The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 12-09-2017, 11:05 AM
doudar doudar is offline
Registered User
doudar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Egypt
Posts: 40
POST ID # = 929795
doudar Reputation: 10
Default

"Mechanical hard disks may not enter sleep state."

does this mean HDDs now spin down normally!??? finally?


  #17  
Old 12-09-2017, 11:31 AM
herman82 herman82 is offline
Registered User
herman82's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 929798
herman82 Reputation: 17
Default

Version: v4.9.3.25
Windows 10 Pro x64

My AX760i that is connected to my H100i (fw: 1.1.3) is not detected, same as previous versions. Last working version: v4.6.0.86

@Technobeard: Can you comfirm that you have seen in this forum that it is not working? Are you aware it is a bug? Why is it not in known bugs? Is it no longer a supported setup?


  #18  
Old 12-09-2017, 11:38 AM
Globespy Globespy is offline
Registered User
Globespy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 929800
Globespy Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for fixing the start minimized issue, much appreciated.


  #19  
Old 12-09-2017, 11:52 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,678
POST ID # = 929801
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DvdG View Post
Noob question: Does this quote refer to the fact that the fans are not controlled during boot? (i.e. Random colours and high rpm until Corsair Link has loaded up)
OK, so I did some experimentation with this.
First ... colors is a known issue. So let's talk about the high RPM. Because I didn't recall this as an issue with my Commander Pro.
Question: For the fans in question, what temperature do you have the fan curve tied to? Is it a temp from the Commander Pro temperature sensors or is it from another device?
I'm going to guess that it's from a different device. Because that's the only time that I saw that behavior. If you base the fan curve on one of the Commander Pro's native sensors, it'll apply it before Windows loads and you log in (so ... without Link).
Is it a 3-pin/DC fan or is it 4-pin/PWM? And is it set in the Fan configuration as 3 or 4 pin or Auto?
My testing (so far) was done with a 3-pin DC fan that was configured as 3 pin in Link (not auto) and set to 0 RPM at idle temperatures (which makes it easy to see if the curve is applied). When I had the source temperature set to something other than one of the sensors on the C-Pro, it would spin until I logged in to Windows and Link started. Not sure if it was full speed - I just can't count the fan blades when they are spinning and that fan is quiet anyway - but it was spinning pretty fast. I'd guess it was full speed.
When I had it set to a temperature from one of the C-Pro's temperature sensors, it spun up at boot but then stopped even before Windows had fully loaded ... so only a couple of seconds. From a hardware perspective, I'm guessing that the Commander is checking on the fan (hey ... you alive?) and initializing and reading the temperature sensor (which does take a second or two for an initial reading) ... then stopping it.
For my 4-pin/PWM fans, I don't notice - at all - them spinning at full speed on boot. And those I would hear.


  #20  
Old 12-09-2017, 12:39 PM
Mapantz's Avatar
Mapantz Mapantz is offline
Registered User
Mapantz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Posts: 70
POST ID # = 929805
Mapantz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Yeah, the "phantom temperatures and fans" issue is known. You should see the same things if you use HWMonitor.
The problem, technically, isn't with Link itself but with the CPUID SDK that they use to get these values.
It goes, kinda, like this:
Link: "Yo, CPUID SDK, can ya tell me what system sensors there are?"
CPUID: "Sure thing, dude. Here they are ... "
[CPUID SDK responds with list that includes phantom fans and temperatures]
Link: "Kewl. Thanks dude."
[Link then shows you the phantom fans and temperatures]
User: "WTF, Link? What's with all those phantom temperatures? Are you high?"
Link: "Nooo ... that's just what I was told ..."

So ... though it surfaces in Link, Link is really only the messenger. They are working with the CPUID SDK team to get these resolved but there's only so much control that they have over that. And there's no good, reliable way for Link to know which of the values from CPUID SDK are real and which are phantoms. As HWMonitor also uses the CPUID SDK, you should see the exact same phantom readings there that you see in Link. OTOH, HWInfo and SIV both use a different libraries.
One thing that I'm, personally, curious about is if these phantom readings are only on specific platforms or if its across the board. If you think about it ... it's been a crazy year with new platforms. In the past 12 months, we've seen Kaby Lake, Skylake/Kaby Lake X, Coffee Lake, Ryzen, and Threadripper all released.
Just to note, those 'phantom temperatures' were not showing two builds ago.

Quote:
Originally Posted by doudar View Post
"Mechanical hard disks may not enter sleep state."

does this mean HDDs now spin down normally!??? finally?
No. It is still doing it. I keep link closed now, it's driving me nuts!


1 members found this post helpful.
  #21  
Old 12-09-2017, 12:41 PM
doudar doudar is offline
Registered User
doudar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Egypt
Posts: 40
POST ID # = 929806
doudar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mapantz View Post
Just to note, those 'phantom temperatures' were not showing two builds ago.



No. It is still doing it. I keep link closed now, it's driving me nuts!
you only right click and exit it or you close it in some other way? what about the selected profile does it still in affect when CL is closed?


  #22  
Old 12-09-2017, 12:42 PM
tinsuke tinsuke is offline
Registered User
tinsuke's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 929807
tinsuke Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by herman82 View Post
Version: v4.9.3.25
Windows 10 Pro x64

My AX760i that is connected to my H100i (fw: 1.1.3) is not detected, same as previous versions. Last working version: v4.6.0.86

@Technobeard: Can you comfirm that you have seen in this forum that it is not working? Are you aware it is a bug? Why is it not in known bugs? Is it no longer a supported setup?
I believe that you're being affected by this known issue:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
Known Issues:
  • Users connecting Lighting Node PRO or AXi USB dongle to Commander PRO USB hub may experience detection issues if Commander PRO is connected to an AMD chipset or ASMedia USB controller.
You can find more about it here:
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=170885


  #23  
Old 12-09-2017, 12:56 PM
Mapantz's Avatar
Mapantz Mapantz is offline
Registered User
Mapantz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Posts: 70
POST ID # = 929810
Mapantz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doudar View Post
you only right click and exit it or you close it in some other way? what about the selected profile does it still in affect when CL is closed?
Yes, I right click and hit exit from the taskbar. My LED's and LL fans still light up in a rainbow default mode. Not ideal, but better than having a woodpecker inside of my tower.


1 members found this post helpful.
  #24  
Old 12-09-2017, 01:07 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,678
POST ID # = 929814
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mapantz View Post
Just to note, those 'phantom temperatures' were not showing two builds ago.
Yes, I am aware of that.
It doesn't change the reason for those phantom temps. Link has a version of the CPUID SDK dll that it installs in its own directory. New versions of Link often also have a new version of the dll as well. This is sometimes required for bug fixes for some platforms and/or to add support for new platforms (Coffee Lake, Ryzen, Threadripper, etc.).
Note, also, that it's the CPUID SDK that's hitting your hard drives "like a woodpecker". (Really? Your drives are that loud??) Again, it's something that they are working with the devs of the CPUID SDK to fix but they are limited in what they can do.

Last edited by DevBiker; 12-09-2017 at 01:10 PM.


  #25  
Old 12-09-2017, 01:51 PM
DvdG DvdG is offline
Registered User
DvdG's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 929817
DvdG Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
OK, so I did some experimentation with this.
First ... colors is a known issue. So let's talk about the high RPM. Because I didn't recall this as an issue with my Commander Pro.
Question: For the fans in question, what temperature do you have the fan curve tied to? Is it a temp from the Commander Pro temperature sensors or is it from another device?
I'm going to guess that it's from a different device. Because that's the only time that I saw that behavior. If you base the fan curve on one of the Commander Pro's native sensors, it'll apply it before Windows loads and you log in (so ... without Link).
Is it a 3-pin/DC fan or is it 4-pin/PWM? And is it set in the Fan configuration as 3 or 4 pin or Auto?
My testing (so far) was done with a 3-pin DC fan that was configured as 3 pin in Link (not auto) and set to 0 RPM at idle temperatures (which makes it easy to see if the curve is applied). When I had the source temperature set to something other than one of the sensors on the C-Pro, it would spin until I logged in to Windows and Link started. Not sure if it was full speed - I just can't count the fan blades when they are spinning and that fan is quiet anyway - but it was spinning pretty fast. I'd guess it was full speed.
When I had it set to a temperature from one of the C-Pro's temperature sensors, it spun up at boot but then stopped even before Windows had fully loaded ... so only a couple of seconds. From a hardware perspective, I'm guessing that the Commander is checking on the fan (hey ... you alive?) and initializing and reading the temperature sensor (which does take a second or two for an initial reading) ... then stopping it.
For my 4-pin/PWM fans, I don't notice - at all - them spinning at full speed on boot. And those I would hear.
I'm using the 3-pin DC SP120s, the fan configuration is set to auto and the rpm is linked to h100itemps.

So if your theory is correct I just have to link the rpm to one of the commander sensors. I figured linking it to the radiator was the best option but now I'm curious about your setup, where do you setup your sensor?


  #26  
Old 12-09-2017, 02:34 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,678
POST ID # = 929819
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DvdG View Post
I'm using the 3-pin DC SP120s, the fan configuration is set to auto and the rpm is linked to h100itemps.

So if your theory is correct I just have to link the rpm to one of the commander sensors. I figured linking it to the radiator was the best option but now I'm curious about your setup, where do you setup your sensor?
I remember you! You replaced the stock fans with the SP fans and were looking to control them after learning that the cooler doesn't do DC fans.

So, yes, you'd have to link the fan curve to one of the native CLCP sensors ... but that defeats the purpose of cooling the radiator. For runtime, your best option is the software-based control tied to the H100i V2, unfortunately. Which means, I know, that you'll have full blast until Link loads.
You could try slipping one of the sensors in between the radiator fins. You wouldn't have a direct read on the liquid temp but, indirectly, the liquid temperature would impact that sensor reading. You'd also need a bit of trial and error watching the readings between the native H100iV2 temp and that sensor to see what the correlation would be. If I were to do this, I'd put it in the middle of that radiator, outside the primary airflow path of the two fans.
Your best long term option (as I said) is a PWM fan (like the ML ...) for the radiator.


  #27  
Old 12-09-2017, 04:13 PM
DvdG DvdG is offline
Registered User
DvdG's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 929828
DvdG Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
I remember you! You replaced the stock fans with the SP fans and were looking to control them after learning that the cooler doesn't do DC fans.

So, yes, you'd have to link the fan curve to one of the native CLCP sensors ... but that defeats the purpose of cooling the radiator. For runtime, your best option is the software-based control tied to the H100i V2, unfortunately. Which means, I know, that you'll have full blast until Link loads.
You could try slipping one of the sensors in between the radiator fins. You wouldn't have a direct read on the liquid temp but, indirectly, the liquid temperature would impact that sensor reading. You'd also need a bit of trial and error watching the readings between the native H100iV2 temp and that sensor to see what the correlation would be. If I were to do this, I'd put it in the middle of that radiator, outside the primary airflow path of the two fans.
Your best long term option (as I said) is a PWM fan (like the ML ...) for the radiator.
I remember you too! You're the guy who loves his ML fans :)

What's your setup like though? Do you have a radiator? What's your approach to this issue?


  #28  
Old 12-09-2017, 04:56 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,678
POST ID # = 929837
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DvdG View Post
I remember you too! You're the guy who loves his ML fans :)
I do, yes, yes, I definitely do. Guilty as charged. I also love my HD fans. And I'm eyeing some LL fans that I'm sure I'll love too. But ML for radiators, definitely. The performance is excellent and, even at high speed, they are relatively quiet. Up to about 60% or so, they are almost silent.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DvdG View Post
What's your setup like though? Do you have a radiator? What's your approach to this issue?
Yes, I have an H100i v2. I have 2 ML-120s (from the twin pack, not the Pro versions) on my radiator that are plugged in to my radiator control.
Here's my full diagram:

I am planning on replacing the DC fans with 4 LL fans ... eventually.
The SP120s that I previously mentioned that I had (mistakenly) gotten are being used on the fronts of 2 Icy Dock hot-swap drive bays; it uses DC control for the high/low speed switch so they work well there and keep my server's drives cool. That said, I do plan on replacing those (at some point) with ML RGBs connected to a Commander Pro. I'd have all of this now but I'd rather stay married for a little while longer at least.


  #29  
Old 12-09-2017, 07:57 PM
Shadowk Shadowk is offline
Registered User
Shadowk's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 929851
Shadowk Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for fixing the start minimized bug!


  #30  
Old 12-09-2017, 09:46 PM
Robbie_Jardine Robbie_Jardine is offline
Registered User
Robbie_Jardine's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 929872
Robbie_Jardine Reputation: 10
Default

Not sure why this app doesn't support x64 as most users will have an x64 based system.

One feature i want to see it the future is the ability to resize the window so it doesn't hide behind the Taskbar.

What happened to Sync It?


Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.