The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2005, 11:05 PM
iced98lx iced98lx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 213903
iced98lx Reputation: 10
Angry Athlon XP3200 Corsair 1001

I've installed the Corsair 1001 system on my XP3200 and I"m haveing drat for luck on temps. Currently the system will only idle at 47-50.. which is rather dissapointing. Also, when did the fans switch from panaflow to the other one?? I was waaay dissapointed when I heard this fan run.

anyway: the system has great flow, but I don't think it's getting good contact with the cpu? I had the springs switched around (soft opposite the bump) but I've corrected that with no gains in temps. I've reapplied thermal paste, etc and am ready to give up and go back to my air cooling, it was just as loud as this, but actually worked. It sounds like there may be air in the system (slight noise from pump on start up, which quickly goes away), but I've tipped and powercycled etc and the liquid isn't frothy..

annnny suggestions appreciated.

chris

Last edited by iced98lx; 09-21-2005 at 11:53 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-22-2005, 01:07 AM
lhyde lhyde is offline
Registered User
lhyde's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Summerland BC Canada
Posts: 60
POST ID # = 213920
lhyde Reputation: 10
Default

Check the tubing for kinks or narrowed sections. Any restrictions to fluid flow?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-22-2005, 09:21 AM
iced98lx iced98lx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 213950
iced98lx Reputation: 10
Default

flow is great, I can monitor the system in the bios until it gets to 50 degrees or so, shut it down, pull off the block and hte copper is cool to the touch, where as anything else on the board is hotter than all get out. Obviously I"m just missing something mounting wise, but I've done it 20 times if i've done it once.. I've mounted countless cooling solutions, but this one seems to be giving me trouble...

chris

EDIT: this may help- when I run the system with the fan off it idles at the same 47 in windows as with the fan on.. (radiator fan)does this point to bad flow or bad block to cpu?? has anyone with a K7 had to use a coldplate/shim?


chris

Last edited by iced98lx; 09-22-2005 at 10:16 AM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-22-2005, 10:59 AM
lhyde lhyde is offline
Registered User
lhyde's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Summerland BC Canada
Posts: 60
POST ID # = 213955
lhyde Reputation: 10
Default

My kits arrived to water cool the AMD Barton 2800's. Also a P160. I'll let you know in a day or 2 if my conversion went ok. Gonna move one system from a 24" tower to the P160. Then in a week change the last PC to WC in a Lian Li 6070A.
With my aircooled AMD I've not used a shim.
The fact that you can't feel heat on the CPU block, but the CPU gets hot; makes my wonder if you've got tight contact. The surface area of the XP being so small,(compared to a P4) it wouldn't take much of slight tilt of the block to be missing most of the chip.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-22-2005, 11:12 AM
iced98lx iced98lx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 213961
iced98lx Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lhyde
My kits arrived to water cool the AMD Barton 2800's. Also a P160. I'll let you know in a day or 2 if my conversion went ok. Gonna move one system from a 24" tower to the P160. Then in a week change the last PC to WC in a Lian Li 6070A.
With my aircooled AMD I've not used a shim.
The fact that you can't feel heat on the CPU block, but the CPU gets hot; makes my wonder if you've got tight contact. The surface area of the XP being so small,(compared to a P4) it wouldn't take much of slight tilt of the block to be missing most of the chip.
my concerns exactly, but the compound seems to leave a nice uniform rectangle.. (not that this couldn't occur when I was holding it up to seat it)

I'm thinking a very thin copper cold plate might be in order..

dern it all, I purchased this sytem off the review of http://modthebox.com he ran it with an athlon xp3200 and got wonderfull results.. oh well!

back to troubleshooting!

Chris
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-22-2005, 11:47 AM
lhyde lhyde is offline
Registered User
lhyde's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Summerland BC Canada
Posts: 60
POST ID # = 213968
lhyde Reputation: 10
Default

I think when I do my conversion; I will add the CPU block with the mobo out of the case. This way I can maybe see gaps, or maybe use a feeler gauge to see if there is space between CPU and Block.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-22-2005, 01:59 PM
iced98lx iced98lx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 214006
iced98lx Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lhyde
I think when I do my conversion; I will add the CPU block with the mobo out of the case. This way I can maybe see gaps, or maybe use a feeler gauge to see if there is space between CPU and Block.
I'll slide my mobotray out and see if I can get any paper etc between.. just check the gap.. otherwise I"m out of options!

chris
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-22-2005, 06:27 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
KaptCrunch KaptCrunch is offline
Registered User
KaptCrunch's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 571
POST ID # = 214081
KaptCrunch Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iced98lx
I'll slide my mobotray out and see if I can get any paper etc between.. just check the gap.. otherwise I"m out of options!

chris
wear a anti-static strap an touch the paper to case first, by the way whats your room temp at?
__________________
ASUS X99/3.1 *
Server Case*
PSU Seasonic 100amp
LG BD
Sharp 46” LCD*
APC 1400 RM Smart-Up*
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-22-2005, 06:46 PM
iced98lx iced98lx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 214092
iced98lx Reputation: 10
Default

room temps are 70-72 degrees F.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-24-2005, 02:07 AM
lhyde lhyde is offline
Registered User
lhyde's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Summerland BC Canada
Posts: 60
POST ID # = 214373
lhyde Reputation: 10
Default

Well, I've just spent the better part of a day transfering my A7N8X-E-Dx/Barton 2800 from a 24" tower that had poor airflow; to my new Antec P160. While doing this conversion, I added a CWC100-1001. With the mobo out of the case, I put the CPU block on. I could not see any gap between the block and CPU with a light behind it; nor, could I get a feeler gauge to slip into there. So I assume the block is tight to the chip. Before the change to water, I was getting 51*C under load. Now with water added, for the past hour I've watched the temp go from 39*C to 50*C under the same load. Case temp has stayed the same at 32*C. Room at 24*C

Iced98 ... I too am disappointed. With the P4 conversions, the temp dropped 13*C. With the AMD chip almost nil change. The only thing I can think of ... is that the P4 being 1.25" square makes a bigger contact patch on the block and therefore cools better. The AMD chip has such a small contact patch, the heat isn't being bled off as easily. I'll see how the next conversion goes; but right now I suspect the same results. It's a Barton 2800 on a A7N8X-Dx in a Lian-Li 6070A case.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-24-2005, 04:13 PM
iced98lx iced98lx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 214433
iced98lx Reputation: 10
Default Fixer

well I had a revelation.. I reseated it, and suddenly.. it worked.

not spectacularly, but decent.

I idle at 44 and load to 53~ish. (48 if the room is cool, 65-70, 53 is room temp at 80) My inbox temps are pretty high (45 when cold room 50 when warm room) but that's just because I have one 80mm @ 7v and a 40mm @ 7v for my graphics card... anyway moral of the story I now have a large water loop in my system I have to dump another $100 into to make work like some reviews said it would.. I'm still going to get a shim and a coldplate.. just to see.. otherwise a new block set and some new tubing will be in order.

chris
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-27-2005, 06:22 PM
lhyde lhyde is offline
Registered User
lhyde's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Summerland BC Canada
Posts: 60
POST ID # = 215044
lhyde Reputation: 10
Default

I completed the conversion on the last PC. A7N8X-DX/Barton 2800. Before conversion to Corsair Cool: CPU temp 50*C; MB 33*C; room 23*C. After Conversion: CPU 40*C; MB 30*C; room 23*C.
This seems to point to the maybe poor contact I have with the the other PC with a Barton 2800. It climbed to 51*C. Basically what it was on air cooling. I will try a reseating of the block and see if I can get better contact.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 09-27-2005, 06:54 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
KaptCrunch KaptCrunch is offline
Registered User
KaptCrunch's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 571
POST ID # = 215057
KaptCrunch Reputation: 10
Default

ithinks u got air locks in the system.
__________________
ASUS X99/3.1 *
Server Case*
PSU Seasonic 100amp
LG BD
Sharp 46” LCD*
APC 1400 RM Smart-Up*
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 09-27-2005, 07:18 PM
lhyde lhyde is offline
Registered User
lhyde's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Summerland BC Canada
Posts: 60
POST ID # = 215063
lhyde Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks CaptC: I'll check that out again. I did burp it pretty well and did the 45* tilt thing again, but I did notice it didn't take as much fluid as the other installs. I did check for kinks and flat spots but it is okay that way. With the small contact patch on a AMD; it wouldn't take much of a tilt on the block to make poor contact.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 09-27-2005, 09:32 PM
iced98lx iced98lx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 215101
iced98lx Reputation: 10
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by lhyde
Thanks CaptC: I'll check that out again. I did burp it pretty well and did the 45* tilt thing again, but I did notice it didn't take as much fluid as the other installs. I did check for kinks and flat spots but it is okay that way. With the small contact patch on a AMD; it wouldn't take much of a tilt on the block to make poor contact.
Exactly- I moved my PC into the house after working on it in the garage and BAM idle temps are back to 46-48 instead of 44. I'm going to get a shim and maybe a small coldplate and see if that helps..

as for the airlocks, I tilted at 45 degree angle, and ran it for... a long time, and then turned it on and off.. and on and off... lol I can't get anymore air out of it, is there something I'm missing? My stupid incase temps are rising over 50 on full load, and up till this moment the machine has refused to stay on for more than three minets at a time without hard rebooting.. I've upped my fan voltage to 7v from 5v, hopefully this will keep the NB cooler... if not I'll add a 2nd 7v fan. suggestions welcome, as always.


Chris

Last edited by iced98lx; 09-27-2005 at 09:35 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.