The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2017, 11:11 AM
Levercy Levercy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 921467
Levercy Reputation: 10
Default Different Lighting Effect on Startup

So after updating to the latest version of Corsair Link, my computer displays a new lightning effect on startup, before the software is able to launch. I really enjoy this lightning effect, and would like to set it permanently but I can't find it anywhere in the settings. (every time the software launches my lightning effects change to rainbow wave). The only way I have found to keep this lightning effect is to kill the process for corsair link before it is able to initialize.

I have:
1x Corsair Lighting Node Pro
6x Corsair HD120
1x Corsair H100i V2

I'm running on:
Corsair Link 4.9.0.57
Lighting Node Pro firmware version 0.5.104
Corsair H100i v2 firmware version 2.8.0.0

Below is a video of the lighting effect i'm talking about
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-28-2017, 01:23 PM
Corsair CJ's Avatar
Corsair CJ Corsair CJ is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair CJ's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 684
POST ID # = 921502
Corsair CJ Reputation: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Levercy View Post
So after updating to the latest version of Corsair Link, my computer displays a new lightning effect on startup, before the software is able to launch. I really enjoy this lightning effect, and would like to set it permanently but I can't find it anywhere in the settings. (every time the software launches my lightning effects change to rainbow wave). The only way I have found to keep this lightning effect is to kill the process for corsair link before it is able to initialize.

I have:
1x Corsair Lighting Node Pro
6x Corsair HD120
1x Corsair H100i V2

I'm running on:
Corsair Link 4.9.0.57
Lighting Node Pro firmware version 0.5.104
Corsair H100i v2 firmware version 2.8.0.0

Below is a video of the lighting effect i'm talking about
https://youtu.be/qOt7hfPqygM
This looks like a demo mode, not unlike the one present on our peripherals. I haven't run into this myself with the Lighting Node PRO (usually it'll just play back the last lighting preset saved to memory). I'll see if I can dig up more info for you.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-28-2017, 01:48 PM
Corsair CJ's Avatar
Corsair CJ Corsair CJ is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair CJ's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 684
POST ID # = 921510
Corsair CJ Reputation: 42
Default Mystery Solved

Quote:
Originally Posted by Levercy View Post
So after updating to the latest version of Corsair Link, my computer displays a new lightning effect on startup, before the software is able to launch. I really enjoy this lightning effect, and would like to set it permanently but I can't find it anywhere in the settings. (every time the software launches my lightning effects change to rainbow wave). The only way I have found to keep this lightning effect is to kill the process for corsair link before it is able to initialize.

I have:
1x Corsair Lighting Node Pro
6x Corsair HD120
1x Corsair H100i V2

I'm running on:
Corsair Link 4.9.0.57
Lighting Node Pro firmware version 0.5.104
Corsair H100i v2 firmware version 2.8.0.0

Below is a video of the lighting effect i'm talking about
https://youtu.be/qOt7hfPqygM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair CJ View Post
This looks like a demo mode, not unlike the one present on our peripherals. I haven't run into this myself with the Lighting Node PRO (usually it'll just play back the last lighting preset saved to memory). I'll see if I can dig up more info for you.
It's the new default mode for the LNP and CLCP. This was introduced by the latest firmware update. When either LNP or CLCP are powered on but aren't grabbed by CL4, they'll automatically play this effect rather than the original default behavior.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-28-2017, 02:05 PM
bryan_c bryan_c is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 921516
bryan_c Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair CJ View Post
It's the new default mode for the LNP and CLCP. This was introduced by the latest firmware update. When either LNP or CLCP are powered on but aren't grabbed by CL4, they'll automatically play this effect rather than the original default behavior.
Corsair CJ, Does this mean that this "rainbow" effect will always be active whenever Corsair Link 4 is not running? (including shutdown and startup).

Previously, before this firmware update, I had my LEDs set to static white and the commander pro would remember that even if corsair link 4 was not running. So even during startup and shutdown, my LEDs would remain white. Is this a change that was intentional? or is this something that was unforeseen and needs to be fixed in a future firmware update?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-28-2017, 02:26 PM
Levercy Levercy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 921517
Levercy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair CJ View Post
It's the new default mode for the LNP and CLCP. This was introduced by the latest firmware update. When either LNP or CLCP are powered on but aren't grabbed by CL4, they'll automatically play this effect rather than the original default behavior.
Thanks for the clarification. Is there a way to keep this look while running the software?

Last edited by Levercy; 09-28-2017 at 02:29 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-28-2017, 02:52 PM
KR0SSED0UT's Avatar
KR0SSED0UT KR0SSED0UT is offline
Registered User
KR0SSED0UT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 921520
KR0SSED0UT Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Levercy View Post
Thanks for the clarification. Is there a way to keep this look while running the software?
I second this, why can't we get some more effects that look this nice, or have effects pass more than one RGB strip/fan? I miss this from my HUE+.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-28-2017, 10:15 PM
Harshboy Harshboy is offline
Registered User
Harshboy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 921540
Harshboy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryan_c View Post
Corsair CJ, Does this mean that this "rainbow" effect will always be active whenever Corsair Link 4 is not running? (including shutdown and startup).

Previously, before this firmware update, I had my LEDs set to static white and the commander pro would remember that even if corsair link 4 was not running. So even during startup and shutdown, my LEDs would remain white. Is this a change that was intentional? or is this something that was unforeseen and needs to be fixed in a future firmware update?
This needs to be answered. I also have all of my LEDs set to a static color, but after installing the latest firmware, I’m now greeted by a RGB light show every time I boot/shutdown my PC which is very annoying.

Was it actually intentional to remove persistence of my settings? I really am not a fan of the new demo mode at all.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-29-2017, 11:56 AM
Corsair Dustin's Avatar
Corsair Dustin Corsair Dustin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Dustin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4,100
POST ID # = 921608
Corsair Dustin Reputation: 41
Default

So to answer a couple of questions: this new demo mode will be added to the software within the next couple of months for those who like it.

As for the loss of hardware playback in the most recent firmware, this was a sacrifice made for upcoming products that require software playback for their complex lighting effects. That being said, I totally understand and even share frustration about losing this feature. I'll be working with the software team over the coming weeks to offer an alternative or solution.
__________________
Corsair DIY & Gaming Systems Architect
Product Manager for Cooling


Please do not send private messages requesting tech support or trouble shooting. You can create a thread and let the solution to your issue be visible to everyone, or alternatively, work directly with tech support by contacting them here.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-30-2017, 11:05 AM
EricB_ EricB_ is offline
Registered User
EricB_'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 921701
EricB_ Reputation: 10
Default

Same issue. Fixed it by downgrading to CLNP firmware version 0.4.94. CLNP Firmware Downgrade instructions: http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=892389

<rant>
This being a new "feature" is extremely disappointing. I purchased the Corsair Lightning Node PRO vs a competing product mainly because it didn't require the Corsair LINK software to be running all the time. This is a NZXT-level move and appears to have been introduced only to force users to run Corsair LINK 24/7.
</rant>
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-30-2017, 06:31 PM
Astral85 Astral85 is offline
Registered User
Astral85's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 336
POST ID # = 921735
Astral85 Reputation: 11
Default

I am also greeted by a full rainbow effect on my LNP during boot only for the last configuration to load only once Link has started. I could not gather the answer here, is this intentional or a fault? I would prefer my last set configuration to be active during boot as it was, this is a little distracting.

Edit: Right so this is a newly included default/demo mode during startup, any chance this could be turned on/off?

Last edited by Astral85; 09-30-2017 at 06:34 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 10-01-2017, 04:35 AM
Emerald Emerald is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 921768
Emerald Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Dustin View Post
That being said, I totally understand and even share frustration about losing this feature. I'll be working with the software team over the coming weeks to offer an alternative or solution.
OMG, yes please, this demo light show has totally killed my rather stately pc.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 10-03-2017, 04:57 AM
Astral85 Astral85 is offline
Registered User
Astral85's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 336
POST ID # = 921983
Astral85 Reputation: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Dustin View Post
So to answer a couple of questions: this new demo mode will be added to the software within the next couple of months for those who like it.

As for the loss of hardware playback in the most recent firmware, this was a sacrifice made for upcoming products that require software playback for their complex lighting effects. That being said, I totally understand and even share frustration about losing this feature. I'll be working with the software team over the coming weeks to offer an alternative or solution.
Does that mean it will be an enable/disable feature?
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 10-03-2017, 11:16 PM
Corsair Dustin's Avatar
Corsair Dustin Corsair Dustin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Dustin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4,100
POST ID # = 922127
Corsair Dustin Reputation: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricB_ View Post
Same issue. Fixed it by downgrading to CLNP firmware version 0.4.94. CLNP Firmware Downgrade instructions: http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=892389

<rant>
This being a new "feature" is extremely disappointing. I purchased the Corsair Lightning Node PRO vs a competing product mainly because it didn't require the Corsair LINK software to be running all the time. This is a NZXT-level move and appears to have been introduced only to force users to run Corsair LINK 24/7.
</rant>
Aw, that's mean. If we wanted to force you to run LINK 24/7, we never would've had hardware playback in the first place. ;)

The real reason this change occurred was to enable synchronized lighting effects in the future as well as support upcoming RGB products that Lighting Node Pro and Commander Pro would not have been able to handle in hardware playback.

That said, I'm not pleased we had to sacrifice a feature people were used to in order to do that, and I'm working with the software team to provide short and hopefully long term solutions to this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astral85 View Post
I am also greeted by a full rainbow effect on my LNP during boot only for the last configuration to load only once Link has started. I could not gather the answer here, is this intentional or a fault? I would prefer my last set configuration to be active during boot as it was, this is a little distracting.

Edit: Right so this is a newly included default/demo mode during startup, any chance this could be turned on/off?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emerald View Post
OMG, yes please, this demo light show has totally killed my rather stately pc.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astral85 View Post
Does that mean it will be an enable/disable feature?
As I said before, we're working on it. The feedback has been heard loud and clear. I'm not in the office at present (out on a business trip) so I can't push for an immediate fix but I'm working on something.
__________________
Corsair DIY & Gaming Systems Architect
Product Manager for Cooling


Please do not send private messages requesting tech support or trouble shooting. You can create a thread and let the solution to your issue be visible to everyone, or alternatively, work directly with tech support by contacting them here.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 10-03-2017, 11:56 PM
Astral85 Astral85 is offline
Registered User
Astral85's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 336
POST ID # = 922135
Astral85 Reputation: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Dustin View Post
As I said before, we're working on it. The feedback has been heard loud and clear. I'm not in the office at present (out on a business trip) so I can't push for an immediate fix but I'm working on something.
No pressure at all, just giving feedback

Is the run at startup from a standard user account/need for administrator access still going to be looked into? If it helps I am getting an event log with version 4.9.0.57 that looks to be related to that, actually it's the same event over older versions of Link also.

.NET Runtime error, Event 1026

Application: CorsairLink4.exe
Framework Version: v4.0.30319
Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception.
Exception Info: System.UnauthorizedAccessException
at Microsoft.Win32.TaskScheduler.V2Interop.ITaskFolder.RegisterTaskDefinition(System.String, Microsoft.Win32.TaskScheduler.V2Interop.ITaskDefinition, Int32, System.Object, System.Object, Microsoft.Win32.TaskScheduler.TaskLogonType, System.Object)
at Microsoft.Win32.TaskScheduler.TaskFolder.RegisterTaskDefinition(System.String, Microsoft.Win32.TaskScheduler.TaskDefinition, Microsoft.Win32.TaskScheduler.TaskCreation, System.String, System.String, Microsoft.Win32.TaskScheduler.TaskLogonType, System.String)
at CorsairLink4.Win7.Services.UtilService.SetupApplicationRunAtStartup(Boolean)
at CorsairLink4.Win7.App..ctor(Boolean)
at CorsairLink4.Win7.App.Main(System.String[])
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 10-04-2017, 12:11 PM
Corsair CJ's Avatar
Corsair CJ Corsair CJ is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair CJ's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 684
POST ID # = 922174
Corsair CJ Reputation: 42
Exclamation Temporary Solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Dustin View Post
Aw, that's mean. If we wanted to force you to run LINK 24/7, we never would've had hardware playback in the first place. ;)

The real reason this change occurred was to enable synchronized lighting effects in the future as well as support upcoming RGB products that Lighting Node Pro and Commander Pro would not have been able to handle in hardware playback.

That said, I'm not pleased we had to sacrifice a feature people were used to in order to do that, and I'm working with the software team to provide short and hopefully long term solutions to this.

As I said before, we're working on it. The feedback has been heard loud and clear. I'm not in the office at present (out on a business trip) so I can't push for an immediate fix but I'm working on something.
Hey guys,

As requested by folks here in the forum, I've provided a downgrade path for both the LNP and CLCP to force flash the older, hardware-playback capable firmware for both devices. This requires that you use CL4.9 since it introduced the ability to do this through software (rather than the pinhole method), you can then roll back to CL4.8 after you flash the older device firmware.

How-to thread has been posted and pinned:
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=171536
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.