The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2018, 06:08 PM
nezff nezff is offline
Registered User
nezff's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 101
POST ID # = 985428
nezff Reputation: 10
Default H100i platinum, ML120s, ML140. Commander pro?

I understand about the RGB cable, but wasnt sure how to POWER the fans other than getting a commander pro and eliminated the NODE PRO.


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2018, 10:30 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,393
POST ID # = 985473
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The Platinum coolers have RGB connectors for the fans. So you won't need to connect them to the Fan Hub with the other fans (though you certainly can if you like).
Other than that, you seem to have it handled. You are correct; they Commander Pro will replace the Lighting Node Pro (and then some). This is a good option if you have limited PWM Fan Headers on the motherboard.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2018, 01:48 PM
nezff nezff is offline
Registered User
nezff's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 101
POST ID # = 985723
nezff Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The Platinum coolers have RGB connectors for the fans. So you won't need to connect them to the Fan Hub with the other fans (though you certainly can if you like).
Other than that, you seem to have it handled. You are correct; they Commander Pro will replace the Lighting Node Pro (and then some). This is a good option if you have limited PWM Fan Headers on the motherboard.
Thank you sir. I was mainly plugging all the fans into the hub because of them syncing up together. Having the same lighting.

One quick question: Can I plug the USB from the H100i Platinum into the USB on the commander pro? This basically just saves me running a USB into my mobo.

thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2018, 02:19 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,027
POST ID # = 985729
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Yes, you can plug the cooler USB 2.0 into the C-Pro USB slot and that is one of it's key utility features. Getting hard to find a board with more than 1 USB 2.0 internal port. The C-Pro USB receptacle looks a bit off and more like a USB 3, but if you look inside you will see the expected 2.0 pin-out.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2018, 02:25 PM
nezff nezff is offline
Registered User
nezff's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 101
POST ID # = 985730
nezff Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Yes, you can plug the cooler USB 2.0 into the C-Pro USB slot and that is one of it's key utility features. Getting hard to find a board with more than 1 USB 2.0 internal port. The C-Pro USB receptacle looks a bit off and more like a USB 3, but if you look inside you will see the expected 2.0 pin-out.
Great! thanks so much.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-17-2018, 08:20 AM
nezff nezff is offline
Registered User
nezff's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 101
POST ID # = 985830
nezff Reputation: 10
Default

Got the commander pro in. One question. The usb from the h100i platinum seems a tad short. Causing me to try and move things closer inside the case. If I move the commander pro closer to top of case, the usb from the commander might not reach and vice versa. Thanks in advance and any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-17-2018, 08:54 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,393
POST ID # = 985835
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

You can use internal USB extensions.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-17-2018, 11:10 AM
nezff nezff is offline
Registered User
nezff's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 101
POST ID # = 985844
nezff Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
You can use internal USB extensions.
Right. Next question. I notice the usb end from the h100i that goes to mobo header is only 4-5 wires whereas others like commander pro has more. Should I search for a extension with 4-5 wired? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-17-2018, 11:28 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,393
POST ID # = 985845
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Good eyes!

So ... here's how it works. Each internal USB header has 2 USB ports. Each USB port uses 4 pins. The extra pin on one row is for an additional ground.

As you've noted, the H100i only uses a single port. The Commander Pro, however, requires both ports. One of those ports is for the CoPro's internal MCU, the other is for the CoPro's USB hub.

For the H100i, you can use an extension for a single port. Just make sure that you are super-careful to line up the wiring! In fact, I've used just such an extension cable for both my H115i (both the Pro and Platinum) and my HX1200i to put both of them on a single USB 2.0 internal header.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-17-2019, 12:10 PM
nezff nezff is offline
Registered User
nezff's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 101
POST ID # = 1011583
nezff Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Yes, you can plug the cooler USB 2.0 into the C-Pro USB slot and that is one of it's key utility features. Getting hard to find a board with more than 1 USB 2.0 internal port. The C-Pro USB receptacle looks a bit off and more like a USB 3, but if you look inside you will see the expected 2.0 pin-out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The Platinum coolers have RGB connectors for the fans. So you won't need to connect them to the Fan Hub with the other fans (though you certainly can if you like).
Other than that, you seem to have it handled. You are correct; they Commander Pro will replace the Lighting Node Pro (and then some). This is a good option if you have limited PWM Fan Headers on the motherboard.
wanted to see what you guys thought of this new layout for my PC. thanks in advance. Let me know if anything should be changed.

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showpost...63&postcount=8
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-17-2019, 07:48 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,393
POST ID # = 1011642
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nezff View Post
wanted to see what you guys thought of this new layout for my PC. thanks in advance. Let me know if anything should be changed.

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showpost...63&postcount=8
Assuming that they are all LL fans, that's all good.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.