The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Enthusiasts Section > System Builds, Modding, Custom Components, and Picture Gallery

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 01-31-2017, 02:26 AM
timr timr is offline
Registered User
timr's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 889269
timr Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charixfox View Post
O.o Might not take that many paychecks...

Wires: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AC4NQYG/
Controller: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B012FOV17O/

Total Cost: < $15
Right, but I have yet to tell her about the 21:9 monitor, mechanical keyboard, and high-end mouse I, uh, already kinda ordered for next month - I'm already in line for a fair amount of grief.

Plus, thanks to an acquisitive sibling, I got to replace nearly every tool I (used to) own. But I'm kind of getting used to that particular trial, and one day I may even learn not to lend things out.
Reply With Quote


  #32  
Old 01-31-2017, 04:36 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 889272
red-ray Reputation: 81
Thumbs up Thank you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charixfox View Post
red-ray:
Gift for you! Or... git for you?
Thank you, I download them with no issues.
Reply With Quote


  #33  
Old 02-10-2017, 05:12 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 890739
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow CORSAIR Lighting Node PRO

Given now there is the CORSAIR Lighting Node PRO I plan to get SIV to support this. All I need to do not is figure out the protocol it uses as the chances of Corsair making this available to me are close to zero.

Looking at the picture I suspect it can drive 2 x HD hubs, what do you think please?

Last edited by red-ray; 02-10-2017 at 05:16 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #34  
Old 02-10-2017, 06:13 PM
Charixfox Charixfox is offline
Doer of Things and Stuff
Charixfox's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 254
POST ID # = 890742
Charixfox Reputation: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Given now there is the CORSAIR Lighting Node PRO I plan to get SIV to support this. All I need to do not is figure out the protocol it uses as the chances of Corsair making this available to me are close to zero.

Looking at the picture I suspect it can drive 2 x HD hubs, what do you think please?
O.o XD

It's a little-known thing that factories in China are able to prototype and start producing copies of ideas or things within two weeks. I could easily see this product having been developed, coded, tooled in a factory, and produced since I brought up this thread. Apparently we got their attention. XD

Anyway, yeah, it claims to run two fan hubs and has an adapter, which is likely a cable that doesn't connect the 5V line from the hub.

At first I was confused about why it would handle only "four strips of ten LEDs per port" which would be 80 total when it can handle 144 fan LEDs, but it may be due to the strips being powered off this directly, which would make it an amperage issue.

The strips and fans both use WS2812s, I now know, so communication with the LEDs is no longer an issue, just a matter of deciphering the communication between CL4 and the LNP.
Reply With Quote


  #35  
Old 02-11-2017, 05:38 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 890892
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea I suspect not

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charixfox View Post
It's a little-known thing that factories in China are able to prototype and start producing copies of ideas or things within two weeks. I could easily see this product having been developed, coded, tooled in a factory, and produced since I brought up this thread. Apparently we got their attention. XD.
Thank you for your reply. I suspect this is not the situation as I recall posts by Corsair Dustbin eluding to there being a new lighting node planned and these must have been at least 14 months ago as by the time CL4 came out he had almost stopped posting at all. Further given the CL4 development team can't even fix simple bugs there is no way they could add support to CL4 in two weeks. The latest CL 4.5.0.55 doesn't report/control any of my LED DIMMs when CL 4.3.0.154 managed to report/control 1 or 2.
Reply With Quote


  #36  
Old 02-14-2017, 07:18 PM
migit1024 migit1024 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 891311
migit1024 Reputation: 10
Default

I have 6 SP120's in the PC I'm building soon so I'm going to mess with the FastLED project code to see if I can get temperature based colors going.

Anyone have experience with this? or wiring diagrams/gotchas? I used arduino drivers in grad school and even fixed a few bugs i found in them, so I dont need help with that part. Mainly just how to wire the arduino to the fans.
Reply With Quote


  #37  
Old 02-15-2017, 09:30 PM
Charixfox Charixfox is offline
Doer of Things and Stuff
Charixfox's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 254
POST ID # = 891421
Charixfox Reputation: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by migit1024 View Post
I have 6 SP120's in the PC I'm building soon so I'm going to mess with the FastLED project code to see if I can get temperature based colors going.

Anyone have experience with this? or wiring diagrams/gotchas? I used arduino drivers in grad school and even fixed a few bugs i found in them, so I dont need help with that part. Mainly just how to wire the arduino to the fans.
Somebody asked about the SP120 RGB fans so I ran tests on them quickly.

They are UCS1903 control chips IIRC, so that will be the "LED Type" in FastLED.

The fan LED cable pinout is identical to HD120 RGBs, but I recommend just using a hub. Then the GND from the hub can go to GND on the Arduino, +5 on the hub to VCC or RAW on the Arduino, and tie the data pin you use to the DATA on the hub.

It'll look pretty boring if your system is running well, but that's okay. :)
Reply With Quote


  #38  
Old 02-18-2017, 06:39 PM
migit1024 migit1024 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 891820
migit1024 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charixfox View Post
Somebody asked about the SP120 RGB fans so I ran tests on them quickly.

They are UCS1903 control chips IIRC, so that will be the "LED Type" in FastLED.

The fan LED cable pinout is identical to HD120 RGBs, but I recommend just using a hub. Then the GND from the hub can go to GND on the Arduino, +5 on the hub to VCC or RAW on the Arduino, and tie the data pin you use to the DATA on the hub.

It'll look pretty boring if your system is running well, but that's okay. :)
Couple questions/comments!

You have the pin diagram on your first post so I got that (thank you). I'm curious about the hub that comes with the kit and the data return line. If I use the hub, I'm guessing I dont need to worry about the data return line at all? I assume I just send the input to the input of the hub and it will send the signal to all the fans?

So with fastLED, you dont even need to tell it the baud rate or anything? just say "hey i have this chip" and it takes care of everything? That would be awesome... I'm not used to this level of awesome. This would be the easiest pet project ever if this is the case.

Also, do you know if the SP120's are limited to the colors we have using their controller (white/blue/green/orange/red/??)? Can I just give it an RGB code and tell it to do it?

And yea, it might end up being boring seeing as my PC is water cooled... Temps stay below 35 degrees so I might end up switching stuff up a bit. My plan is to create my own software so I can send whatever I want whenever I want. I could then make different profiles. One for cpu temp, one for gpu temp, one that just changes based on the time of day, one for just a static color where you input the rgb code yourself (if you can do that), etc.
Reply With Quote


  #39  
Old 02-18-2017, 07:00 PM
Charixfox Charixfox is offline
Doer of Things and Stuff
Charixfox's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 254
POST ID # = 891829
Charixfox Reputation: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by migit1024 View Post
Couple questions/comments!

You have the pin diagram on your first post so I got that (thank you).
Very welcome. ^.^

Quote:
I'm curious about the hub that comes with the kit and the data return line. If I use the hub, I'm guessing I dont need to worry about the data return line at all? I assume I just send the input to the input of the hub and it will send the signal to all the fans?
Correct. The hub properly chains all the fans together 1 through 6, so no worry about "Data return to data in".

Quote:
So with fastLED, you dont even need to tell it the baud rate or anything? just say "hey i have this chip" and it takes care of everything? That would be awesome... I'm not used to this level of awesome. This would be the easiest pet project ever if this is the case.
Again, correct, with caveats. FastLED handles the communication with the LEDs only. You just need to tell it what kind of control chip is in use and what data pin it's connected to on the Arduino. For size and capability, I highly recommend Pro Micros for this. However you do still have to write the Arduino code to handle communication with the computer. If this is serial, you'll need baud and such. If you use an AVR board that has a limited UART hardware buffer, you'll also have to ensure that your communications timing is clean, because the Arduino has its interrupts disabled while writing out to the LEDs for single-wire chips. However since the hub can only handle six LEDs, you're looking at a few tenths of a millisecond so it's probably not an issue for your situation.

Quote:
Also, do you know if the SP120's are limited to the colors we have using their controller (white/blue/green/orange/red/??)? Can I just give it an RGB code and tell it to do it?
They are 24-bit, PWM-faded RGB. FastLED will also handle HSV, which is nice, but remember that HSV does not go to true black with these. You can use them interchangeably too, so you can use HSV to step through Hue and make a rainbow, then use RGB for specific things that RGB is useful for. (HSV is nice for stuff like royal purples, since full red and blue makes a kind of fuchsia.)

One gotchya to be aware of: Most of the FastLED examples do color correction (typicalledstrip) and this should NOT be done unless you want to have video-accurate colors, which are not as bright or saturated. You will get much nicer results for "blinkenlights" displays without that.

Quote:
And yea, it might end up being boring seeing as my PC is water cooled... Temps stay below 35 degrees so I might end up switching stuff up a bit. My plan is to create my own software so I can send whatever I want whenever I want. I could then make different profiles. One for cpu temp, one for gpu temp, one that just changes based on the time of day, one for just a static color where you input the rgb code yourself (if you can do that), etc.
O.o

You can do anything. You can have one fan give one temp, another give another, and so on. You can have a set of code that cycles through spectrum hue based on temp, so cool goes between purple and green, warmer is green to yellow, then yellow to red, and pulsing red if doomed. Colors are a thing though. :)

I'm surprised you're using SPs, which have "One light per fan" as opposed to HDs, which have 12 lights per fan. But yeah, the code at the Git repository is an example of listening on the serial port for control data and doing different internal pre-built color functions based on the settings. I have no PC code yet ( T^T ) so no user-friendly way to use it, but it handles numerous things. A Pro Micro can also act as an HID device for comms instead of Serial, which opens up that as a possible way to do things.

That's what I get for giving up programming a decade ago. Now I have to re-learn alllllll the things.
Reply With Quote


  #40  
Old 02-19-2017, 05:59 PM
intender intender is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 891994
intender Reputation: 10
Default

Sorry for the noobish question, but I dont know a ton about these rgb setups. My LED experience has been limited to cars and offroad vehicles.

So what are the odds that the sp120rgb can run on 12v input. I have been trying to look up info on the controller you said was in them and I have found a few places that claim it can handle anywhere from 5v-24 but I dont know if those are using different controller designs for 5, 12 and 24v or all the same one. I have one of the sp120rgb fans and I just ordered a commander mini that came with the free led strips and two fans (fans are for another build) and was hoping it could control the sp120rgb fan.

If it cant handle the 12v from the commander mini could I just pull the 5v pin out of connector and supply it with 5v from a separate source or even solder in resistor to drop it to 5v? I have other fans and a AIO cooler from corsair so the commander mini wont go unused I just assumed there would be some way I could control the fan through an adapter cable of some sort, but after reading around about it more it seems like corsair might not ever get around to linking the two products.
Reply With Quote


  #41  
Old 02-19-2017, 06:29 PM
Charixfox Charixfox is offline
Doer of Things and Stuff
Charixfox's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 254
POST ID # = 891998
Charixfox Reputation: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by intender View Post
So what are the odds that the sp120rgb can run on 12v input. I have been trying to look up info on the controller you said was in them and I have found a few places that claim it can handle anywhere from 5v-24 but I dont know if those are using different controller designs for 5, 12 and 24v or all the same one. I have one of the sp120rgb fans and I just ordered a commander mini that came with the free led strips and two fans (fans are for another build) and was hoping it could control the sp120rgb fan.

If it cant handle the 12v from the commander mini could I just pull the 5v pin out of connector and supply it with 5v from a separate source or even solder in resistor to drop it to 5v? I have other fans and a AIO cooler from corsair so the commander mini wont go unused I just assumed there would be some way I could control the fan through an adapter cable of some sort, but after reading around about it more it seems like corsair might not ever get around to linking the two products.
Chances of running on 12V: Very, Very slim. More likely to fry it than anything. Doesn't matter, since the commander mini can't actually make the LEDs on an SP120 RGB light up, since it doesn't have the data information to do so. Just giving the LEDs power without data will result in no lights at all. The SP120 RGBs being UCS1903 control chips makes them somewhat of the Wednesday of the family, since even the Lighting Node Pro is out, but only controls the WS2812 LEDs on the strips and HD120 RGB fans.

So the old strip-addressable LED systems (Commander Mini) and the WS2812 LED systems (Lighting Node Pro) are out there, but SP120 RGB is left with NOOOOOothing.
Reply With Quote


  #42  
Old 02-20-2017, 09:51 AM
intender intender is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 892062
intender Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the info. I pulled the controller and splitter apart last night and did some poking around with my meter and I see now how it works. Guess I am just going to be stuck with this the way it is.
Reply With Quote


  #43  
Old 02-20-2017, 10:30 AM
scooterpsu's Avatar
scooterpsu scooterpsu is offline
Registered User
scooterpsu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 892068
scooterpsu Reputation: 10
Default

But isn't the controller that comes with the 3-pack of HD120s and SP120s the same controller?

Even if you only populate it with SP120's, the LNP can't do anything? That's a major oversight on Corsair's part.
Reply With Quote


  #44  
Old 02-20-2017, 04:38 PM
Charixfox Charixfox is offline
Doer of Things and Stuff
Charixfox's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 254
POST ID # = 892114
Charixfox Reputation: 19
Default

@Intender:
When in doubt, pull it apart and see. ^.^ Yeah, chances are the controller would fry on 12v too. I was relatively pleased that the HD controller and the hub were straightforward in traces so I was able to eyeball all the connections easily. The LNP by comparison has a black-painted PCB so the traces are impossible to see, so I had to look up chips to see why it has a 3.3v source pull.

Quote:
Originally Posted by scooterpsu View Post
But isn't the controller that comes with the 3-pack of HD120s and SP120s the same controller?

Even if you only populate it with SP120's, the LNP can't do anything? That's a major oversight on Corsair's part.
The SP controller is not the same as the HD controller. The hub is the same though, but the only thing the hub has is wiring and a decoupling capacitor.

The first (small) difference is that the SPs have "One address per fan" and the HDs have 12 addresses per fan. That's six addresses per hub of SPs and 72 addresses per hub of HDs.

The second (HUGE) difference is that the HDs and SPs LEDs use completely different hardware communications protocols. The HDs (And the strips that come with LNP) are WS2812 control chips. The SPs are UCS1903 control chips. When provided power and no instructions, they do nothing. Since they don't talk the same way for instructions, they will not work happily.

The SP120 HDs feel like a "This would be cool" idea using the UCS1903 chipset since it can be paired with four LEDs with the single chip, but not taking into account the fact that it doesn't talk the same as anything else.
Reply With Quote


  #45  
Old 02-20-2017, 07:51 PM
scooterpsu's Avatar
scooterpsu scooterpsu is offline
Registered User
scooterpsu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 892141
scooterpsu Reputation: 10
Default

Ah, thanks for clearing that up! I mistakenly assumed that Corsair would have the foresight to make a single controller that could handle both (even if not at the same time) to cut down on confusion.

Then I remembered that the US webstore was briefly selling Commander Mini's with free single HD120 RGB fans, because looking at features and connectors, there'd be no reason to think it wouldn't work. I can only imagine how many burned out fans that lead to...

It seems like there's like 5 dev teams all trying stuff at the same time without telling the others.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
hd120 rgb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.