The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2019, 12:38 PM
K1llaHurtz K1llaHurtz is offline
Registered User
K1llaHurtz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1014746
K1llaHurtz Reputation: 10
Default Countless Issues with LL120 RGB

Ok, so like many others I am having very odd, unpredictable and unstable issues with my Corsair LL120 RGB Fans.

About 3 months ago I bought 2 of the 3 pack LL120 fans. I set them up using one of the provided RGB Hubs and one of the provided Lighting Node Pro's with the LED wire connected to slot 1 of the LNP. Everything worked great at first, but slowly I started experiencing intermittent issues where any of the animations would periodically freeze on anywhere from 1 to all of the fans but not any specific fan, completely random which fans would freeze. Later I started experiencing issues where some of the fans would just turn off all-together leaving only 1 fan on. If I set that fan to anything other than a solid color it would work for maybe 3-5 minutes then the animation would freeze. Where my fans are now is that I basically can never get all 6 working at once. Here's what I've tried to troubleshoot:

1. First I verified I was running the most current Firmware and iCUE software, I was.
2. Swapping fan LED wires around on the hub. This never results in a "process of elimination" troubleshoot where I can deem any one slot on the hub or any one fan to be at fault. I went so far to number each LED wire from the fans with a number on a piece of tape (1-6). Basically I can get all of the fans to light-up individually and I can even get any/all of the fans to light-up doing 2 at a time in slots 1 and 2 in any order but once I start connecting anywhere between 3-5, a fan that previously would light up no longer works. This has led me to believe that the "passthrough" feature of the fans isn't the issue as all fans are able to do this fine until I connect all 6. So this leads me to the second troubleshooting step.
3. Since I bought 2 x 3 packs I had an extra lighting node pro and fan hub. I Swapped out the ones I had installed for the brand new ones and I get a variation of the same result. Again, there's been no way to identify a hardware issue because "process of elimination" hasn't deemed any of the fans at fault and since I am now using a brand new LNP and Hub it appears to be a software issue of some-kind.
4. Went ahead and bought a completely NEW Commander Pro. Still doesn't work.
5. Tried swapping out the USB header the LNP was connected to on the motherboard. Same result. Also tried using a completely different USB cable that I plugged into the rear IO panel bypassing the USB headers all together. Same issue.
6. Tried several variations of SATA connectors. Putting the LNP and HUB on a single SATA cable that only had 2 connections on it with no other devices on that SATA cable. Tried swapping the order of the LNP and HUB on the Sata chain. Tried splitting the LNP and HUB onto two separate SATA cables that were isolated from eachother and had no other devices on them.
7. Tried rolling back the Firmware version on the LNP to previous versions as other forum posts mentioned this may work.
8. Tried other forum suggestions like stopping the Corsair service from running and then restarting iCue.
9. Did a complete fresh install of Windows 10.
10. I thought maybe it was a power issue so I bought a completely BRAND NEW HX1200 Platinum PSU. Nope, same result.
11. Ended up disconnecting everything from the PSU except the 2 Sata connections for the LNP and HUB. I disconnected the USB from the motherboard and did the reset on the LNP where you power it down, press in the reset button with a pin etc. I figured this SHOULD atleast reset the fans to factory and completely isolate it from iCUE/Windows all together. SAME RESULT.
12. I tried just running 3 of the fans on the hub that I double confirmed putting them in any order on the hub would work. This worked for a bit but then after a restart would go back to only 1 fan lighting up. Or, sometimes when I start iCUE and they're all lit up if I switch to an animation effect like wave they will all work for 2-3 minutes then the animation will freeze or 2 of the fans will turn off all together. In some instances I 1 of the fans will stay lit with only part of the fan animating and 1 or 2 of the other fans partially lit and partially dark, sometimes super dim.
13. I've tried uninstalling all monitoring software and any other RGB software thinking maybe something weird was conflicting.
14. I've undone all cable management and confirmed there's enough slack in the cables. I cannot locate any physical break in the wiring or the fans, hub or LNP anywhere.

Overall I'm not sure what is happening with these fans. I've read a dozen or so forum posts with people having similar issues with no resolve. I'm generally frustrated that I spend ~$250 on these fans for the RGB and it doesn't work. I'm thinking there must be some issue with the firmware or iCue that breaks the RGB functionality to the point where even if you disconnect from the motherboard all together they have something stored in memory that is breaking these fans.

I hate the idea of pulling these fans out and cutting my losses on the $250 because these are the nicest RGB fans WHEN they work but I've probably put 12 hours of my own time into trying to get them working with no luck. Would love some kind of solution.

EDIT: So I just got another Firmware update for the Lighting Node Pro and after the firmware updated suddenly Gigabyte's RGB Fusion software opened. Very strange, I have RGB Fusion installed again but not set to open automatically so I never keep it running but what with iCUE updating the Lighting Node Pro firmware would cause RGB Fusion to open? Very strange, I wonder if there's some firmware conflict between RGB Fusion and the Lighting Node Pro??

Last edited by K1llaHurtz; 08-15-2019 at 03:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-16-2019, 02:07 PM
solarity solarity is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 728
POST ID # = 1014864
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

Strange, I just replied to someone on Gigabyte's forum with the exact same name: http://forum.gigabyte.us/thread/5504...-icue-software


You did a lot of trouble shooting. Could you do me a favor and go to the LNP/CoPro and click Lighting Setup, Channel that your fans are connected to and verify that your fans are set to 6 fans and not 2?
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-16-2019, 07:01 PM
K1llaHurtz K1llaHurtz is offline
Registered User
K1llaHurtz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1014888
K1llaHurtz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarity View Post
Strange, I just replied to someone on Gigabyte's forum with the exact same name: http://forum.gigabyte.us/thread/5504...-icue-software


You did a lot of trouble shooting. Could you do me a favor and go to the LNP/CoPro and click Lighting Setup, Channel that your fans are connected to and verify that your fans are set to 6 fans and not 2?
Hey, yep! That's me as well, RGB issues seem to be my thing lately. Did you see my edit on this post where I mentioned how updating the firmware on the LNP caused Gigabyte's RGB Fusion software to open when it wasn't previously opened? That sort of makes me wonder if my RGB issues on the motherboard are linked to the issues with iCUE/LNP somehow, like the firmwares are conflicting somehow?

Anyway, to answer your question; yeah that's like one of the first/basic things I've done. Right now it's actually set to just 3 fans since I disconnected 3 entirely and was trying to just get 3 working first, no luck though.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-17-2019, 01:17 PM
KROSKI KROSKI is offline
Registered User
KROSKI's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 1014940
KROSKI Reputation: 10
Default

i didnt read anything but i saw u use icue and the LL fans lol. Link has way way WAAAAAYy better rainbow effects than Icue lol download Link now
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-2019, 01:25 PM
cluster- cluster- is offline
Registered User
cluster-'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1015018
cluster- Reputation: 10
Default

I have the exact same issue. Same problem description. Same troubleshooting.

The status for me right now is that only 2 out of my total 5 LL fans actually give away any light what so ever. Only 50 % of the first fan in the chain actually renders the set lighting effect. The other 50% of the first and the first 75% of the second fan is all disco lights. The last 25% of the second fan on to the rest of the fans are completely turned off.

Last edited by cluster-; 08-18-2019 at 02:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-18-2019, 01:32 PM
K1llaHurtz K1llaHurtz is offline
Registered User
K1llaHurtz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1015020
K1llaHurtz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cluster- View Post
I have the exact same issue. Same problem description. Same troubleshooting.

The status for me right now is that only 2 out of my total 5 LL fans actually give away any light what so ever. Only 50 % of the first fan in the chain actually renders the set lightning effect. The other 50% of the first and the first 75% of the second fan is all disco lights. The last 25% of the second fan on to the rest of the fans are completely turned off.

Very interesting. This is incredibly similar to my experience as well. Out of curiosity what Motherboard are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-18-2019, 01:59 PM
cluster- cluster- is offline
Registered User
cluster-'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1015022
cluster- Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K1llaHurtz View Post
Very interesting. This is incredibly similar to my experience as well. Out of curiosity what Motherboard are you using?
Sry, just updated my specs with the model. :)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-18-2019, 02:15 PM
cluster- cluster- is offline
Registered User
cluster-'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1015025
cluster- Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K1llaHurtz View Post
Very interesting. This is incredibly similar to my experience as well. Out of curiosity what Motherboard are you using?
Have you by any chance played The Division 2? I remember that they loaded custom lighting profiles when I started the game for the first time. Don't know if that's the cause, but it's the only other thing I can think of.

Last edited by cluster-; 08-18-2019 at 02:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-18-2019, 02:27 PM
K1llaHurtz K1llaHurtz is offline
Registered User
K1llaHurtz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1015026
K1llaHurtz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cluster- View Post
Have you by any chance played The Division 2? I remember that they loaded custom lighting profiles when I started the game for the first time. Don't know if that's the cause, but it's the only other thing I can think of.
I do not. I mostly play BF5, BO4 and Forza Horizon 4. I typically don't set custom profiles for games but I do know some RGB software will set them by default, for instance Razer Synapse did.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-18-2019, 04:17 PM
cluster- cluster- is offline
Registered User
cluster-'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1015031
cluster- Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K1llaHurtz View Post
I do not. I mostly play BF5, BO4 and Forza Horizon 4. I typically don't set custom profiles for games but I do know some RGB software will set them by default, for instance Razer Synapse did.
I realised that I haven't actually tried downgrading the LNP like you did. I'm going to have to try that, but it'll have to wait until next weekend for me though. I think I still have my LNP lying around somewhere. *scratches head*

>> HD RGB Fans won't work via link and lighting node pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.