The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2011, 11:29 AM
Artimes Artimes is offline
Registered User
Artimes's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 516909
Artimes Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Force GT 120 GB Freezing!

Hello, I've been searching the forum for a while now, but I still have'nt come across a topic that have had the answer to my problem.

I purchased a Force GT SATA3 120GB Drive the other day, among the rest of my new computers components, and It all worked well for 1 hour or so. Then I noticed that the computer started to "hang". We tried numeral fixes from BIOS tweaks to replaceing cables and changing ports, still I got the same problem.

Then it seemed like the freezing became more and more rapid, and after a while (4-5 hours maybe), the system couldnt even find the drive anymore. It was completly dead. Tried the disc in another PC, but It could'nt detect it either.

I sendt the disc back, and got my new disc today! And once again, it worked well for max 1 hour. Now it is starting to freeze again! And I have turned my computer off untill I get some good advice on how to solve this problem, as I dont feel like waiting another 3 weeks for a new disc to arive!

Please help me, I really need this computer up and running!


  #2  
Old 08-02-2011, 11:50 AM
TheOne687 TheOne687 is offline
Registered User
TheOne687's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 230
POST ID # = 516920
TheOne687 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artimes View Post
Hello, I've been searching the forum for a while now, but I still have'nt come across a topic that have had the answer to my problem.

I purchased a Force GT SATA3 120GB Drive the other day, among the rest of my new computers components, and It all worked well for 1 hour or so. Then I noticed that the computer started to "hang". We tried numeral fixes from BIOS tweaks to replaceing cables and changing ports, still I got the same problem.

Then it seemed like the freezing became more and more rapid, and after a while (4-5 hours maybe), the system couldnt even find the drive anymore. It was completly dead. Tried the disc in another PC, but It could'nt detect it either.

I sendt the disc back, and got my new disc today! And once again, it worked well for max 1 hour. Now it is starting to freeze again! And I have turned my computer off untill I get some good advice on how to solve this problem, as I dont feel like waiting another 3 weeks for a new disc to arive!

Please help me, I really need this computer up and running!
Try the LPM fix, just make sure you have the latest IRST driver installed.

How to fix your SSD freezing issue (we hope!)


  #3  
Old 08-03-2011, 07:01 AM
Artimes Artimes is offline
Registered User
Artimes's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 517139
Artimes Reputation: 10
Default

So, I did as you adviced, but my Computer still keeps on freezing :(


  #4  
Old 08-03-2011, 10:17 AM
frezorer frezorer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 517166
frezorer Reputation: 10
Default

Hi
I got a replacement drive of the newer series, but not I have more problems than before. The computer freezes up from time to time half of the times I get BSOD.

Is this the same issue that is described in this thread or is mine different from my description.

Before I got the replacement drive I had my old SSD which is an Intel 80GB G2, and I have no issues whatsoever!


  #5  
Old 08-03-2011, 10:45 AM
TheOne687 TheOne687 is offline
Registered User
TheOne687's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 230
POST ID # = 517175
TheOne687 Reputation: 10
Default

Corsairs new Force 3 and Force GT series use the SF-2281 controller which is currently having problems, Corsair and SandForce are working on a solution.

This thread has suggestions that may help with the stability of the drive.

Force Series 3 Users Having Issues with a Replacement Drive READ HERE PLEASE

Last edited by TheOne687; 08-03-2011 at 10:52 AM.


  #6  
Old 08-05-2011, 05:52 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 517873
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

UPDATED FIRMWARE AVAILABLE VERSION 1.3


  #7  
Old 12-18-2014, 04:10 AM
shabba20 shabba20 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 747605
shabba20 Reputation: 10
Default Same problem solved

Hy,

I have 2 force gt 120, and had the same problem until i updated ahci driver...

I now use : amd-catalyst-omega-14.12-sb-sata-ahci-win8.1-win7 .

I can't remember where i got it from but a google search can find it i think.

I have Amd cpu

Hope it fixes for you guys aswell.
(i pulled some hair finding a fix that worked)

Prior to updating the drivers i even tried lpm. but no fix ( maybe i had no irst)


Closed Thread

Tags
120gb, force gt, freeze, hard drive, sata3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.