The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2017, 06:55 AM
mitkinkerman mitkinkerman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 893330
mitkinkerman Reputation: 10
Woah! Noctua NF-A14 PWM doesn't work with Corsair H110i?

Recently I bought 2 new Noctua NF-A14 140mm fans as a replacement for the default h110i fans but when I connect the two fans into h110i,only one of them are working,the other one doesn't spin and can't be read from Corsair Link.So I decided to put back my default corsair fans and they work flawlessly,please help?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-01-2017, 07:05 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 893338
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea Maybe one of the NF-A14s is faulty.

The should work and did in http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=875594

Maybe one of the NF-A14s is faulty. Do they work when you connect them to a PWM motherboard fan header?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-01-2017, 07:10 AM
mitkinkerman mitkinkerman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 893339
mitkinkerman Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
The should work and did in http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=875594

Maybe one of the NF-A14s is faulty. Do they work when you connect them to a PWM motherboard fan header?
No,both of the Noctua fans work flawlessly when I connect them to fan headers on my motherboard,it just doesn't work with h110i's 2 4-pin headers
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-02-2017, 07:32 AM
snapper69 snapper69 is offline
Registered User
snapper69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Shropshire, England
Posts: 1,771
POST ID # = 893510
snapper69 Reputation: 32
Default

Do they work if you plug them in one at a time, i.e. just plug fan 1 into header 1 then just plug fan 2 into header 2 of the H110i cable?

How does it get power? Is it via the motherboard header, in which case is it set for full power in the Bios or via a Sata cable? If it's a Sata cable is it plugged in properly, or can you try a different SATA cable?

Last edited by snapper69; 03-02-2017 at 07:52 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-02-2017, 08:01 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 893513
red-ray Reputation: 81
Sigh.. SATA power connector

Quote:
Originally Posted by snapper69 View Post
How does it get power?
Like all CoolIT based coolers the CoolIT H110i get's it's power from a SATA power connector
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-02-2017, 08:08 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 893515
red-ray Reputation: 81
Question Are the fan/fan being detected as 3-pin voltage rather than 4-pin PWM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitkinkerman View Post
No,both of the Noctua fans work flawlessly when I connect them to fan headers on my motherboard,it just doesn't work with h110i's 2 4-pin headers
All I can think of is that the H110i is detecting the fan/fan as 3-pin voltage rather than 4-pin PWM.

The only way I know to easily find out is to run my SIV utility and check what the mode is.

Quote:
Attached Images
File Type: png 3-pin voltage or 4-pin PWM.png (58.1 KB, 716 views)

Last edited by red-ray; 03-02-2017 at 08:18 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
corsair, fan, noctua

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.