The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2020, 07:04 AM
2FAN 2FAN is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1032349
2FAN Reputation: 10
Default 3200 or 3600 mhz ram

Hello,

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/B450M-MORTAR-MAX

I have this motherboard. I have a Ryzen 5 3600x processor.

Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL18
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 3200MHz CL16

Which of these rams would you recommend me to buy? And why?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-22-2020, 07:00 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 625
POST ID # = 1032444
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

You should buy memory based on what's listed as compatible on your motherboard manufacturer's website.

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/supp...support-mem-19
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-23-2020, 12:04 PM
2FAN 2FAN is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1032545
2FAN Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair StormShadow View Post
You should buy memory based on what's listed as compatible on your motherboard manufacturer's website.

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/supp...support-mem-19
https://www.corsair.com/ca/en/Catego...6GX4M2Z3600C18

Why doesn't it support 4 dimm with my motherboard? I can't use 4 of these rams?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-31-2020, 03:29 PM
Exmortis Exmortis is offline
Registered User
Exmortis's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 53
POST ID # = 1033494
Exmortis Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2FAN View Post
https://www.corsair.com/ca/en/Catego...6GX4M2Z3600C18

Why doesn't it support 4 dimm with my motherboard? I can't use 4 of these rams?

Thanks.
That would be a question to ask MSI.

There are a lot of reasons, from topology of the memory layout to B450 chipset and quality of power delivery phases. It is not a guarantee that a memory config on the QVL will 100% work, but its a good place to start when buying Ram for a board. The QVL is just a place to find what memory in what configuration and sizes the manufacturer has tested and certified working in thier lab (or whom ever they contracted to do the work).

You can take a chance and buy them and try, but I would not recommend it. Before I bought my Dominator RGB 4x8GB, I checked my the QVL for my board, and the kit I wanted was on the list. So its a good bet I would have no issues, and I have had none so far.

Last edited by Exmortis; 01-31-2020 at 03:32 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.