The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #91  
Old 10-03-2019, 04:41 PM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 187
POST ID # = 1020134
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rimc_LT View Post
Do we get refund or new drive? And if new drive what chances that drive will be OK?
I've made the support staff AND the product manager VERY aware of this issue, and they have access to the tracker I've made, so I'm HOPING, and don't quote me on this, they'll do what they can to ensure it's from a completely different lot/batch.

As far as I'm aware, the chances of the new drive working exactly as advertised is very high. None of the many MP600 units I've tested, whether retail, engineering sample, etc., across multiple boards, have had any issues.

The big thing with getting your units in house is so we can test, whether that's by me personally or someone from our test team.
Reply With Quote


  #92  
Old 10-03-2019, 04:42 PM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 187
POST ID # = 1020135
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billeman View Post
I noticed the same issue today , write speed @ 1 Gbyte/s. Was running fine before.

After deleting DCS my free space went to 700GB, speed back to normal.

PCIE 4.0 doesn't seem that useful anymore now :(

3900x, Gigabyte X570 Master BIOS F7b, 2x16GB G.skill NEO 3600 16-19-19-19, Win10 1903, latest chipset drivers

MP600 1TB SN 19288290001285537BA EGFM 11.2

Used as OS Drive, first NVME (direct to CPU) slot, standard Corsair cooler, temps < 50C

I'm afraid it might be a 'hidden' feature but am hoping it's a FW Bug really.
Thanks for the info. Adding it to the tracker
Reply With Quote


  #93  
Old 10-04-2019, 09:37 PM
Jordan_ Jordan_ is offline
Registered User
Jordan_'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 1020270
Jordan_ Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks Kevin for finally recognising the problem! (took almost a month)
last tickets I had with corsair
First one #2000831163 it was assigned to Roth Kim, he denied my RMA because "This is the nature of SSDs. As you fill it, its overall performance will decrease." and he ignored my after that
#2000833028 (I was ignored and it was marked solved by Corsair team Roth Kim)
I opened new ticket #2000864815 (MP600 FORUM RMA) I hope to get response on that ticket anytime soon
Again I'm really thankful to you for recognising the problem even though customer service denied it!
Reply With Quote


  #94  
Old 10-05-2019, 02:01 PM
Mummy Mummy is offline
Registered User
Mummy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 220
POST ID # = 1020356
Mummy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mummy View Post
Where i can get my money back(JK)?
Only ~200mB at 100% used of the space of the drive...
LOL :D

EDIT: Next weekend im updateing MB Bios and testgin the system, before i update my sytem to use water...
So if any test or pic needs to be taken before that, then just ask..
Sorry needed to use the time for fix my sister family cars to be safe at upcoming Finnish winter.
So mabe next weekend if i dont get time on weekdays.

Cheers Mummy
Reply With Quote


  #95  
Old 10-06-2019, 12:37 PM
Rookal Rookal is offline
Registered User
Rookal's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1020445
Rookal Reputation: 10
Default Running at PCIE 3.0 speeds on Tuf x570 plus

Force MP 600 500gig - Serial # 193582310001285400DF

On a Asus TUF x570 plus gaming wifi
32 gigs of Corsair vengance LPX


Not getting PCIE 4.0 speeds - Only getting 3279.2 read and 2522.4 write.
Everything is up to date on motherboard and running latest firmware on drive.

This is a new drive from Newegg, so should I be RMA it with NewEgg or corsair?
Reply With Quote


  #96  
Old 10-07-2019, 02:58 PM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 187
POST ID # = 1020588
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jordan_ View Post
Thanks Kevin for finally recognising the problem! (took almost a month)
last tickets I had with corsair
First one #2000831163 it was assigned to Roth Kim, he denied my RMA because "This is the nature of SSDs. As you fill it, its overall performance will decrease." and he ignored my after that
#2000833028 (I was ignored and it was marked solved by Corsair team Roth Kim)
I opened new ticket #2000864815 (MP600 FORUM RMA) I hope to get response on that ticket anytime soon
Again I'm really thankful to you for recognising the problem even though customer service denied it!
SSDs can and will take performance hits as capacities fill up, so that's not an entirely incorrect statement for Roth to have made. However, there are methods to mitigate the decrease in performance, and with the numbers you're sharing, it does seem to be an abnormal drop in the performance.
Reply With Quote


  #97  
Old 10-07-2019, 03:10 PM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 187
POST ID # = 1020590
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rookal View Post
Force MP 600 500gig - Serial # 193582310001285400DF

On a Asus TUF x570 plus gaming wifi
32 gigs of Corsair vengance LPX


Not getting PCIE 4.0 speeds - Only getting 3279.2 read and 2522.4 write.
Everything is up to date on motherboard and running latest firmware on drive.

This is a new drive from Newegg, so should I be RMA it with NewEgg or corsair?
According to your system specs, you're using the Ryzen 3400G, is this correct? If so, this APU doesn't support PCIe Gen 4, only Gen 3.
Additionally, if those are the sequential numbers you're sharing, the MP600's sequential write speed tops out around 2500MB/s even on PCIe Gen 4. The sequential write speed, however, is consistent with PCIe Gen 3 speeds.

Last edited by Corsair Kevin; 10-07-2019 at 03:16 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #98  
Old 10-07-2019, 06:37 PM
Rookal Rookal is offline
Registered User
Rookal's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1020614
Rookal Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Kevin View Post
According to your system specs, you're using the Ryzen 3400G, is this correct? If so, this APU doesn't support PCIe Gen 4, only Gen 3.
Additionally, if those are the sequential numbers you're sharing, the MP600's sequential write speed tops out around 2500MB/s even on PCIe Gen 4. The sequential write speed, however, is consistent with PCIe Gen 3 speeds.
Thank you for your time and quick reply, I was not aware that the 3400g was only PCIE 3.0 compatible, your time is greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote


  #99  
Old 10-08-2019, 09:43 PM
Jordan_ Jordan_ is offline
Registered User
Jordan_'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 1020724
Jordan_ Reputation: 10
Default

Finally my Advanced RMA arrived



I ran Crystal Disk Mark
while it's empty



after I Filled it 96% of the capacity



2nd test



the lowest write speed I got was 3900MB/s, Now this is an acceptable drop in the performance not getting 20% of the advertised speed

seems my issue got resolved now I'm gonna send the old one back to corsair
Big thanks to Corsair Kevin he was the only one who believed that there was something abnormal and helped me


P.S there was a difference in the backing between the new(yellow) and old one (white)



Again THANKS Kevin
Reply With Quote


  #100  
Old 10-09-2019, 12:33 AM
Rimc_LT Rimc_LT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 32
POST ID # = 1020742
Rimc_LT Reputation: 10
Default

Good for You, Im still waiting mine but no notification for me, RMA said i need to send them but here Kevin said that i need to send mine then i receive my replacement. Hmmm.
Reply With Quote


  #101  
Old 10-09-2019, 05:00 AM
billeman billeman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1020756
billeman Reputation: 10
Default

The IOPS are different on the yellow one ??
Reply With Quote


  #102  
Old 10-09-2019, 10:44 AM
Rimc_LT Rimc_LT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 32
POST ID # = 1020783
Rimc_LT Reputation: 10
Default

Strange my white one package have yellow package iops
Reply With Quote


  #103  
Old 10-09-2019, 11:25 AM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 187
POST ID # = 1020790
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jordan_ View Post
Finally my Advanced RMA arrived

...

the lowest write speed I got was 3900MB/s, Now this is an acceptable drop in the performance not getting 20% of the advertised speed

seems my issue got resolved now I'm gonna send the old one back to corsair
Big thanks to Corsair Kevin he was the only one who believed that there was something abnormal and helped me


P.S there was a difference in the backing between the new(yellow) and old one (white)


Again THANKS Kevin
Glad you're seeing the proper performance numbers, Jordan. Most, if not all, of us here are open to the possibility of issues in any of the products we offer, whether it's due to an inherent design flaw or limited to a specific batch of any given product due to manufacturing. That being said, we also want to make sure we collect enough data before saying just to RMA primarily as a way to determine if there's a bigger issue we need to resolve. I really do appreciate your patience through this whole process, and it's always my pleasure to help out.

Still, my/our work is far from over, because once we receive the units from those affected here, we will begin failure analysis on them and really get to the cause of these performance drops.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote


  #104  
Old 10-09-2019, 12:05 PM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 187
POST ID # = 1020797
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rimc_LT View Post
Good for You, Im still waiting mine but no notification for me, RMA said i need to send them but here Kevin said that i need to send mine then i receive my replacement. Hmmm.
Hi Rim, did you specifically mention doing an advanced RMA with support? If not, can you PM me your ticket number and I'll get one of the support staff to look it up and I'll see what we can get underway.

As for the packaging differences, when we launch completely new products, there's a lot of logistical stuff that goes on in the background, particularly with packaging design. The white boxes were probably the initial packaging units and rather than being wasteful, they were used for retail units with stickers applied. Regarding the IOPS, the numbers could have changed as motherboard manufacturers, AMD, and we release software updates that improve baseline performance.
Reply With Quote


  #105  
Old 10-11-2019, 05:56 PM
Excel66 Excel66 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1021010
Excel66 Reputation: 10
Default

Hello Kevin!

My problem is that after firmware update from EGFM11.1 to EGFM11.2 my speed of the MP600 1TB got much slower in 4KiB operations. I made tests before and after the firmware update. My old Samsung EVO 850 got better result (325.3 MB/s) in 4KiB Q32T1 writing speed after the Firmware upgrade which is not acceptable i think. See picture below.
(Unfortunately few windows update also installed when I restarted the PC because of firmware update)
I filled up with datas at least 70% of the space, because check the 1000MB/s cap speed problem, but mine seems fine.

Motherboard: ASRock Z170 Extreme4
CPU: Intel Core i7-6700K Quad-Core 4GHz LGA1151
Memory brand: G.Skill
Memory model: RipJaws V Black DIMM Kit, (F4-3200C14D-32GVK)
Memory capacity: 32GB
Memory speed: DDR4-3200, CL14-14-14-34
BIOS Version: 7.50
Windows Build and Version: Windows 10 Pro x64, 1903, Build: 18362.418
MP600 capacity: 1TB
MP600 serial number (a photo of the sticker would be great):
MP600 Firmware Version: EGFM11.2
Using drive as OS or storage? Storage (now, later when mobo and cpu change possibly as OS)
Which M.2 slot? Only one slot on mobo
Stock heatsink on MP600? Stock

Are there any possibility to install 11.1 firmware again on the drive? Or make a new firmware?
Thanks your help and the support in advance!


Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.