The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2019, 08:06 PM
NicholasUchoa NicholasUchoa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1020940
NicholasUchoa Reputation: 10
Default How to fix loose wire

I have a PSU CX500 and one of the wires is loose. My pc won't turn on because of that. I tried to remove the metal thingy with no luck. So i inserted the wire into the metal and it was fine. But the wire got loose again.

I want to know if that can be fixed

Thanks in adv
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg received_344723329763412.jpeg (333.6 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpeg received_339798193596115.jpeg (354.7 KB, 29 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-12-2019, 08:16 AM
Nazgul Nazgul is offline
Registered User
Nazgul's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 57
POST ID # = 1021066
Nazgul Reputation: 7
Default

Sure can, get "wire glue", you can find that on amazon. Follow the instructions and it could do the trick.

OR! You can take that metal clip out of the connector, buy a measly foot of wire at your local home depot and some electrical tape and cut and add as you need.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-12-2019, 09:02 PM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 231
POST ID # = 1021109
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

if you have some soldering tools you can fix it permanently
__________________

Cooler Master HAF 932 chassis with the Corsair HX1000i PSU

Hardcore Games - Legendary of the Only Way to Play

I have been a vegan since 1969. I have experienced more prejudice than anyone could possibly ever imagine.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-20-2019, 11:21 PM
NicholasUchoa NicholasUchoa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1021908
NicholasUchoa Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nazgul View Post
Sure can, get "wire glue", you can find that on amazon. Follow the instructions and it could do the trick.

OR! You can take that metal clip out of the connector, buy a measly foot of wire at your local home depot and some electrical tape and cut and add as you need.
Thanks i might try that!
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-20-2019, 11:22 PM
NicholasUchoa NicholasUchoa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1021909
NicholasUchoa Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegan View Post
if you have some soldering tools you can fix it permanently
I don't have. But how can i fix it if i get those tools? Can you explain it to me?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-22-2019, 12:44 PM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is online now
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 187
POST ID # = 1022044
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Vegan is suggesting to pull the metal socket from inside the plastic connector housing, then solder the wire to it. This is the proper way to permanently repair it, as you don't want loose electrical connections. However, I would suggest RMA'ing the PSU at corsair.com/support, especially if you're not familiar with, or comfortable using, a soldering iron.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.