The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2019, 06:43 PM
Zenny Zenny is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1008837
Zenny Reputation: 10
Default 12V ATX connector incompatibility (HX1200)?

I just purchased a HX1200, and was setting it up. I've run into some compatibility issues with my Gigabyte mobo (GA-990FXA-UD5 R5 (rev. 1.0)).

The problem is the 12V ATX.

This is the connector on the board.

And the cables:


I have indicated the square portions on both connectors.

If one of the resident gurus will assist me, that would be great. As is, I'm a bit out of luck; Google has forsaken me.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-21-2019, 07:15 PM
Waukeen Waukeen is offline
Banned
Waukeen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 263
POST ID # = 1008840
Waukeen Reputation: 16
Default

OK, so it's been bugging me since I responded and I realize I missed one of the things you were pointing out and I was incorrect. Got me on whats going on there.

Last edited by Waukeen; 06-21-2019 at 10:17 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-22-2019, 06:26 AM
Zenny Zenny is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1008896
Zenny Reputation: 10
Default

My description is lacking somewhat; I'm largely unfamiliar with the proper terminology, and the post was written after a long day, which didn't help much.

But, yes. I've never run into this issue before, but this is also my first fully modular PSU. My former was semi-modular, and one of the permanent cables matched.

I have made a quick edit of the pictures, which might highlight the issue better.



Edit: I found this: http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=186378
This person seems to have the same kind of connector, although with an added 4 pin.
He's being told to split the cable connector and use two cables.
Is that correct? Does the 8 pin connector need two CPU cables?
That's how I read it, but given that this person has a 8 pin as well as a 4 pin connector on his mobo, I thought I'd ask before I experiment and fry my computer.
If correct, does this person need a total of 3 CPU cables to power his mobo? I ask in part because I've considered that same motherboard as a future upgrade, and would need to order another cable if I'm reading it correctly. Not a big issue, but worth planning for.

Last edited by Zenny; 06-22-2019 at 09:13 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-22-2019, 11:38 AM
Waukeen Waukeen is offline
Banned
Waukeen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 263
POST ID # = 1008917
Waukeen Reputation: 16
Default

To address the 3x CPU power. That is only needed if you are going to get into extreme overclocking. Talking LN2 and such for that. So unless you think you need to provide more than 250w (I think that's the right number anyway) you don't need to worry about it. Does not affect the way the system runs. The 8-pin by itself should be all you need.

As for the cable, plug specifically, found this though I can't speak to the validity of it. While I don't expect to see the same thing on a different board (Asus ROG Max XI Code) this board has the same connector and plug. So it should be fine but having been a registered mechanic years ago it still makes me cringe when things don't look right but go together anyway. Take that for what it's worth but hope this helps you figure it out.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-22-2019, 02:22 PM
Zenny Zenny is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1008929
Zenny Reputation: 10
Default

Ow, my pride.

Yes, that worked perfectly. Thank you for the info regarding the other motherboard setup as well.

Amusingly, I have a similar background as you. Perhaps that's one reason the mismatched connectors seemed so inherently wrong to me.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-26-2019, 12:24 PM
AndresPaiva's Avatar
AndresPaiva AndresPaiva is offline
Registered User
AndresPaiva's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1009378
AndresPaiva Reputation: 10
Default

Hi everyone, I have the same issue with a CX550W PSU and a B450M DS3H motherboard.

The PSU's output has eight pins (4+4) but only one of them is compatible with the 8 pins' conexion in the motherboard.



I'm surprised, I guessed that conexions were universal.

The PC turn on and work. But I'm still doubt: can I use the CPU at 100% with only 4 pins connected?

Thanks, and excuse my english, I'm Argentinian, my native language is spanish.

PD: It's seems like this issue is common in Gigabyte's motherboards, right?

Last edited by AndresPaiva; 06-26-2019 at 12:35 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-27-2019, 12:45 PM
Corsair Notepad's Avatar
Corsair Notepad Corsair Notepad is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Notepad's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 347
POST ID # = 1009469
Corsair Notepad Reputation: 10
Default

So long as you are orienting the cable correctly it will fit. There is no need to force it to fit. The keyed connectors on the PSU and the motherboard may be different but they will fit and work 100% so long as you are using the correct cable.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-27-2019, 02:45 PM
AndresPaiva's Avatar
AndresPaiva AndresPaiva is offline
Registered User
AndresPaiva's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1009476
AndresPaiva Reputation: 10
Important

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Notepad View Post
So long as you are orienting the cable correctly it will fit. There is no need to force it to fit. The keyed connectors on the PSU and the motherboard may be different but they will fit and work 100% so long as you are using the correct cable.
Hello! Nice to meet you.

Do you realize that the pins on the right connector do not have the same shape as those on the 8-pin connector on the motherboard??

Pay attention to this diagram:



The EPS connector from the CX550W doesn't fit completely in the motherboard's ATX 12V connector.

Please read this too:

Quote:
4+4 pin +12 volt power cable

Motherboards can come with either a 4 pin 12 volt connector or an 8 pin 12 volt connector. Many power supplies come with a 4+4 pin 12 volt cable which is compatible with both 4 and 8 pin motherboards. A 4+4 power cable has two separate 4 pin pieces. If you plug the two pieces of a 4+4 power cable together then you have a 8 pin power cable which can be plugged into an 8 pin 12 volt connector. If you leave the two pieces separate then you can plug one of the 4 pin pieces into a 4 pin 12 volt connector and leave the other 4 pin piece unplugged.

If you look carefully at the image above then you can see the polarization of the pins which prevents you from plugging the cable in improperly. Some of the pins are square and some of them have rounded off corners. The motherboard connectors have matching square and rounded off corners to prevent the cable from being plugged in the wrong way. But if you look really carefully at the right half of this particular cable and then look at the 8 pin 12 volt cable pictured above you'll notice that they don't match. A regular 8 pin cable has four square pins and four rounded ones but the 4+4 cable shown above has two square pins and 6 rounded ones. The left half of the 4+4 matches the left half of an 8 pin cable but the right half is different. Hmmmm... And this isn't some bizarre cable either. I've seen plenty of 4+4s which look like this one. And then there are other 4+4 cables which look just like an 8 pin cable split in two (which makes sense). Since rounded pins fit into square holes in motherboard connectors, this particular cable will fit just fine into an 8 pin 12 volt motherboard connector. But both halves of this 4+4 will fit into a 4 pin 12 volt motherboard connector. You're supposed to use the left half of the cable shown above when plugging it into a 4 pin motherboard connector but the right half will also fit. As it happens, either half will work fine in a 4 pin motherboard because both halves of the 4+4 just provide 12 volts. The pinouts are the same for both halves so either one will work. I'm not sure why they make cables like this one because you'd figure a 4+4 cable would just be an 8 pin cable which splits in two. And you only need one half of a 4+4 cable to plug into a 4 pin motherboard. The other half is unused. But the kind of 4+4 cable shown above is pretty common so don't let it throw you.

Source: http://www.playtool.com/pages/psucon...html#eps4plus4

Now, Anybody in Corsair can explain this to me?

Because this PSU has been a waste of money for me. I can only feed the processor with 4 pins. It may be enough for the Ryzen 5 that I have now, but ... what will happen in the near future when I decide to update it for another more powerful processor with higher power requirements?

Thanks!

Last edited by AndresPaiva; 06-27-2019 at 03:39 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-27-2019, 03:41 PM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 236
POST ID # = 1009481
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

I have a MSI B350M Bazooka motherboard and it took a bit of work to get the EPS12V cable to connect properly but eventually I was able to get it installed.

I have the AX860i which has dual EPS12V cables but this motherboard only needs one of them.

The problem with the GA-990FXA-UD5 R5 is that it uses dual ATX12V instead of the EPS12V which is the problem. You are going to have to find a different PSU cable two with ATX12V cables.
__________________

Cooler Master HAF 932 chassis with the Corsair HX1000i PSU

Hardcore Games - Legendary of the Only Way to Play

I have been a vegan since 1969. I have experienced more prejudice than anyone could possibly ever imagine.

Last edited by Vegan; 06-27-2019 at 03:46 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-27-2019, 03:58 PM
AndresPaiva's Avatar
AndresPaiva AndresPaiva is offline
Registered User
AndresPaiva's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1009485
AndresPaiva Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegan View Post
I have a MSI B350M Bazooka motherboard and it took a bit of work to get the EPS12V cable to connect properly but eventually I was able to get it installed.

I have the AX860i which has dual EPS12V cables but this motherboard only needs one of them.

The problem with the GA-990FXA-UD5 R5 is that it uses dual ATX12V instead of the EPS12V which is the problem. You are going to have to find a different PSU cable two with ATX12V cables.
Thanks for your answer.

But I prefer do not try to do it for my self, because I can broke something (and miss my warranty).

Also I think that my PSU should to be compatible, I mean, I paid for a quality product.

Excuse my english, I'm Argentinian, my native language is spanish.

I note that "rounded edges" actually fits in "completely squares edges", but no one in Corsair, Gigabyte or AMD is capable to explain to me the important of the difference in the shape of the pins.

It is reasonable to assume that pines of different shapes should not be connected to each other, even if they fit together.

So, does anyone here have a remote idea about how these pins work?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 06-27-2019, 08:15 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,292
POST ID # = 1009509
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

The pins are shaped differently so that you can't plug it in backwards. D pins can fit into D shaped holes - or square holes, but square pins can't fit into D holes.

4+4 pin connectors are designed so that if you need to use them as 4 pin connectors, you can split them in half and use it in that fashion and it'll work. When they're not split apart, they'll fit into the ATX_12V 8 pin motherboard connector and work as intended.

You should use the full connector, not half of it.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 06-28-2019, 09:22 AM
AndresPaiva's Avatar
AndresPaiva AndresPaiva is offline
Registered User
AndresPaiva's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1009550
AndresPaiva Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
The pins are shaped differently so that you can't plug it in backwards. D pins can fit into D shaped holes - or square holes, but square pins can't fit into D holes.

4+4 pin connectors are designed so that if you need to use them as 4 pin connectors, you can split them in half and use it in that fashion and it'll work. When they're not split apart, they'll fit into the ATX_12V 8 pin motherboard connector and work as intended.

You should use the full connector, not half of it.
Hello, a pleasure to meet you.

Thanks for your answer.

As I said, the "D" shaped pins can fit in the squares, but they have different shapes, so it is reasonable to assume that they should not be connected to each other.

I still do not understand the most important thing: can I connect a rounded pin of the PSU to a square pin on the motherboard?

I need someone in Corsair to explain it to me, because in terms of hardware, the common user (like me) should not assume that two different connectors are compatible. They are supposed to be different for a good reason.

I hope I have expressed myself correctly.

Regards
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 06-28-2019, 01:03 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,292
POST ID # = 1009572
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

Yes, rounded pins can fit into square holes. Line up the cable's clip with the corresponding lip on the connector and it'll always go in correctly.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 06-28-2019, 03:20 PM
Waukeen Waukeen is offline
Banned
Waukeen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 263
POST ID # = 1009593
Waukeen Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
Yes, rounded pins can fit into square holes. Line up the cable's clip with the corresponding lip on the connector and it'll always go in correctly.
As I said earlier in this thread. Just plug it in as this is normal. Yes it is cringe worthy but it will be fine. Or you can continue to ask questions and ignore the people telling you it will be fine.

Sorry that last part wasn't directed at you Tech.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 06-28-2019, 07:43 PM
AndresPaiva's Avatar
AndresPaiva AndresPaiva is offline
Registered User
AndresPaiva's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1009652
AndresPaiva Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waukeen View Post
As I said earlier in this thread. Just plug it in as this is normal. Yes it is cringe worthy but it will be fine. Or you can continue to ask questions and ignore the people telling you it will be fine.

Sorry that last part wasn't directed at you Tech.
Thanks for your answer.

But perhaps the problem is precisely the other way around.

No one has yet given me a concrete answer to what I am asking.

Yes, you tell me that I must connect it and that it will be fine.

But nobody can explain why the pins have different shape, nor what is the logic that I must follow to operate my hardware safely.

I am cautious because I can not risk losing my hardware warranty.

I just thought that there were people with more knowledge here, capable of teaching me.
I need a technical explanation to be able to learn.

It seems that no one really knows how the EPS connection works. You, for example, only tell me that everything is fine without a reason, it is a matter of faith.

Anyway, I appreciate your attention, it's just that I need technical information about my hardware to understand how it works.

Greetings.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.