Corsair Community

Question concerning Corsair's Lightning node pro

stonygman

Hey everyone!

I'm new to the RGB craze and I'm desperate need to have disco lightning in my apartment.

I'm planning to start a new build and the case I chose to use is CORSAIR CRYSTAL 280X RGB Micro-ATX Case. In the description it says that it includes a Lighting Node PRO and Two CORSAIR LL120 RGB fans. I plan on installing my 240mm radiator at the top and purchase 2 Corsair LL140 RGB fans.

My dilema is that I initially thought on buying an ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-G GAMING and pair it with a ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 (I purchased it already) just to discover that the motherboard shockingly does not have an RGB header.

My question is (I'm sorry if it's dumb), how will I be able to sync the LL fans so they can be detected and manage the RGB effects in iCUE? Would I need to buy an RGB controller of some sort? I'm confused lol.

Thank you in advance!

All of the Corsair RGB will go through the Lighting Node Pro that comes with the case. You do not need (or want) a specific motherboard RGB header. Those are used for tying in LED strips with Asus' Aura RGB software, which is a very basic interface. You will want it installed to deal with on board motherboard LEDs and the same for the GPU (if it has any), but that program can run concurrently with iCUE.

Hey everyone!

I'm new to the RGB craze and I'm desperate need to have disco lightning in my apartment.

I'm planning to start a new build and the case I chose to use is CORSAIR CRYSTAL 280X RGB Micro-ATX Case. In the description it says that it includes a Lighting Node PRO and Two CORSAIR LL120 RGB fans. I plan on installing my 240mm radiator at the top and purchase 2 Corsair LL140 RGB fans.

My dilema is that I initially thought on buying an ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-G GAMING and pair it with a ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 (I purchased it already) just to discover that the motherboard shockingly does not have an RGB header.