The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-17-2012, 01:27 AM
JayG6984 JayG6984 is offline
Registered User
JayG6984's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 614060
JayG6984 Reputation: 10
Default Problems with Vengeance 2000 mic / drivers

Just recently received brand new Vengeance 2000 7.1 wireless headset (bought on Newegg).

Opened the package and plugged in to charge. Once fully charged, plugged the dongle into the USB port and turned on the headset. I had to change the default sound device from my normal speakers to the headset, but that was expected. They sounded absolutely fantastic.

I moved the mic boom down, and instantly got a horrible, loud feedback / cracking / popping, overall annoying sound. The sound persisted in the headset after changing default output back to my normal speakers and after disabling / muting the mic. Also, the problem persisted after going into Windows input control and turning the mic input way, way down. As long as the headset is on, and the mic boom is in the "down" position, there is horrible, horrible sound.

My next step was to come here and download the drivers. After downloading the drivers and restarting the computer, it went to a bluescreen error and wouldn't reboot. I rebooted in safe mode and uninstalled the drivers, all went back to the way it was.

I can understand if there is a problem with this particular headset causing the feedback, but not being able to download the drivers is a completely separate issue, and doesn't seem like it could be related to the mic/feedback problem.

As it stands, I am very unhappy with this product, and hope to be able to find some resolution here before I have to send it back.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-17-2012, 08:35 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 614137
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Can you try the headset on another computer and see if the mic issues are still present. If it is, contact your seller and ask if they can replace it for you. If not, request an RMA.

As for the drivers,
What was the BSOD error code?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-18-2012, 12:53 AM
JayG6984 JayG6984 is offline
Registered User
JayG6984's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 614178
JayG6984 Reputation: 10
Default

I tried on another computer, same problem. The drivers installed correctly on that computer though. As for the error code, didn't remember to write it down. I'll do it again in a little bit and get the code.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-19-2012, 03:25 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 614309
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Contact your seller and ask if they can replace the headset for you. If not, request an RMA to replace it.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-19-2012, 02:00 PM
Corsair Jason Corsair Jason is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 145
POST ID # = 614362
Corsair Jason Reputation: 10
Default

Exchange it. Its a great headset. Have not seen anyone have this issue.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-10-2013, 05:20 AM
pzervas pzervas is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 625123
pzervas Reputation: 10
Default Same problem = common problem

Same as the above.

Charged the unit.Followed the instructions in the book to the letter.

Moved the mic boom down to activate the switch and same as the above.Even when I record with the mic the mic will capture the sound.

I turned everything off in my house from the mains switch. I set-up with a laptop still as above.

I have tested on 4 computers......not cool guys.


See attached file for sound.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Untitled (9).zip (315.4 KB, 140 views)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-10-2013, 01:29 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 625192
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pzervas View Post
Same as the above.

Charged the unit.Followed the instructions in the book to the letter.

Moved the mic boom down to activate the switch and same as the above.Even when I record with the mic the mic will capture the sound.

I turned everything off in my house from the mains switch. I set-up with a laptop still as above.

I have tested on 4 computers......not cool guys.


See attached file for sound.
Sounds like a bad mic, go ahead and request a RMA with the link to the left and provide me with your case number. We'll get it taken care of for you.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
bluescreen, drivers, feeback, mic, software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.