The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-2016, 12:15 AM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,288
POST ID # = 851694
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default Discuss Link v4.2.3.41 here

This will be the official discussion thread for Link v4.2.3.41.

If you'd like to report a bug, please respond to this thread in this format:
  1. Version of your Link software. NOTE: If you're not using v4.2.3.41, please install it and see if the bug has been fixed.
  2. What version of Windows you're using.
  3. Summary - One line / sentence explaining the issue
  4. Detailed description of the issue - This part can be as long as you want. It should be detailed enough so that we can clearly identify the issue and attempt to replicate it.
  5. Attach photos of the issue to the post that help #4.

Quote:
05/11/2016 - Corsair Link Software Update Version 4.2.3.41

Changelog:
  • All fans and pumps (including GPU and MB) are added to Configure tab.
  • Added option to disable debug logs and to change their destination.
  • Added PSU Calculated Efficiency to PSU advanced view. PSU power, current and voltage are now added to charts.
  • Added device indexes for systems using 2 or more Commander mini, Cooling node, Lighting node.
  • Addressed instances where the HDD/SSD were not updating temperature readouts in UI.
  • Addressed instances with H80i, H100i, and H110i GT liquid coolers showing incorrect colors after cold boot.
  • Resolved several stability and performance issues.


  #2  
Old 05-12-2016, 01:43 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 851701
red-ray Reputation: 81
Question Why do Corsair not respond when issues are reported?

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
In my initial testing when I exit CL4 4.2.2.27 it is sometimes still holding the lock which causes issues for other programs. Below you can see it counting up, 'till finally SIV detects CL4 has failed to release it and attempts to clean up the mess.
In my initial testing when I exit CL4 4.2.3.41 it is sometimes is still holding the lock which causes issues for other programs and SIV has to detect CL4 has failed to release it and attempt to clean up the mess. Can CL4 be changed to correctly use the Mutex I proposed a long time ago?

I also reported this in an e-mail I sent to Corsair on 24-Feb-2016 and since then I have been trying to get a reply from the CL4 developers. After sending reminders I get replies saying the developers will respond ASAP and as of 15-May-2016 I am still waiting . This is totally unprofessional and it's about time Corsair got their act together .

On 19-May-2016 I finally received a reply. See http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=854006 for the next episode in the saga .

Quote:
Why is there no CL4 guide (Corsair-Link-Manual_v4) given there is a CL2 guide (Corsair-Link-Manual_v2) ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
If you'd like to report a bug, please respond to this thread.
I have done this for all the CL4 releases and Corsair have not responded to most of these posts. Why is this and why should I bother to report issues?

Here is an itemised list of issues which Corsair failed to respond to or address in a timely manor.
  1. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=844974 - CL 4.2.2.27 issues - How do I change the TCP port
  2. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=841278 - CL 4.2.1.42 issues
  3. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=833499 - CL 4.2.0.162 issues
  4. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=833532 - CL asking for a reboot when it should not
  5. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=837724 - CL4 using a massive amount of TCP transfers
  6. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=833695 - Silly driver package name
  7. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=833699 - Issues with > 32 CPUs
  8. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=834459 - CL4 does not support CSMI RAID
  9. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=836506 - CL4 does not support EC Sensors
  10. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=836736 - NVMe Disks are not Reported
  11. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=837364 - No support for the original Commander.
  12. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=845182 - BSOD caused by Corsair supplied AXi PSU/Asetek Cooler kernel mode driver
  13. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=845092 - 10,000 RPM Fans #2 - no reply
  14. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=853869 - 10,000 RPM Fans #3 - no reply
  15. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=854759 - To fix -ve X and fail to fix -ve Y is incompetent
  16. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=839550 - H100iV2 and H100iGTX have different firmware
  17. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=850509 - CL4 causing high DPC latencies.
  18. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=837228 - CLCC support for 0% PWM to stop the fans.
Note that some of the entries itemise up to 52 issues and I expect I reported other issues I could add to the list.

There are also the bugs in the CL Mini firmware that need to be addressed that have now been outstanding since 20-Nov-2014
  1. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=134621 - Commander Mini will not control fans based on temp sensors
  2. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=757703 - Commander Mini + H100i + H80i fan mode register is not returned correctly.
  3. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=137364 - Commander Mini + RGB LEDs - Blinking Issue.
  4. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=754023 - 10,000 RPM Fans #1 - Corsair suspect it's a firmware bug of 16-Jan-2015.
  5. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=709734 - H100i + H80i incorrect colour if you use zero, use 255,1,1 rather than 255,0,0.
  6. http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=855427 - You can't use 1,1,1 rather than 0,0,0 as this is not black.
  7. It would be good to know if CL4 should be able to update CL Mini, H110iGT, H110i, H100i and H80i firmware. As far as I can tell this is not possible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Dustin View Post
This is a known issue with a fix coming.
This was posted over 16 months ago on 02-Feb-2015 so I would have expected it to be fixed by now. On what date is the fix expected? On 03-Feb-2015 Corsair stated:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Dustin View Post
I believe it requires a firmware update to be corrected. It should be in the next Corsair Link drop, or the one after.
There have been at least 6 CL drops since then .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Dustin View Post
So just so you guys know, we're aware of this bug, but because of the issues we've seen with H100i/H80i and the current version of C-Link, this has been backburnered to get more pressing problems fixed.
Posted on 03-Nov-2014, over 19 months ago.
Attached Images
File Type: png CL 4.2.3.41 still failing to release the lock.png (47.3 KB, 13263 views)

Last edited by red-ray; 07-21-2016 at 10:35 AM.


2 members found this post helpful.
  #3  
Old 05-12-2016, 02:19 AM
RVxSpeed RVxSpeed is offline
Registered User
RVxSpeed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 851705
RVxSpeed Reputation: 10
Default

thank you very much.
#1.GPU fan is now visible in configure tab.(solved)
#2.HDD/SSD temp is now updating correctly.(solved)
#3.The unbelievable high temp mb sensor is now gone.(solved)
tested on windows 8.1 pro 64 bit.


  #4  
Old 05-12-2016, 03:01 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 851707
red-ray Reputation: 81
Angry What about RM PSUs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
Added device indexes for systems using 2 or more Commander mini, Cooling node, Lighting node.
What about RM PSUs? I have been reporting this since CL 4.2.0.162 .

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
18. The two Corsair RM-Series C-Link Adapter should be RM 1 and RM 2.
Quote:
Attached Images
File Type: png RM PSU [Home].png (198.2 KB, 6906 views)


  #5  
Old 05-12-2016, 03:09 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 851708
red-ray Reputation: 81
Question Cooling Node support?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
Supported Hardware:
  • Hydro Series - H80i, H100i, H80i GT, H100i GTX, H110i GT, H110i GTX, H80i V2, H100i V2, H110i, H115i
  • PSU Series - AXi, HXi, RMi, RM (With USB Dongle)
  • Commander MINI
  • The Cooling Node is not listed as supported, but from below I suspect it is and post 833414 needs to be corrected.
  • Same for the Lighting node.
  • The correct designation for USB Dongle is RM-Series C-Link Adapter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
Added device indexes for systems using 2 or more Commander mini, Cooling node, Lighting node.

Last edited by red-ray; 05-12-2016 at 08:55 AM. Reason: Add Lighting node


  #6  
Old 05-12-2016, 04:02 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 851711
red-ray Reputation: 81
Oops You may be working on it, but it seems you can't make it work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fauxbeard View Post
Not true. Wait for it...

We're working on a build that should address this issue. Stay tuned.
You may be working on it, but it seems you can't make it work . Is this supposed to be fixed?

CL4 is also still rather confused by a H80 and I can't resize the Devices panel.

Why do the CL Mini and Cooling Nodes look totally different to the H100i? They are reporting much the same information, so should look similar.

Quote:
Attached Images
File Type: png CL 4.2.3.41 still confused by H80.png (432.0 KB, 7202 views)

Last edited by red-ray; 05-12-2016 at 06:23 AM.


  #7  
Old 05-12-2016, 04:26 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 851717
red-ray Reputation: 81
Unhappy Two of my fans aren't even on the [Home] tab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
All fans and pumps (including GPU and MB) are added to Configure tab.
Two of my fans aren't even on the [Home] tab. My ASRock X79 Champion has 6 MB fans, but only 4 get reported and two keep changing the reported speed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
2) Only 4 of my 6 motherboard fans are reported and the CPU jumps between 2973 and 1088 RPM.
I first reported this on 04-Dec-2014, reported it again for CL4 on 27-Jan-2016 and feel it's about time this was fixed.

Quote:
Attached Images
File Type: png ASRock X79 SYS Fan.png (15.3 KB, 6198 views)
File Type: png ASRock X79 CPU Fan.png (18.3 KB, 6259 views)


  #8  
Old 05-12-2016, 05:52 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 851734
red-ray Reputation: 81
Thumbs down CL 4.2.3.41 uses 25% more CPU time CL 4.2.2.27

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
  • Resolved several stability and performance issues.
Corsair seem to have made the performance worse as CL 4.2.3.41 uses 25% more CPU time CL 4.2.2.27. 40% is poor and 50% even worse .

Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
What has been addressed? The service alone is using 39% of a CPU on my system with the GUI using yet more. This would be an even higher %, but much of the time the CPU was running at 3.1GHz rather than 1.2GHz .

Attached Images
File Type: png CL 4.2.3.41 using 25% more CPU than CL 4.2.2.27.png (47.9 KB, 6276 views)


  #9  
Old 05-12-2016, 06:31 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 851742
red-ray Reputation: 81
Unhappy My Disks still don't get reported at all

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
  • Addressed instances where the HDD/SSD were not updating temperature readouts in UI.
It's about time that CL reported CSMI RAID, USB and NVMe drive information given this was first reported as an issue about 18 months ago.

Is this support planned and if so on what date is it expected to be available?

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
5) The temperatures of my CSMI RAID disks are not reported at all.
6) The temperatures of my USB attached disks are not reported at all.
Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
1.The NVMe Disk is not Reported.

Last edited by red-ray; 05-12-2016 at 09:46 AM.


  #10  
Old 05-12-2016, 03:53 PM
DelBoyJamie DelBoyJamie is offline
Registered User
DelBoyJamie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Under Your Bed
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 851817
DelBoyJamie Reputation: 16
Thumbs down Wow Just Wow Corsair come on guys time to take things seriously!

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
It's about time that CL reported CSMI RAID, USB and NVMe drive information given this was first reported as an issue about 18 months ago.

Is this support planned and if so on what date is it expected to be available?
Its a dam shame Corsair don't take you more seriously. In 30 years I've never seen such a lack of professionalism, the amount of work I have personally seen you do for them (basically doing all there bug tracing) and I haven't owned my H110i GT very long but I have looked into past builds and I have to say you seem to do more work for them (Sorry Corsair I love you man but Jesus its about time you take what hes says on board and reply to the dam man!!) than there own fault finding team!
Personally as a fan of corsair and a customer for a very long time (only just got into AIO) I have to say this is very worrying and of putting to see how great of a community you have and you don't take is seriously.

The amount of PR work you guys do and money you put into paying YouTubers for reviews and advertisements but you can't take the time or money to take this guy on is shocking. Anyone who knows anything about programming knows this guy knows his stuff, you should be dam lucky you have such a great community and people just as Red-Ray.
But sadly all I see is a huge lack of trust and communication.
Corsair prides themselves as a company who is apart of the community who is the community, but we don't see that here...... its just sad.

I hope I got my point across as I'm very very tired and running on 2 hours sleep in last 48 hours.

Red-Ray there's only so much you can do man before its time to say "they don't care, I'll take my skills and expertise somewhere else" NZXT cough* cough* Fractal or anyone for that matter I feel would snap your hand of for the work you do

Last edited by DelBoyJamie; 05-12-2016 at 03:56 PM.


4 members found this post helpful.
  #11  
Old 05-12-2016, 05:04 PM
IcEWoLF IcEWoLF is offline
Registered User
IcEWoLF's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 114
POST ID # = 851847
IcEWoLF Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
This will be the official discussion thread for Link v4.2.3.41.

If you'd like to report a bug, please respond to this thread in this format:
  1. Version of your Link software. NOTE: If you're not using v4.2.3.41, please install it and see if the bug has been fixed.
  2. What version of Windows you're using.
  3. Summary - One line / sentence explaining the issue
  4. Detailed description of the issue - This part can be as long as you want. It should be detailed enough so that we can clearly identify the issue and attempt to replicate it.
  5. Attach photos of the issue to the post that help #4.
Just a quick question, is there a way to set the corsair cpu cooler to cycle through colors like an rbg option since it has all the colors in there already...


  #12  
Old 05-12-2016, 05:32 PM
CircuitWizardry CircuitWizardry is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 107
POST ID # = 851858
CircuitWizardry Reputation: 21
Default

I personally believe that Corsair needs to buy Red-ray a football helmet... At least then they'll keep him from giving himself a concussion, as he bangs his head against the wall, again and again!

(In case that reference was a little too tricky for you Corsair employees, I'm saying that dealing with you, is about as effective as banging ones head repeatedly against a wall.)


  #13  
Old 05-12-2016, 06:26 PM
Memhorder Memhorder is offline
Registered User
Memhorder's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 851874
Memhorder Reputation: 10
Default

Gotta say. CL has come a long way since the first releases. It was buggy as all hell before now it's decently working. Good work. Thanks Red Ray for the extensive testing too. You've been on this for years now and I'm sure a lot of bugs have been identified because of it. Good on you.

One bug though. LED flickers sometimes on H100i. Perhaps my firmware isn't up to snuff? I'll check.

I haven't updated this software for a while so i know before i had to uninstall in control panel and delete the corsair folder in C:users/NAME/AppData/Roaming/CLink then install newer version. I've got version 4.2.2.27 up and running yesterday. Runs great so far....but now it's saying there's an update to 4.2.3.41 So is there a procedure like before or do i just download and install now. I notice there's no CLink folder in AppData/Roaming anymore. I just finished configuring fans. Am i gonna lose my profiles?

@Red Ray man you got some crazy fans in your rig are those Deltas? Does it levitate? :P


  #14  
Old 05-12-2016, 11:17 PM
regae regae is offline
Registered User
regae's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 851928
regae Reputation: 10
Default


high cpu usage
previous version is just fine, around 0.5-1%

Last edited by regae; 05-12-2016 at 11:20 PM.


  #15  
Old 05-13-2016, 03:11 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 851947
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow CL4 is poorly written and fails to support multiplexed fans

Quote:
Originally Posted by Memhorder View Post
@Red Ray man you got some crazy fans in your rig are those Deltas? Does it levitate? :P
Both CPU Fan + CPU Opt and CHA Fan 1 + CHA Fan 3 are multiplexed. CL4 is poorly written and fails to support multiplexed fans so only reports 4 rather than 6 fans.

Quote:
Attached Images
File Type: png multiplexed fans.png (61.0 KB, 5851 views)


Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.