think it's a fair trade off since I use my controller a lot more than the keyboard and mouse. If someone comes across this thread in a month or two and can confirm that this issue has finally been fixed please let me know.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-08-2018, 03:01 PM
neo189 neo189 is offline
Registered User
neo189's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 953824
neo189 Reputation: 10
Default

If corsair had older drivers archived for download I wonder if you could find an older driver for the corsair virtual input device that doesn't have this issue and replace the driver while keeping the newest version of CUE? But it doesn't seem like they allow driver downloads outside of whats included the the CUE software...
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-09-2018, 12:48 AM
yellowblanka yellowblanka is offline
Registered User
yellowblanka's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 62
POST ID # = 953885
yellowblanka Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neo189 View Post
If corsair had older drivers archived for download I wonder if you could find an older driver for the corsair virtual input device that doesn't have this issue and replace the driver while keeping the newest version of CUE? But it doesn't seem like they allow driver downloads outside of whats included the the CUE software...
I don't know if that would change anything...it sounds like something with USB polling was changed in more recent Windows updates, and they never modified their drivers to compensate for this, so it creates some resource/assignment contention or something when USB controllers are plugged in simultaneously. They definitely need to fix this, but as long as they continue to maintain that it's a "Valve" problem, and not an obvious flaw with THEIR HID drivers, nothing will change.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-09-2018, 07:04 AM
MongoJon MongoJon is offline
Registered User
MongoJon's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 953914
MongoJon Reputation: 10
Default

This definately has nothing to do with Steam/Valve. I had this problem even before Steam was installed on my computer.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-10-2018, 12:45 AM
Stratofied Stratofied is offline
Registered User
Stratofied's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 954004
Stratofied Reputation: 10
Default

In the short term I have disabled all dynamic lighting and use only Static lighting on my mouse and keyboard, this allows me to use my controller without it crashing Steam but if I enable my RGB lighting it goes back to crashing.

It is definitely not a Steam issue, as they have been informed of and ignored multiple times. It also has caused issues with the Blizzard Launcher taking a much longer time to open, causing Dark Souls 3 to black screen when first opened, etc.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-19-2018, 04:53 PM
avalach21 avalach21 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 959874
avalach21 Reputation: 10
Default

Has anyone found a solution to this? I am also having what sounds like the same issue except it happens when I try to load certain emulators (Retroarch, Dolphin etc.) If I have the USB receiver dongle plugged in, they will hang indefinitely (Not Responding) but as soon as I unplug the USB dongle, they begin operating normally.

I'm surprised no one mentioned but a usable workaround is to use the K63 in Bluetooth mode. I would obviously like the product to work in normal mode without causing major issues with other applications tho.. any word on a fix?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-09-2018, 11:52 AM
cxmachi cxmachi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 962756
cxmachi Reputation: 10
Default

If you check my post history, you'll see that it's been a battle for Corsair to even own up to this being their issue and not Steam. Regardless, even if it was a Steam issue, how can you market a gaming keyboard and be incompatible with the leading PC platform out there?

Anyway, if you look at previous threads, they've mentioned that they're addressing this in a CUE firmware update soon (this was months ago). I've since got rid of any Corsair keyboards, so I'm not sure if this update is already out or not. I'm assuming you guys are on the latest firmware and it's not fixed yet.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 07-09-2018, 01:14 PM
neo189 neo189 is offline
Registered User
neo189's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 962764
neo189 Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah I read the same thing where they said they were working on a fix and said it would be out "soon". That was like 6 months ago.. and guess what I just tested to see if the issue was fixed in the latest beta release and... yeah.. no dice. So I have to continue to use the fix I found out about which does indeed solve the issue but makes lighting, dpi, and macros unusable. Thanks for nothing Corsair! I really don't understand... they make such good hardware but can't make software to save their lives.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 07-10-2018, 01:23 PM
avalach21 avalach21 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 962890
avalach21 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neo189 View Post
Yeah I read the same thing where they said they were working on a fix and said it would be out "soon". That was like 6 months ago.. and guess what I just tested to see if the issue was fixed in the latest beta release and... yeah.. no dice. So I have to continue to use the fix I found out about which does indeed solve the issue but makes lighting, dpi, and macros unusable. Thanks for nothing Corsair! I really don't understand... they make such good hardware but can't make software to save their lives.
Hi Neo. What exactly is the fix that you are using? Could you link me or give me a quick explanation?

From reading though this thread, it was mentioned that disabling their HID drivers is a fix.. when I look under HID in device manager I have a ton of things listed and none of them I was able to identify as Corsair. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 07-10-2018, 07:47 PM
neo189 neo189 is offline
Registered User
neo189's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 962955
neo189 Reputation: 10
Default

The items to disable are HID compliant consumer control device, HID compliant system controller, HID compliant vendor defined device. Yes there are many of them and it's hard to determine which belongs to which device but there is an easy way to figure it out. Go to devices and printers find your device go to properties then go to the hardware tab now you can see all of them that are associated with that device and open the properties of each easily and disable them without doing it blindly thru device manager. And if corsair ever fixes this then it's super easy to undo.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 07-10-2018, 08:51 PM
neo189 neo189 is offline
Registered User
neo189's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 962958
neo189 Reputation: 10
Default

I forgot to mention, I am not sure whether you would have to still do what I said to do in my very first post in conjunction with my "newer" fixes. Keep that in mind. Also if you want to completely undo all the fixes and simply re-enabling everything doesn't work then just uninstall CUE/ICUE then reinstall it that should reset everything but unless they fix it then you will probably end up having to apply these fixes again.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 08-02-2018, 06:07 AM
Under Under is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 966656
Under Reputation: 10
Default

I bought K55 about a week ago but when I connect it, Steam crashes if I use a controller at the same time. So frustrating. I disconnect the keyboard, and replace it with a G19 from Logitech and everything works just fine.
Have you heard if Corsair are working on a fix, or if the only way to fix it is by using non Corsair products? I need my macros, and I need to use Steam with controller on a daily basis…
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.