The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2019, 08:10 PM
brighttail brighttail is offline
Registered User
brighttail's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 137
POST ID # = 1013295
brighttail Reputation: 11
Default How much is too much voltage? Dom Plat RGB

So as before i have the CMT32GX4M4K3600C16 kit of 4x8GB 3200Mhz series of Dominator Platinum RGB.

My previous version of Special Edition ram I was reading people were reviewing and overclocking safely at 24/7 using 1.45v on the 1.35v kits. With that amount I was able to get it up to 3800Mhz but never felt safe to keep it at that high voltage for the returns I was getting.

With this new RAM i was able to get a solid 4000 MHz running at 1.4v at the settings of 19, 23, 23, 45, 2. RAM Passed 200% of the MemTest, bumped my benchmarks by 14% and never went past 45C in temps.

So the question... 1.4v. Safe to run 24/7? I haven't seen any white papers that suggest a maximum voltage for the Dominator Platinum Kits, tho at the premium price point, I have to imagine that they expect some overclocking done and a .05v doesn't seem excessive to me.

Thoughts? and thanks!

EDIT NOTE... I do plan to try and tighten up those timings if I can. I chose those timings as a starting point as they are standard for Corsair RAM at the 4000MHz level.

Sadly they don't have the Samsung B-die chips they are Hynix H5AN8G8NCJR-TFC 8 Gb C-die (Alius / 18 nm) / 1 die

Last edited by brighttail; 07-31-2019 at 08:20 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-10-2019, 11:01 AM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 987
POST ID # = 1014277
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

CJR can take 1.4V no problem and with a good heatspreader like the Dominator Platinum one, this should not be an issue even on higher ambient temperatures.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-11-2019, 02:35 PM
c1team c1team is offline
Registered User
c1team's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1014387
c1team Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brighttail View Post
Sadly they don't have the Samsung B-die chips they are Hynix H5AN8G8NCJR-TFC 8 Gb C-die (Alius / 18 nm) / 1 die
CMT32GX4M4K3600C16 should be Samsung b-die according to https://benzhaomin.github.io/bdiefinder/

Im looking at the same kit and or the CMT32GX4M4C3600C18 which should also be Samsung B-die https://s16.directupload.net/images/190323/xfs8zrkx.png
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.