The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-15-2019, 08:21 PM
Arcygenical Arcygenical is offline
Registered User
Arcygenical's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1021387
Arcygenical Reputation: 10
Default Commander Pro getting... Hot?

Hello all,

I'm using the commander pro to, eventually, sync up some RBG fans and WS2812B light strips.

The unit works fine, and does what I need it to.

However, I noticed, after a night of idling (nothing attached, not a single header was populated) the unit was very, very warm. I was simply doing a 24 hour CPU stress test on a bench rig that I use, mainly for 3D printing and programming Arduino (can't BSOD during a 12 hour 3D print!)

The case was easy enough to open, and using both an IR thermometer, and one of the thermistors/ Temp probes included with the Commander Pro, the two small chips, labeled 339 G0O4918, were reaching temperatures of over 60c. The IR thermometer showed 63c, and the thermistor registered 58c.

Most people say their units are cool to the touch. Mine was not.

Again, iCue was open, to the monitoring dashboard. Nothing was plugged into the unit, not even the temperature probes.

I tried this again on my main system, and noticed the exact same behavior. Voltages were all within ATX specifications, within a few mv away from optimal as per a multimeter.

Is this... Normal for these units?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-15-2019, 08:58 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,622
POST ID # = 1021388
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

I don't think too many people's Commander Pro are cool to the touch. If so, they are touching the wrong spot. It has a very definite central hot spot. I have never taken the cover off assess the individual circuits, but reaching near 40C on the shell is pretty common. This one has been running for two years. No problems.

25C ambient room temp
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-15-2019, 09:52 PM
Arcygenical Arcygenical is offline
Registered User
Arcygenical's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1021391
Arcygenical Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you very much. I appreciate the FLIR image. That goes in-line with what I'm experiencing.

The reason I was worried, is that I received a unit that had a fault in it. I have since RMA'd to the vendor, but I was skeptical about something on my end... It seems weird to see chips like that hitting 60c in such a non-use condition... IMHO at least.

Last edited by Arcygenical; 10-15-2019 at 10:04 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.