The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 31 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-26-2011, 01:15 PM
marangoni marangoni is offline
Registered User
marangoni's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 550395
marangoni Reputation: 10
Default SP2500 update problem

Hello, I recently purchased the Corsair SP2500 speakers, which sound great!

I went online to download the SP2500 Update Installer, but for some reason the install fails every time.

I have attached a screenshot of my issue.

The download instructions on the corsair website get cut off in both my IE9 and Firefox browsers, so I am unable to read the full instructions.

Someone please help, I just want the software to be installed!
Attached Images
File Type: png failed.PNG (42.3 KB, 2206 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-26-2011, 01:39 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 550400
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Double check to see if you are running the update as "administrator"

Please make sure you are using Internet Explorer.

Also can you please provide a link to where you got the update from.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 02-07-2012 at 04:38 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-26-2011, 10:08 PM
marangoni marangoni is offline
Registered User
marangoni's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 550477
marangoni Reputation: 10
Default

I've tried running as administrator, and have used Internet Explorer.

Both "run" and save" options for the installer give me this error. I've been getting it directly from the corsair website. Here is the link I have been using:

http://www.corsair.com/pc-computer-a...er-system.html
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-27-2011, 02:43 AM
Babydreamz Babydreamz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 550506
Babydreamz Reputation: 10
Default

Hi, I have the same problem as well. I tried running it with administrator and it still does not update.
It cannot go through the last step on installation.
Any other way to update this?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-27-2011, 09:36 AM
joecar10 joecar10 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 550547
joecar10 Reputation: 10
Default

Just bought them yesterday and I'm having the same issue.

Using IE9 and running Windows 7 Pro SP1 (64bit)
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-27-2011, 07:28 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 550647
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

We are currently working to have the instructions viewable on the website product page.

It does require a Mini USB cable for the update.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-28-2011, 05:00 AM
Babydreamz Babydreamz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 550711
Babydreamz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
We are currently working to have the instructions viewable on the website product page.

It does require a Mini USB cable for the update.
The system does not come with a Mini USB cable. Can we use any Mini USB cable?
Also, is there actually an update for it?

UPDATE: Tried updating it with a mini usb cable attatched. It still gives the same results. "The Installation failed. Please try again later"

Last edited by Babydreamz; 12-28-2011 at 05:10 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-29-2011, 02:00 AM
marangoni marangoni is offline
Registered User
marangoni's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 550882
marangoni Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babydreamz View Post
The system does not come with a Mini USB cable. Can we use any Mini USB cable?
Also, is there actually an update for it?

UPDATE: Tried updating it with a mini usb cable attatched. It still gives the same results. "The Installation failed. Please try again later"
I also tried updating with a mini USB cable with the same failed results.

Surely there must be a way to get this program installed?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-29-2011, 09:32 AM
ars92 ars92 is offline
Registered User
ars92's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 550913
ars92 Reputation: 10
Default

I have successfully installed it but it only fixed two japanese characters.....

So i dont think you guys have anything to lose by not installing it.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-29-2011, 02:13 PM
marangoni marangoni is offline
Registered User
marangoni's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 550967
marangoni Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ars92 View Post
I have successfully installed it but it only fixed two japanese characters.....

So i dont think you guys have anything to lose by not installing it.
What did you do to have it installed? Can you please explain step by step?

I'd still really like to install it in case any future updates are released.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 12-30-2011, 08:26 AM
ars92 ars92 is offline
Registered User
ars92's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 551131
ars92 Reputation: 10
Default

I think the one thing you guys forgot to do is make sure your speaker is turned off when you connect the cable both to your speaker and your computer USB port.Only after that should you turn it on.It will then say "USB cable connected" or something.After that,start the installer and just follow the instructions.It should work as that's exactly what I did. :)

EDIT:I would suggest you guys to first uninstall the SP2500 updater if you have installed it.The reason is because it would first install the USB drivers from STMicroelectronics before proceeding to the firmware update.If not,it will be stuck at "waiting for device".connect the cables,turn on the device,start the installer,and go on from there.

Last edited by ars92; 12-30-2011 at 08:29 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-03-2012, 09:07 AM
greeny2010's Avatar
greeny2010 greeny2010 is offline
Registered User
greeny2010's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 551748
greeny2010 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ars92 View Post
I think the one thing you guys forgot to do is make sure your speaker is turned off when you connect the cable both to your speaker and your computer USB port.Only after that should you turn it on.It will then say "USB cable connected" or something.After that,start the installer and just follow the instructions.It should work as that's exactly what I did. :)

EDIT:I would suggest you guys to first uninstall the SP2500 updater if you have installed it.The reason is because it would first install the USB drivers from STMicroelectronics before proceeding to the firmware update.If not,it will be stuck at "waiting for device".connect the cables,turn on the device,start the installer,and go on from there.
Still no go after following what you have recommended. Still stopped at the installing part.

I just wonder if the support here read our mails?
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 01-03-2012, 11:24 AM
ars92 ars92 is offline
Registered User
ars92's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 551762
ars92 Reputation: 10
Default

did you see the "usb connected message"?
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 01-03-2012, 06:06 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 551876
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Make sure you are using a Mini USB to USB connector for the upgrade. (please note the cable is not provided).
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 01-03-2012, 11:21 PM
joecar10 joecar10 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 551958
joecar10 Reputation: 10
Default

RAM GUY - Maybe you can offer more useful help then letting us know multiple times that we need to connect the device to the computer via mini USB to USB. Next, are you going to tell us to make sure our computer is on?

Speaking of which, the product DOES come with a mini usb to usb cable.

Anyway, maybe the issue is the software is incompatible with 64bit ver. of windows 7. I will try installing on windows xp (32 bit) tomorrow.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.