Corsair Community

H100i v2 RGB platinum fan full speed problem

pandava

Hey there!

I am kinda desparate because 1 of the H100i v2 ML 120 fans is going full speed 2700 rpm all the time... This is my first build and i cant figure out how to controll it. Other 3 fans working perfectly. I checked bios and coulndt do anything to stop it there ether. All cables are connected where they should be (I think).

Pump cables - SATA with split to CPU_FAN1, usb mini cable to usb2 mobo, and 2 fan cables with rgb connected aswell...

I was thinking that issue is with the CPU_FAN1 3 pin connector because on the motherboard its 4 pins and maybe thats overkill or something.

MoBo: MPG Z390M GAMING EDGE AC

CPU: i7 8700k

screen from IQUE:

https://imgur.com/a/gfUwsUs

screen from corsair LINK

https://imgur.com/a/cIYfNos

Looking farward for some fix :)

Normally, I would treat this like a bad fan/controller test, but with 4 people reporting the same issue in one day, I am concerned it is not hardware related and not as easily solved.

The normal next step would be to swap the two fan connectors on the H100i Plat. fans and see if the stuck fan switches to #2 or stays at one. I expect it to stay on #1 and that would implicate the controller or software, which isn't necessarily new information or helpful. Yet, the next thing I would recommend is to move the two H100i Plat. fans off the cooler's controller and onto your motherboard, so you might as well test it while you are moving them. This will put the fans back under BIOS control and you can set them to normal levels.

Incidentally, I don't see anything on your device list that requires Link. iCUE will supersede it and you could uninstall it, although it has absolutely nothing to do with this problem.

Thanks for the help!

So when I switched one of the pump fan to motherboard the #1 that was stuck stayed as usual and other one was like you said BIOS controlled one. And IQUE didnt see him anymore.