The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2015, 05:51 AM
CART CART is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 766113
CART Reputation: 10
Default Corsair H80i GT Problems

Hello,

I have recently bought the new Cooling system from Corsair and received it yesterday. After I added it to my PC I started the PC and checked the temps right away, what worries me now is that the temps on idle are between 35 - 50° C which, I think, is way too high (?).

Here is a screenshot of CoreTemp:



The temps reach 50° C after a few hours, screenshot was taken today when I first started the PC.

So, I thought, before I do anything I will download, as suggested, the Corsair LINK software where I see that:



After some goolging I found out that the problems happens alot and it means the software doesnt recognize the Cooler but I can change the LED colour which makes me wonder..

Now to my setup; as you might alread have guessed from the second screenshot, I'm using a Alienware Aurora R4 system (have it since 3 years) which was the reason why I HAD to buy a new cooler because the standard cooler started to overheat, caused by the production error.

The processor is a Intel i7 3930k.

Here are some pictures of the cabling and setup:

Instead of the stock corsair fans, I'm using two Noctua NF-F12 fans where are both are on the back and front of the radiator.

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 - Connection of the 2 fans

Another thing I noticed which I am not sure about is that the fans, which are blowing out of the case, don't really create any air when I put my hands infront of them, I don't feel any air coming out.. Could it be that the fans aren't compatible with the Cooler?
I'm kinda new to this whole "Build your pc" so don't expect too much from, hence why I bought a finished one..

Hope you guys can help me! Also sorry for my english, not my native language.

Thank you in advance!

Last edited by CART; 03-14-2015 at 06:15 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-14-2015, 09:30 AM
BatJoe BatJoe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 57
POST ID # = 766126
BatJoe Reputation: 10
Default

Hi,

If you previously had Corsair link installed, try completely uninstalling it and try the latest 3.1 version. I would also try connecting the fans on the cooler directly to the motherboard headers to see what happens.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-14-2015, 10:35 AM
CART CART is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 766137
CART Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BatJoe View Post
Hi,

If you previously had Corsair link installed, try completely uninstalling it and try the latest 3.1 version. I would also try connecting the fans on the cooler directly to the motherboard headers to see what happens.
Hello,

it was my first time installing the software but I reinstalled it now and the problem still happens.

Regarding the fans, I don't really see any headers on the mother board where I could connect them. The only thing I tried was connecting one fan to the a header saying SYS FAN, it made the fan spin faster and create a higher airflow.

Also, I just played a game more than a hour and the temps were between 55 - 60° C

EDIT: What I forgot to add, when I installed the cooler I left the old Thermal paste on the CPU.. could this be the cause of the temp issues?

Last edited by CART; 03-14-2015 at 10:49 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-14-2015, 11:17 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 766144
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CART View Post
EDIT: What I forgot to add, when I installed the cooler I left the old Thermal paste on the CPU.. could this be the cause of the temp issues?
Yes. I would have cleaned it off and suggest you do so now.

BTW does my SIV (http://rh-software.com/) utility report your H80iGT correctly? It should, but I have not as yet tested it. You need to exit CL before running SIV and look at the Menu->Tools->Link Devices and Menu->Tools->Link Status panels.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-14-2015, 12:26 PM
CART CART is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 766159
CART Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Yes. I would have cleaned it off and suggest you do so now.

BTW does my SIV (http://rh-software.com/) utility report your H80iGT correctly? It should, but I have not as yet tested it. You need to exit CL before running SIV and look at the Menu->Tools->Link Devices and Menu->Tools->Link Status panels.
Hi,

under Link devices I get following message:

No Corsair Link Devices found on this system

There is no data available anymore (Error 259).


Couldn't find the Link Status panel.

Last edited by CART; 03-14-2015 at 12:28 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-14-2015, 03:59 PM
CART CART is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 766199
CART Reputation: 10
Default

Okay, after watching some Youtube videos i noticed that there is some sort of vibrating sound coming from the cooler. There are no wires or similiar touching it.

Here's a video where you can hear it. Gonna send a message to Retailer I purchased the cooler from.


Last edited by CART; 03-14-2015 at 04:05 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-14-2015, 10:47 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,002
POST ID # = 766267
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

You likely have two separate problems to deal with here. 1) Your high idle temps are likely from poor block contact and/or a bad TIM application. 2) Getting the LINK program to work.

1) Your idle temperature is too high, even if the fans are off. This usually suggests poor contact between the copper plate on the H80 and CPU heatsink. The back plate on the new H80 looks to be more straightforward the prior notched version, so I will assume you got it on right and move on to the paste. It sounds like you didn't clean off the block before installing the new unit, which likely had more paste pre-applied to it. You need to clean it all off both sides and start over. Below is a fairly thorough guide to thermal interface materials and how to apply it. Part 2 has head to head comparisons, which reveal that there are no magic compounds, so rule #1 is pick something that is easy to work with and the rest doesn't matter much. Rule #2 is use just a tiny pea in the middle of the CPU. The TIM is an inferior heat conductor compared to the metal around it. It's only purpose is to fill the microscopic gaps between the two metal pieces. You want to thinnest layer possible. Less is better and most people over-estimate the size of the chip hiding underneath that metal heat spreader shield.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ader,3600.html

2) After that is sorted out, you can move onto the LINK problem. Unfortunately it's just a trial and error process. The motherboard and your OS seem to be the primary factors as to which version of the program works. Start with the most recent and work backwards. I don't know whether you are on Win 7 or 8, but Version 2.4 was usually successful with the Dell boards and Win 7. However, I don't know if the older versions of LINK will be compatible with the new GT series coolers. There are hundreds of posts with different things to try if rolling back the program version does work. I won't reiterate all of them here.

In the meantime, you can run well without the LINK program after addressing the TIM issue. As you already know, you must have the pump 3pin connector plugged into the CPU_FAN header. You will not be able to boot without it. It should run at maximum without tinkering and you can monitor it in Command Center. You will need a normal PWM 4-pin fan splitter (Noctua sells a nice short one for your short path). You can then run both fans from the splitter connected into the SYS_FAN header. You will have manual control over the fan speed in Command Center. It will no longer adjust its speed based on CPU temp or any other factors, however after several years of running H80's on an R1, I found I prefer my steady fan speeds anyway. Just set it up to a comfortable level when gaming and then back down to a minimal speed when on the desktop.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-14-2015, 03:16 PM
X-ite X-ite is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 825582
X-ite Reputation: 10
Default

Did you need to install a new bracket on the backside of the motherboard?
My Cooling recently died and now I am going to buy a H80i GT.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 04-28-2016, 11:47 AM
Mutantxuk Mutantxuk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 849549
Mutantxuk Reputation: 10
Default

Hi

Ive upgraded from a well performing h80i (2.5 years hard use the pipes started to split) to the newer h80igt

I used to get idle temps of around 36 degrees (perhaps 65 under load) but after a installing the GT i get idle temps of 58 and under a cpu load of just 60ish% i hit 80 degrees- corsair link says the pumps working and shows a pump temp of 40.5 (45 under 60%load) , so i removed the thermal paste and used some new higher end paste - made sure i had good back plate contact which has seemed to make some difference but nothing worth saying "its fixed"

any ideas?


also to note - i back mounted the rad and upside down (so the reservoir is at the bottom and very hot to touch)

Last edited by Mutantxuk; 04-28-2016 at 01:01 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 04-28-2016, 01:38 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 849567
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow Post the CL4 [Home] screen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mutantxuk View Post
any ideas?
Did you disable CPU_FAN control in the BIOS?

What is the pump speed? Post the CL4 [Home] screen.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 04-28-2016, 02:04 PM
Mutantxuk Mutantxuk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 849571
Mutantxuk Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Did you disable CPU_FAN control in the BIOS?

What is the pump speed? Post the CL4 [Home] screen.

1. not touched any settings in bios since switching out the old h80 - i can check its current status.

2. pumps almost at max



i took the side of my case off and the inside fan as the res felt so warm - the above pic is after 30 mins and some more heat has come down 8 degrees on idle and a few degree on the hgoigt pump temp. also the res is now cool to touch.

Last edited by Mutantxuk; 04-28-2016 at 02:09 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 04-28-2016, 03:06 PM
Mutantxuk Mutantxuk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 849584
Mutantxuk Reputation: 10
Default

k got a REAL problem now ... pumps @max and started to make a slushing/bubbling noise and the heat at pump on idles up to 66 degree heat and climbing @ cores at 95 degree ... need turn pc off - help!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
corsair, corsair link, h80i gt, problem, temperature

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.