The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2020, 01:52 PM
BanditTA BanditTA is offline
Registered User
BanditTA's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1033398
BanditTA Reputation: 10
Default 128gm ram (4x32gb)?

Hi long time Corsair product user but been out of it for a while.

I am trying to get 128GB RAM 3200 DDR4. I can find sets of 2X32GB for sale such as this

https://www.newegg.com/corsair-64gb-...82E16820236586

but according to what I am seeing on the ASUS approved list
(ASUS ROG Strix TRS40-E it appears that only 16GB pieces can be installed??

It is my understanding that the AMD threadripper 3970x can work with 3200 max.

And I also read that buying two matching sets of Corsair RAM can cause problems, as in I buy a kit today and a month later I buy the same kit again?

Thank you for any help. I do not want to make an expensive mistake since I haven't bought the system yet
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-30-2020, 04:51 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,407
POST ID # = 1033421
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

First, when going with ThreadRipper (or Intel Extreme) ... these are quad channel CPUs. So yes, you want to get them in sets of 4 matched DIMMs. It's when you have mismatched DIMMs on the same channel that you can get into problems.

The 3970X officially only supports 3200 but you can go up to 3600 before you get into issue with the fabric and the memory running at a 2:1 ratio, which will cause issues. Personally, I'm currently running 3466 Mhz in a 3960X.

As far as the QVL - the QVL is the list of memory that the motherboard vendor has tested. They may be a guideline but they aren't the final answer. I've got 8 3466 Dominator DIMMs running on my system just fine ... and they aren't on the QVL. If it's on the QVL, you can be fairly certain it'll work. If not, then it's likely to work but not certain.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-31-2020, 12:07 PM
BanditTA BanditTA is offline
Registered User
BanditTA's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1033478
BanditTA Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you very much DevBiker.

If I order the PC with 4 matched sets of RAM such as 4X16GB in four of the slots
and then I later add a set of 4 (same brand/type but greater capacity) to the other slots (4X32GB) myself for something like 192GB total RAM is that ok as long as the RAM is QVL?

Or do both banks of 4 slots have to have the same ammount of RAM so you cannot put 64 on one side and 128 on the other?

Last edited by BanditTA; 01-31-2020 at 12:10 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-31-2020, 07:58 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,407
POST ID # = 1033516
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

You can put different amounts in the different channels.

They would need to be the same brand and speed, including all timings. I had it all working with my ThreadRipper 2950X build where I had black and white Vengeance RGB RAM - 1 4x64GB kit and 1 4x32GB kit. That said, it's not a guarantee that you won't have issues - you still may - but it's likely to be OK.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.