The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2010, 01:43 PM
ajgnet ajgnet is offline
Registered User
ajgnet's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 480918
ajgnet Reputation: 10
Default Help with CMX12GX3M3A2000C9 in SR-2

I'm building a gaming machine and installed (2) CMX12GX3M3A2000C9 kits bringing me to 24GB (6 x 4GB). I know it's not recommended to install (2) kits on one board, but I received the second kit as a gift and am trying to integrate it into my setup. The result is weird.

I locked in the default timings of 9-10-9-27 @ 1.65v and am running these chips at 1066MHz.

The BIOS only picks up 20GB, as does windows, but CPU-Z shows the full 24GB.

Any idea what's going on, and how I can resolve this? I don't know that much about overclocking so please assume I am a total n00b. Thanks so much for your help!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-17-2010, 02:15 PM
trackrat trackrat is offline
Registered User
trackrat's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 702
POST ID # = 480930
trackrat Reputation: 10
Default

The info. at the links below might help?

http://i4memory.com/f54/asus-x58-6-1...stalled-19200/

http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=82274

http://www.techreaction.net/2010/09/...-and-gulftown/

http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=87341
__________________
Important:

PLEASE READ THE MEMORY UPGRADE GUIDE at the link below. It WILL answer many questions.

http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=87341


PC Overclocking is like the lottery:

There are many possible combinations but only a few that produce winning results. Nothing is guaranteed when it comes to overclocking. If you are able to tune your hardware to run beyond it's specified performance, then you got something for free.

Don't expect this to always happen.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-18-2010, 10:42 AM
Antec87 Antec87 is offline
Registered User
Antec87's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 481063
Antec87 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajgnet View Post
I'm building a gaming machine and installed (2) CMX12GX3M3A2000C9 kits bringing me to 24GB (6 x 4GB). I know it's not recommended to install (2) kits on one board, but I received the second kit as a gift and am trying to integrate it into my setup. The result is weird.

I locked in the default timings of 9-10-9-27 @ 1.65v and am running these chips at 1066MHz.

The BIOS only picks up 20GB, as does windows, but CPU-Z shows the full 24GB.

Any idea what's going on, and how I can resolve this? I don't know that much about overclocking so please assume I am a total n00b. Thanks so much for your help!
I won't throw any links at you... Before you installed 2nd kit, did you see all 12gb of ram? It may be one module in new kit is bad. Hopefully you can still sort out which ram came from which kit, run memtest86+ 4.10 to test each kit. I would do each kit, and if one kit shows errors, do each stick by itself from that kit to drill down.

When I ran 6 sticks, it puts extra strain on CPU, so there is a chance your CPU, VTT voltages are just below what is needed.

Does BIOS see all 24gb?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
24gb, cmx12gx3m3a2000c9, evga, sr-2, two kits

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.