The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2020, 06:42 PM
apd_tx apd_tx is offline
Registered User
apd_tx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1062002
apd_tx Reputation: 10
Default Help: New PSU does not post if HDD is connected

Hello,
I have a mini itx system and the existing 450w psu (silverstone) fan is making a rattling sound so I decided to change it to a corsair sf450. But after swapping the psu the pc does not boot even into bios if any of the HDD's are connected to psu.
Here is what I did so far:
1) connect everything and power on, fans spin one turn and I hear a click and everything turns off
2) I disconnected everything including memory and tested by adding back one by one.
I can boot into bios with memory installed but not any of the 3 hdd's. It stops booting as soon as power is given to the HDD's. I used the new cables that came with the PSU, seems like it goes into protection/fault mode.
3) when I reconnect the old PSU, it boots and all HDD's are working fine.

What seems to be the problem? Any help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-19-2020, 07:16 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,392
POST ID # = 1062003
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by apd_tx View Post
Hello,
I have a mini itx system and the existing 450w psu (silverstone) fan is making a rattling sound so I decided to change it to a corsair sf450. But after swapping the psu the pc does not boot even into bios if any of the HDD's are connected to psu.
You're not using any of the SilverStone cables, are you? They're not pin compatible. You have to use all Corsair cables.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-19-2020, 09:14 PM
apd_tx apd_tx is offline
Registered User
apd_tx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1062018
apd_tx Reputation: 10
Default

I am using all the cables that came with the new PSU. The new one is modular and the old one is not so I cannot reuse any cables. And the issue is with all my HDD's (2 ssd and 1 spinner)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-20-2020, 02:31 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,392
POST ID # = 1062091
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by apd_tx View Post
I am using all the cables that came with the new PSU. The new one is modular and the old one is not so I cannot reuse any cables. And the issue is with all my HDD's (2 ssd and 1 spinner)
Hmm... Odd. And the PSU only comes with one SATA cable, so it's not like you can try another cable.

What does the SATA cable say on the end that plugs into the PSU?

It should have a part number starting with "34".
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-21-2020, 11:27 AM
Pocah Pocah is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 160
POST ID # = 1062208
Pocah Reputation: 17
Default

That's a very strange problem. I would get hold of a Molex to Sata power cable adapter from ebay, and use the peripheral cable you have for your Corsair PSU. If the problem goes away it's the cable ( although I can't see how ) if the problem remains it's the PSU.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-21-2020, 03:56 PM
apd_tx apd_tx is offline
Registered User
apd_tx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1062251
apd_tx Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
Hmm... Odd. And the PSU only comes with one SATA cable, so it's not like you can try another cable.

What does the SATA cable say on the end that plugs into the PSU?

It should have a part number starting with "34".
I do have a bunch of cables from other psu's but I am hesitant to try for the fear of frying hdd's is real. I am going to return and ask for a replacement at the moment.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-21-2020, 04:01 PM
apd_tx apd_tx is offline
Registered User
apd_tx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1062252
apd_tx Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pocah View Post
That's a very strange problem. I would get hold of a Molex to Sata power cable adapter from ebay, and use the peripheral cable you have for your Corsair PSU. If the problem goes away it's the cable ( although I can't see how ) if the problem remains it's the PSU.
I have a few of those too and tried it and nope, the fan/everything cuts out immediately with a click. Some protection kicks in and shuts it. Thankfully no damage was done to the data, so kuddos to the designers. Sadly back it goes.

I appreciate all the replies folks.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-21-2020, 04:30 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,392
POST ID # = 1062256
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by apd_tx View Post
I do have a bunch of cables from other psu's but I am hesitant to try for the fear of frying hdd's is real. I am going to return and ask for a replacement at the moment.
I didn't ask you to do that... because it's a terrible idea.

I asked you what the connector says on the side that plugs into the PSU.

Unless you meant to reply to someone else?

Quote:
Originally Posted by apd_tx View Post
I have a few of those too and tried it and nope, the fan/everything cuts out immediately with a click. Some protection kicks in and shuts it. Thankfully no damage was done to the data, so kuddos to the designers. Sadly back it goes.
Please list what all of the drives are.

If they're all enterprise drives with PWDIS support, then they will not work as Corsair follows ATX12V guidelines and supplies +3.3V where those drives expect there to be a ground.

EDIT: Scratch that. You already tried Molex to SATA adapters which do not use a +3.3V lead, so this wouldn't be the problem either.

What's odd is that the 24-pin is also supplying the board with +5V and +3.3V, so if there was a problem with one of those rails inside the PSU, it wouldn't work with no drives attached either.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-22-2020, 02:38 PM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games™
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 403
POST ID # = 1062353
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

I suggest getting a larger capacity PSU as the 450W is evidently not handling the workload.

This is why I do not like pint sized units, they are too inflexible when problems surface.
__________________

Cooler Master HAF 932 chassis with the Corsair HX1000i PSU

Hardcore Games™ - Legendary of the Only Way to Play™

I have been a vegan since 1969. I have experienced more prejudice than anyone could possibly ever imagine.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-22-2020, 03:08 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,392
POST ID # = 1062358
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegan View Post
I suggest getting a larger capacity PSU as the 450W is evidently not handling the workload.

This is why I do not like pint sized units, they are too inflexible when problems surface.
He was using a 450W before.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-22-2020, 04:05 PM
LeDoyen LeDoyen is offline
Registered User
LeDoyen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 459
POST ID # = 1062365
LeDoyen Reputation: 26
Default

37 amps on the +12V..
I doubt two HDDs would trigger OCP, even at startup. that's not yet a "workload"

That said.. i once had a similar problem and it was nasty. it could be worth checking :
On the last HDD i ever used, when swapping cases, i did not notice that the little nub that does the L shape at the end of the SATA socket on the drive had broken off.
It got plugged shifting every connexion by one pad... basically shorting or cross connecting voltages together, or with ground... anyway, same symptom, the computer would not start until i unplugged that drive.

its PCB was fried, all data lost.. was nasty, i hope that's not your issue.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-23-2020, 09:13 PM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games™
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 403
POST ID # = 1062510
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeDoyen View Post
37 amps on the +12V..
I doubt two HDDs would trigger OCP, even at startup. that's not yet a "workload"

That said.. i once had a similar problem and it was nasty. it could be worth checking :
On the last HDD i ever used, when swapping cases, i did not notice that the little nub that does the L shape at the end of the SATA socket on the drive had broken off.
It got plugged shifting every connexion by one pad... basically shorting or cross connecting voltages together, or with ground... anyway, same symptom, the computer would not start until i unplugged that drive.

its PCB was fried, all data lost.. was nasty, i hope that's not your issue.
I have not had that problem. Mind you I am careful with hard disks. I spent more $ on perfect sized cables etc so that parts fit better.

I have 5 disks in my chassis so I am very conscious of disk health. I also have a pair of M.2 SSD drives and a front panel box with 4 more hard disks.

I use the front box to close disks fast. Less demand now but I installed a lot of SATA SSD in laptops. More recently I have been doing capacity increases.
__________________

Cooler Master HAF 932 chassis with the Corsair HX1000i PSU

Hardcore Games™ - Legendary of the Only Way to Play™

I have been a vegan since 1969. I have experienced more prejudice than anyone could possibly ever imagine.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 09-24-2020, 03:38 AM
LeDoyen LeDoyen is offline
Registered User
LeDoyen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 459
POST ID # = 1062539
LeDoyen Reputation: 26
Default

yep, mishaps are rarely planified :) but SATA connectors are very fragile
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.