The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2018, 08:28 PM
doorknob12349 doorknob12349 is offline
Registered User
doorknob12349's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 936316
doorknob12349 Reputation: 10
Default Commander Pro PWM Splitter issue

Just revived the 2nd Commander Pro (Exchanged the first one), this was to replace the Commander Mini for the Led control on it.

Currently i have 3 fans at the top of my case and 4 on the bottom each group is plugged into the Powered PWM splitter connected to fan 2 and fan 3. Front Fan on Fan 1 and a EK pump (pump has its own power) and Fan 6.

The commander Pro fails to control PWM on the splitter, i get erratic fan speeds jumping around from 400-4000 on a fan that can only do 1450. Also this tends to make teh pump Rpms jump around as well. The direct attached fans seem to work fine.

The above configuration has been working for the past year on my mini with no issues. Also if i use SIV everything works on PWM with options set to 0 and i can control the speed as expected.

Is there an issue with the Corsair link software with the commander pro? or am i hitting a limit on the corsair commander pro that the mini doesn't have?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-19-2018, 08:43 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,535
POST ID # = 936318
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Hmmm ... we've seen a number of these. I also had issues with absolutely insane fan speeds reported from a PWM->DC splitter. But I didn't see it impact the pump speeds ... are you controlling your pump from the PWM splitter as well?
I'm beginning to think that there may be an issue with the CoPro and splitters.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-19-2018, 08:52 PM
doorknob12349 doorknob12349 is offline
Registered User
doorknob12349's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 936319
doorknob12349 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Hmmm ... we've seen a number of these. I also had issues with absolutely insane fan speeds reported from a PWM->DC splitter. But I didn't see it impact the pump speeds ... are you controlling your pump from the PWM splitter as well?
I'm beginning to think that there may be an issue with the CoPro and splitters.
The EK pump is on fan header 6 of the commander pro. should also note that ive tested this with Silverstone and XSPC splitter both have the same result. i have a swifttech one arriving today.

The reason i switched to the pro was for the new led controller. but I'm starting to lean towards returning the pro and just 2-3 led nodes and the NZXT usb hub which i was hoping to avoid that cable nightmare.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-19-2018, 09:05 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,535
POST ID # = 936321
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doorknob12349 View Post
The EK pump is on fan header 6 of the commander pro. should also note that ive tested this with Silverstone and XSPC splitter both have the same result. i have a swifttech one arriving today.

The reason i switched to the pro was for the new led controller. but I'm starting to lean towards returning the pro and just 2-3 led nodes and the NZXT usb hub which i was hoping to avoid that cable nightmare.
Sooooo ... I just tried this with the Silverstone PWM controller and a couple of ML-120 fans ... perfect.

If the EK is on a header by itself, it seems odd that the issue with the PWM hub would impact it. I'm not saying that it ain't so ... it just seems odd. What do you have the control value for the pump speed set to on the CoPro?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-19-2018, 09:30 PM
doorknob12349 doorknob12349 is offline
Registered User
doorknob12349's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 936327
doorknob12349 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Sooooo ... I just tried this with the Silverstone PWM controller and a couple of ML-120 fans ... perfect.

If the EK is on a header by itself, it seems odd that the issue with the PWM hub would impact it. I'm not saying that it ain't so ... it just seems odd. What do you have the control value for the pump speed set to on the CoPro?
Odd, here is my setup i have the Fans speeds 1-3 set to change rpm based on temp, Fan 6 is set to 40%. i have tried to fix % on fans 1-3 with the same results.
  • 1 ML140 PWM > Fan 1 (Fan speed based on M.2 temp)
    3 SP120 PWM Quite > Silverstone CPF04 > Fan 2 (Fan speed based on Coolant Temp)
    4 SP120 PWM Quite > Silverstone CPF04 > Fan 3 (Fan speed based on Coolant Temp)
    1 EK D5 Pump > Fan 6 (fixed at 40%)


Last edited by doorknob12349; 01-19-2018 at 09:33 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-22-2018, 03:54 PM
doorknob12349 doorknob12349 is offline
Registered User
doorknob12349's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 936810
doorknob12349 Reputation: 10
Default

The image below shows the RPM being incorrectly read or calumniated.

Fan 2 (splitter) says its running at 405rpm, but its saw its spiking to 4470rpm?
Fan3 (splitter) running at 1351rpm but spiking to 16016rpm
Pump (on its own header) should be running at 1932 but spiking to 12172rpm...

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-25-2018, 07:24 AM
Yetti Yetti is offline
Registered User
Yetti's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 937309
Yetti Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doorknob12349 View Post
Just revived the 2nd Commander Pro (Exchanged the first one), this was to replace the Commander Mini for the Led control on it.

Currently i have 3 fans at the top of my case and 4 on the bottom each group is plugged into the Powered PWM splitter connected to fan 2 and fan 3. Front Fan on Fan 1 and a EK pump (pump has its own power) and Fan 6.

The commander Pro fails to control PWM on the splitter, i get erratic fan speeds jumping around from 400-4000 on a fan that can only do 1450. Also this tends to make teh pump Rpms jump around as well. The direct attached fans seem to work fine.

The above configuration has been working for the past year on my mini with no issues. Also if i use SIV everything works on PWM with options set to 0 and i can control the speed as expected.

Is there an issue with the Corsair link software with the commander pro? or am i hitting a limit on the corsair commander pro that the mini doesn't have?
Hi. This is my first time on the forum. I'm interested in this post as I have just ordered a Commander Pro and a 3 pack of LL120 fans that come with a Node Pro.

My intention was to connect the 3 LL120s in fan 1,2&3. so they are pwm controlled and report fan rpm individually. I have a Corsair H45 cooler which will go in fan4 and the pump to non pwm fan header on my motherboard. I have 3 140mm identical Thermaltake led blue only fans in the top which I intend to use a 3 way splitter..hence my interest in this post.

So doorknob...you have 4 fans connected to 1 fan outlet & 3 fans to another fan outlet on the CP.. the first question I would be asking myself is ' have I reached the current limit of the commander Pro?'
The current limit for each fan outlet 1to6 is 1Amp..but the total for all 6 fan outlets must not exceed 4.5 amps...this info is available in the CP manual. So your 4 fans on one outlet and 3 on another.. I would check their current demand else you may damage yr CP.

Re-reported erratic speeds..I'm no engineer...ooops I am lol..but mechanical not electrical... surely if you connect a fan splitter to one of the CP fan outlets how is the Link software able to report accurate fan speeds? If you have multiple fans on the splitter cable which are of different brands or different rpm/motor specs, then I cant see how the CP can report accurate fan rpm speeds to the Link app.. as Link will receive different rpm data for each fan its bound to report erratic rpms...I feel sorry for the CP lol.
Even if all the fans connected to one CP fan outlet are identical...due to manufacturing tolerances each fan will spin at slightly different rpm speeds for a given PWM input...so I ask myself which fan speed is the CP supposed to report!..as far as I can see each one of the 6 fan ports on the CP can only report one speed so its bound to get confused and report spurious rpm speeds when its getting three or four different reported fan speeds from each fan connected to the splitter .."idea" maybe in the next update for the Link app could have an average rpm speed icon/button in case you have multiple fans connected to one CP fan port...or does the CP report an average figure already?...what about it Devs?

You say the CP fails to control the fans rpm using PWM.. I think what your seeing is as above in my previous paragraph..the Link software is reporting erratic speed because the CP is confused as it is constantly getting different rpm speed reports from each fan connected to each splitter ...however I suspect that the CP is indeed controlling each fan speed connected to the splitter cable...it can only send out one signal to either increase or decrease fan speed...so if your 4 and 3 fans connected are identical on each individual splitter then its probably working...may I suggest you monitor (look and listen to them) each group of fans connected to each splitter to see if they increase rpm when u put yr PC under high load...this will confirm or not whether the PWM rpm control signal is getting to each of the fans on each splitter.

How it seemed to work with the 'mini' Ive no idea...maybe other peeps can answer this.

Hope this helps...and ps my answers are only based on logic not technical knowledge.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-25-2018, 08:09 AM
Yetti Yetti is offline
Registered User
Yetti's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 937317
Yetti Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doorknob12349 View Post
Just revived the 2nd Commander Pro (Exchanged the first one), this was to replace the Commander Mini for the Led control on it.

Currently i have 3 fans at the top of my case and 4 on the bottom each group is plugged into the Powered PWM splitter connected to fan 2 and fan 3. Front Fan on Fan 1 and a EK pump (pump has its own power) and Fan 6.

The commander Pro fails to control PWM on the splitter, i get erratic fan speeds jumping around from 400-4000 on a fan that can only do 1450. Also this tends to make teh pump Rpms jump around as well. The direct attached fans seem to work fine.

The above configuration has been working for the past year on my mini with no issues. Also if i use SIV everything works on PWM with options set to 0 and i can control the speed as expected.

Is there an issue with the Corsair link software with the commander pro? or am i hitting a limit on the corsair commander pro that the mini doesn't have?
Hi. This is my first time on the forum. I'm interested in this post as I have just ordered a Commander Pro and a 3 pack of LL120 fans that come with a Node Pro.

My intention was to connect the 3 LL120s in fan 1,2&3. so they are pwm controlled and report fan rpm individually. I have a Corsair H45 cooler which will go in fan4 and the pump to non pwm fan header on my motherboard. I have 3 140mm identical Thermaltake led blue only fans in the top which I intend to use a 3 way splitter..hence my interest in this post.

So doorknob...you have 4 fans connected to 1 fan outlet & 3 fans to another fan outlet on the CP.. the first question I would be asking myself is ' have I reached the current limit of the commander Pro?'
The current limit for each fan outlet 1to6 is 1Amp..but the total for all 6 fan outlets must not exceed 4.5 amps...this info is available in the CP manual. So your 4 fans on one outlet and 3 on another.. I would check their current demand else you may damage yr CP.

Re-reported erratic speeds..I'm no engineer...ooops I am lol..but mechanical not electrical... surely if you connect a fan splitter to one of the CP fan outlets how is the Link software able to report accurate fan speeds? If you have multiple fans on the splitter cable which are of different brands or different rpm/motor specs, then I cant see how the CP can report accurate fan rpm speeds to the Link app.. as Link will receive different rpm data for each fan its bound to report erratic rpms...I feel sorry for the CP lol.
Even if all the fans connected to one CP fan outlet are identical...due to manufacturing tolerances each fan will spin at slightly different rpm speeds for a given PWM input...so I ask myself which fan speed is the CP supposed to report!..as far as I can see each one of the 6 fan ports on the CP can only report one speed so its bound to get confused and report spurious rpm speeds when its getting three or four different reported fan speeds from each fan connected to the splitter .."idea" maybe in the next update for the Link app could have an average rpm speed icon/button in case you have multiple fans connected to one CP fan port...or does the CP report an average figure already?...what about it Devs?

You say the CP fails to control the fans rpm using PWM.. I think what your seeing is as above in my previous paragraph..the Link software is reporting erratic speed because the CP is confused as it is constantly getting different rpm speed reports from each fan connected to each splitter ...however I suspect that the CP is indeed controlling each fan speed connected to the splitter cable...it can only send out one signal to either increase or decrease fan speed...so if your 4 and 3 fans connected are identical on each individual splitter then its probably working...may I suggest you monitor (look and listen to them) each group of fans connected to each splitter to see if they increase rpm when u put yr PC under high load...this will confirm or not whether the PWM rpm control signal is getting to each of the fans on each splitter.

How it seemed to work with the 'mini' Ive no idea...maybe other peeps can answer this.

Doorknob.. U said yr cooler pump was connected to fan 6 on the CP... I don't think cooler pumps are designed to take pwm or voltage control.. I think they're supposed to just take a constant voltage so they run at a constant speed... but I don't know maybe someone who could enlighten me. so I would suggest that you connect your cooler pump to a your PSU or a non pwm or voltage control 3-pin header on your motherboard. Can anyone tell me if my Corsair h45 pump is designed to have a constant supply voltage or pwm or voltage control

Hope this helps...and ps my answers are only based on logic not technical knowledge.

Last edited by Yetti; 01-25-2018 at 08:13 AM. Reason: More pump info
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-25-2018, 10:39 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,535
POST ID # = 937338
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yetti View Post
So doorknob...you have 4 fans connected to 1 fan outlet & 3 fans to another fan outlet on the CP.. the first question I would be asking myself is ' have I reached the current limit of the commander Pro?'
The current limit for each fan outlet 1to6 is 1Amp..but the total for all 6 fan outlets must not exceed 4.5 amps...this info is available in the CP manual. So your 4 fans on one outlet and 3 on another.. I would check their current demand else you may damage yr CP.
Excellent point and right on.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yetti View Post
Re-reported erratic speeds..I'm no engineer...ooops I am lol..but mechanical not electrical... surely if you connect a fan splitter to one of the CP fan outlets how is the Link software able to report accurate fan speeds? If you have multiple fans on the splitter cable which are of different brands or different rpm/motor specs, then I cant see how the CP can report accurate fan rpm speeds to the Link app.. as Link will receive different rpm data for each fan its bound to report erratic rpms...I feel sorry for the CP lol.
Even if all the fans connected to one CP fan outlet are identical...due to manufacturing tolerances each fan will spin at slightly different rpm speeds for a given PWM input...so I ask myself which fan speed is the CP supposed to report!..as far as I can see each one of the 6 fan ports on the CP can only report one speed so its bound to get confused and report spurious rpm speeds when its getting three or four different reported fan speeds from each fan connected to the splitter .."idea" maybe in the next update for the Link app could have an average rpm speed icon/button in case you have multiple fans connected to one CP fan port...or does the CP report an average figure already?...what about it Devs?
Most splitters only report the speed of a single fan on the splitter. If the tach connection reports the tach signal from multiple fans, yeah, it'll be crazy. But, again, most don't. On my CoPro, I actually have splitters on most of the connections (yes, I kept track of the current usage!) and have no issues whatsoever.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yetti View Post
You say the CP fails to control the fans rpm using PWM.. I think what your seeing is as above in my previous paragraph..the Link software is reporting erratic speed because the CP is confused as it is constantly getting different rpm speed reports from each fan connected to each splitter ...however I suspect that the CP is indeed controlling each fan speed connected to the splitter cable...it can only send out one signal to either increase or decrease fan speed...so if your 4 and 3 fans connected are identical on each individual splitter then its probably working...may I suggest you monitor (look and listen to them) each group of fans connected to each splitter to see if they increase rpm when u put yr PC under high load...this will confirm or not whether the PWM rpm control signal is getting to each of the fans on each splitter.
While it's possible, I've seen the same behavior on a PWM-to-DC hub that I used briefly. This hub reported speeds to the motherboard just fine but had crazy speeds when connected to the CoPro. I'm not sure where the issue is but it did go away when I removed the hub.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yetti View Post
Hope this helps...and ps my answers are only based on logic not technical knowledge.
Logic? Logic? The horror! The horror!
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 01-25-2018, 12:08 PM
doorknob12349 doorknob12349 is offline
Registered User
doorknob12349's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 937350
doorknob12349 Reputation: 10
Default

The Silverstone 8-way PWM fans splitters have its own power so i wont be going over the amp on the CP. CH1 on the splitter is the only port that reads PWM it then send that to the CP using pin 3 and 4, the cable that connects the spliter to the CP only has 2 pins (3/4), because pin 1 and 2 arnt there im not drawing any power from the CP.

Also the EK Pump i have is there PWM controlled pump.

All of the above works fine on the commander mini, this seems to only be an issue with the commander pro with the corsairlink software, if i use SIV it works fine.

i use SIV to try and diag the issue, SIV auto sensed the splitters as PWM which is correct, they dont work at all when set to DC.

This diag is very similar to my Silverstone Splitter.
http://www.swiftech.org/images/produ...NNECTIONS2.jpg
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-25-2018, 09:27 PM
doorknob12349 doorknob12349 is offline
Registered User
doorknob12349's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 937430
doorknob12349 Reputation: 10
Default

So i purchased a LL120 RG to test with my silverstone pwm splitter and my current set up. Oddly enough the fan works with the splitter and levels out my sp120 fans.

i test this with all 3 of my splitters and works great.

so its seems like this an issue with the corsair SP120 pwm fans my splitter and the CP.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-25-2018, 10:40 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,535
POST ID # = 937441
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The SP fans aren't PWM. They are DC fans.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 01-26-2018, 02:05 PM
doorknob12349 doorknob12349 is offline
Registered User
doorknob12349's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 937515
doorknob12349 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The SP fans aren't PWM. They are DC fans.
i have the CO-9050013-WW SP120 PWM High Performance Edition, the are PWM the have a 4th pin and work using pwm
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 01-26-2018, 02:47 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,535
POST ID # = 937521
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doorknob12349 View Post
i have the CO-9050013-WW SP120 PWM High Performance Edition, the are PWM the have a 4th pin and work using pwm
Ah! OK. Most of the time when we see "SP" on the forum, it's not that particular variant.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 02-06-2018, 07:13 PM
Yetti Yetti is offline
Registered User
Yetti's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 939428
Yetti Reputation: 10
Default

My main interest in this thread apart from newbie (me) learning about CCP & CLNP was to understand the best way to connect my fans for controlling the RPM of all the fans...the lighting control I set up no problem.

I have 3 LL120s in the front of my case (pretty). 2 Thermaltake none PWM 3pin connection in the top http://www.thermaltake.com/Cooler/Ca...lue/Design.htm
another none PWM 3pin fan in the bottom of the case. Finally a Corsair H45 in the rear (painfull).

The 3 LL120s are connected to the CCP in fan headers 1,2 & 3 and are set in Link to be controlled by system temp...similarly the 2 Thermaltake fans are connected to CCP fan headers 4&5..the CCP in Link seems to report and control thier RPMs correctly. The H45 fan is in CCP fan header six. However the none PWM fan 3pin fan.... so I guess this uses voltage control instead like the 2 Thermaltake fans?... in the bottom of the case cannot be connected to the CCP as all the CCP headers are used up by the other fans...At the moment this bottom fan (that disperses smelly fart smells..lol) that is connected to a motherboard fan header RPM is controlled by SpeedFan from the graphics card GPU..it points directly to the intakes for the graphics card n keep it super cool and kicks from zero RPM in at 60C the same as the Asus GTX 1060 fans.

So finally to my question..I prefer not to use SpeedFan but use Link only via CCP to control all 7 fans. I have a 3 way splitter cable, so Im thinking of trying the splitter on the 3 LL120s to see if that works to free up 2 CCP headers. I'll try testing it tomorrow.

If anyone can suggest the best connection set for what I want to achieve it would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.