The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #76  
Old 09-16-2015, 09:27 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 806982
red-ray Reputation: 81
Question Some information

Quote:
Originally Posted by fisherd80 View Post
I have installed the software and the drivers and re-installed but nothing changed. Any Suggestion.
Exactly what CL hardware do you have and how is it connected?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fisherd80 View Post
I cant get the Corsair Link Commander (the older one, not the mini) to be recognized by the Corsair Link software. I have followed the instruction given on the forum solving this problem. However none of the fans, LED light strips will appear.
See http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=794533.

Last edited by red-ray; 09-16-2015 at 10:15 AM. Reason: POST ID # = 792557


  #77  
Old 09-16-2015, 11:00 AM
FALE FALE is offline
Registered User
FALE's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 47
POST ID # = 807004
FALE Reputation: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Looking in HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Corsair\CorsairLINK what is WindowPosition set to? Try setting it to 0,0.
Oddly, there isn't a WindowPostion registry key for that in mine. Also, its set to open with windows, but doesn't open with windows. I can double click the icon, it give me the UAC warning, then it flashes to the sails icon in the system tray. when I hover over the icon it goes away. Task manager appears to confirm that it shuts down after that.


  #78  
Old 09-16-2015, 11:20 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 807013
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow Contact Corsair support

Quote:
Originally Posted by FALE View Post
Oddly, there isn't a WindowPostion registry key for that in mine. Also, its set to open with windows, but doesn't open with windows. I can double click the icon, it give me the UAC warning, then it flashes to the sails icon in the system tray. when I hover over the icon it goes away. Task manager appears to confirm that it shuts down after that.
Given there is no WindowPosition and when you hover over the icon it goes away I suspect CorsairLink.exe is crashing during it's start-up. I further suspect that CL does start with windows and then crashes for the same reason.

Are there any reports in the Windows Application event log? See https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...exchg.65).aspx.

As I did not develop CL I have no real idea what the issue is likely to be and suggest you ask for support via https://corsair.secure.force.com/.

You should add your PC specs to your profile.

Last edited by red-ray; 09-16-2015 at 11:26 AM.


  #79  
Old 09-16-2015, 11:58 AM
FALE FALE is offline
Registered User
FALE's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 47
POST ID # = 807029
FALE Reputation: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Given there is no WindowPosition and when you hover over the icon it goes away I suspect CorsairLink.exe is crashing during it's start-up. I further suspect that CL does start with windows and then crashes for the same reason.

Are there any reports in the Windows Application event log? See https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...exchg.65).aspx.

As I did not develop CL I have no real idea what the issue is likely to be and suggest you ask for support via https://corsair.secure.force.com/.

You should add your PC specs to your profile.
This is the error from event viewer that repeats a few times since I've tried to open it on multiple occasions. I'll add some system specs in a bit.

System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException (0x80070422): The service cannot be started, either because it is disabled or because it has no enabled devices associated with it. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070422) at System.Management.ThreadDispatch.Start() at System.Management.ManagementScope.Initialize() at System.Management.ManagementEventWatcher.Initialize() at System.Management.ManagementEventWatcher.Start() at CorsairLink.DeviceHandler..ctor() at CorsairLink.SingleInstanceController.OnCreateMainForm() at Microsoft.VisualBasic.ApplicationServices.WindowsFormsApplicationBase.OnRun() at Microsoft.VisualBasic.ApplicationServices.WindowsFormsApplicationBase.DoApplicationModel() at Microsoft.VisualBasic.ApplicationServices.WindowsFormsApplicationBase.Run(String[] commandLine) at CorsairLink.Program.Main()


  #80  
Old 09-16-2015, 12:41 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 807035
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FALE View Post
This is the error from event viewer that repeats a few times since I've tried to open it on multiple occasions.
CL is crashing out. What language is Windows set to? Setting English may help, failing that log a support call via https://corsair.secure.force.com/


  #81  
Old 09-17-2015, 07:30 PM
FALE FALE is offline
Registered User
FALE's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 47
POST ID # = 807417
FALE Reputation: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
CL is crashing out. What language is Windows set to? Setting English may help, failing that log a support call via https://corsair.secure.force.com/
I got squirelly and decided to do a full reinstall of win 10. It was errors that others weren't seeing so maybe the in-place upgrade wasn't so clean? It seems to work now. Loads up on startup and everything. Thanks for the help. Now make the vengeance 2100 drivers work lol.


  #82  
Old 09-18-2015, 04:43 PM
Timmall Timmall is offline
Registered User
Timmall's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 43
POST ID # = 807564
Timmall Reputation: 10
Default

I want to upgrade my windows 7-64 operating system to windows 10 but, like many others, I'm getting an incompatibility message for the CL software. The multitude of messages in this forum concerning incompatibility with Windows 10 is astounding and equally confusing. I do not have my Commander unit installed (dumped this a few years back due to all of the problems) and just have my H100i connected using the version 2.7.5361 software which works great. So, can someone tell me, in a nutshell, what I need to do to install the latest software so I can upgrade to Windows 10?


  #83  
Old 09-19-2015, 12:32 AM
cavey00 cavey00 is offline
Registered User
cavey00's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 50
POST ID # = 807616
cavey00 Reputation: 13
Default

Well first off I think if you do a reinstall of the latest version after you upgrade you will likely be fine. I think most of the problems on here are related to the commander units, although there are the scattered few that are using various issues. One thing I would recommend though its after you do the upgrade, wipe and do a clean install of windows AFTER confirming you are activated. Then reinstall CL and things should be fine. I never got the incompatibility message that is stated in bold oh how to fix. I simply couldn't use the link software because I have an original commander unit. Siv to the rescue.


  #84  
Old 09-19-2015, 12:37 PM
Timmall Timmall is offline
Registered User
Timmall's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 43
POST ID # = 809004
Timmall Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply. I'm just concerned about the issue of the fans ramping up and becoming uncontrollable after the upgrade to windows 10 due to the incompatibility of the cl software version I'm using presently. I haven't upgraded to the latest version of cl software yet but, if I do, I know there are manual deletions of files that need to occur to ensure a complete removal of the current software...just can't remember what and where those files are located. When I do this should I wait and do it after upgrading to windows 10? Is there another forum that you might be aware of that I should follow to provide me the details I'm looking for?


  #85  
Old 09-21-2015, 12:18 PM
cavey00 cavey00 is offline
Registered User
cavey00's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 50
POST ID # = 809811
cavey00 Reputation: 13
Default

There are manual files that need to be deleted but I'm at work and can't point you to the exact location. However if you do the upgrade and then follow up with a clean install (which I highly recommend) you won't have to do that. Those files will already be gone. I recommend waiting until the end of this week/beginning of next to see if they have the newest version of CL validated. It's so close that it's not worth messing with right now.


  #86  
Old 09-21-2015, 02:05 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 809831
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Timmall:
There's a thread at the top of this sub-forum: How to get rid of the Windows 10 incompatibility message.

Also, they removed the part in the change log where you need to do manual deletions. IIRC that's not needed anymore. Installing a new OS from scratch instead of an upgrade is always the better way to go.


cavey00:
Why do you think there's a new version of Link coming out soon? Was there a Corsair post about it somewhere?
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)


  #87  
Old 09-21-2015, 02:10 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 809832
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow Corsair Dustin said so

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
Why do you think there's a new version of Link coming out soon? Was there a Corsair post about it somewhere?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Dustin View Post
I've been working with the validations tech responsible for the next version, the goal is to have it available by the end of this week.
I have a Beta of it and it fixes old Link Commander support and also reports my 4 x CL Minis.


  #88  
Old 09-21-2015, 07:40 PM
cavey00 cavey00 is offline
Registered User
cavey00's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 50
POST ID # = 809875
cavey00 Reputation: 13
Default What red ray said

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
I have a Beta of it and it fixes old Link Commander support and also reports my 4 x CL Minis.
Hoping it works for the community this time around. I'm on the fence as to whether or not I'll try it. Siv's working and everything is stable. I don't really feel like trying to fix something that isn't broken after being broken for so long.

Last edited by cavey00; 09-21-2015 at 07:46 PM.


1 members found this post helpful.
  #89  
Old 09-25-2015, 08:22 AM
JohnOrion JohnOrion is offline
Registered User
JohnOrion's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 74
POST ID # = 810433
JohnOrion Reputation: 13
Default Nope

No, it still doesn't work. This version didn't change a thing. I still have the same issue with it not controlling the fan for my PSU properly and not re-enabling the fixed 40% fan when it comes out of sleep.

I wish SIV would work on the Corsair Link POS USB dongle they give you with the PSU's but I guess SIV only works with the Link Commander or whatever that thing is called.


  #90  
Old 09-25-2015, 09:20 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 810438
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow SIV will report PSUs connected via CL Mini, H100i, H80i or Commander

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnOrion View Post
I wish SIV would work on the Corsair Link POS USB dongle they give you with the PSU's but I guess SIV only works with the Link Commander or whatever that thing is called.
Both Martin (HWiNFO) and I keep trying to make the PSU USB dongle play ball, but thus far have failed. SIV will report PSUs connected via any of CL Mini, H100i, H80i or old Commander.

Last edited by red-ray; 09-25-2015 at 09:42 AM.


Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.