The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2019, 04:31 PM
Xon Xon is offline
Registered User
Xon's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 990421
Xon Reputation: 10
Default LL120 Random Colors / Not Syncing

Hi guys, so this is my first post here so I am not sure if it is in the right section. If not, my apologies. Also English isn't my first language so I'm not really sure if I explained this right.

Last week I build a New PC, and I chose most of the stuff from Corsair, overall happy with the stuff but I have an issue with my LL120 Fans. 3 of them to be exact.

The colors seem to be messing around on their own, they don't sync with what I give them on iCUE. They don't always do this but most of the time they have a mind of their own.

I tried forcing Firmware update to the Commander pro, I reinstalled iCUE, I tried switched the LED ports on the lightning node and it just didn't work. It kept doing it. Bare in mind that this only happens when I have stuff like Static Color on or, Rainbow effect. Basically when the LED is constantly on.


This is pure an aesthetic issue but it really bothers me to have flicking lights.


I posted 2 GIFs maybe you can understand me better.



Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-18-2019, 07:37 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,241
POST ID # = 990430
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

We'd need to see what effects you have applied to the fans before we can say anything about it. Can you do a screen shot of the Lighting Effects configuration screen?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-18-2019, 08:48 PM
Xon Xon is offline
Registered User
Xon's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 990434
Xon Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
We'd need to see what effects you have applied to the fans before we can say anything about it. Can you do a screen shot of the Lighting Effects configuration screen?
Sure thing, in the gif I had an extra another ARC because I had one for 3 fans to go Counter-clockwise and another ARC for the other 3 fans to go clockwise but I removed that and stayed with 1 Arc lighting effect, issue still remains

Edit: Arc lightning effect is selected for the outer ring LEDs and the Heartbeat lighting effect is in the inner fan (the 4 individual LEDs)


Last edited by Xon; 01-18-2019 at 08:57 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-22-2019, 09:02 PM
Xon Xon is offline
Registered User
Xon's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 991044
Xon Reputation: 10
Default

To give a quick update I just decided to make it all the same and now suddenly the colors don't match up again. I seriously this think this is software related issue because frankly every mode I try, be static color, arc, or what ever as it may be, It had different symptom.




Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-23-2019, 11:22 AM
bork bork is offline
Registered User
bork's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 991089
bork Reputation: 10
Default

I'm having the same problem too, but only on one fan. It just started happening earlier today and I've had the fans for about a month so I think it could be a software issue.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-06-2019, 04:50 AM
Dafett Dafett is offline
Registered User
Dafett's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 992856
Dafett Reputation: 10
Default

Random colour leds being applied in an all white static setup for me too. My setup is as follows:

6 x LL 120s fan cable to Commander Pro
RGB cables to Lighting node pro to Commander Pro
4 x RGB lighting strips to Commander Pro

All fans and stripes have been set to static colour. rgb(255,255,255)

At random moments colours will start to dot on the fans as mentioned in this post.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-06-2019, 12:44 PM
SinOfHeart SinOfHeart is offline
Registered User
SinOfHeart's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 992913
SinOfHeart Reputation: 10
Default

I've been having basically the same issue. And I've noticed that occasionally the RGB lighting strips will also do something kind of similar. My setup is basically the same as this screenshot (I have 6 LL fans and 4 RGB strips. Only difference from the image is I have 2 LL fans that are hooked into my h150i and not directly into the Commander Pro. The RGB wiring is exactly the same as what I've done though):



I feel like it might be more firmware related (or at least related to what the Commander Pro is doing itself), because even when my system boots and iCUE hasn't taken over yet I see similar things where it seems like it is getting confused and trying to run two things at the same time causing weird flickering or the rainbow effect to jump abruptly. I wonder if it could be related to that new feature they added where iCUE can save hardware color patterns and if that is creating something where the Commander Pro is trying to run both at the same time or something.

Once iCUE takes over I notice the strange patterns less. I've switched to static colors for now (because it was way more distracting having it happen during color change effects), but it is still very obvious when one of the fans/strips starts to misbehave since it moves away from the static colors.

Last edited by SinOfHeart; 02-06-2019 at 12:51 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-09-2019, 06:31 PM
Xon Xon is offline
Registered User
Xon's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 997020
Xon Reputation: 10
Default

Any news? this issue seems to be still on going and it is totally ruining the aesthetic of the PC :(
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-28-2019, 05:57 AM
cjbrehh cjbrehh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 999266
cjbrehh Reputation: 10
Default

Im having the exact same issue. i returned my entire set of fans. got new ones and am having the same exact issue with the new ones. even a new controller and hub. fans set to all white, will start turning off or blinking one light random colors. cant find anything consistent about what causes it to happen.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 04-13-2019, 06:09 PM
ombadboy ombadboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 1001357
ombadboy Reputation: 10
Default

got same exact issue.. and to make things worse, one of the fans just won't respond to any changes anymore (led)... Unless I shut down the PC completely, remove from power, then it'll remain switched off unless I set a color and once I do, it can never be switched again. I keep regretting my decision going with Corsair every day.. issue after issue..
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-14-2019, 05:53 PM
SlyZenith SlyZenith is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1004603
SlyZenith Reputation: 10
Default

Have been having this issue since I bought the 3 fans back in November 2018. Any fixes? I had a few temporary ones, such as force closing and restarting ICUE, but these no longer work.

I don't understand why Corsair aren't at least replying to us so we know what the situation is. Don't appreciate spending the price premium for RGB just for it to not work.

Put a lot of effort, time, and money into this build just to have faulty RGB & 0 customer service to go along with it.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 05-30-2019, 01:47 AM
deepsucc deepsucc is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1006232
deepsucc Reputation: 10
Default

So the only solution that has seemed to work so far for me is to just run the fans on the Extreme setting because its not allowing the fan to have enough power on any other setting? I'm not sure why this is a thing but that was my fix.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 05-30-2019, 08:54 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,241
POST ID # = 1006256
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deepsucc View Post
So the only solution that has seemed to work so far for me is to just run the fans on the Extreme setting because its not allowing the fan to have enough power on any other setting? I'm not sure why this is a thing but that was my fix.
That doesn't really make sense. The LEDs have their own power (+5V) independent from the fan motor (+12V). Furthermore, PWM fans will have the full 12V at all times.
IF this is the case, then it's likely that you have a loose connection and the full fan speed is giving you enough vibration (maybe?) to make the connection.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 05-30-2019, 01:27 PM
gradientx gradientx is offline
Registered User
gradientx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1006275
gradientx Reputation: 10
Default

quick question.... how many fans do you have hooked up? I see 5 in you pic but your iCUE shows 6... i know when I didnt put the right amount of fans in my iCUE it acted funny
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 06-13-2019, 01:15 PM
Xon Xon is offline
Registered User
Xon's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1007876
Xon Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gradientx View Post
quick question.... how many fans do you have hooked up? I see 5 in you pic but your iCUE shows 6... i know when I didnt put the right amount of fans in my iCUE it acted funny

I have 6 Fans, there are 3 In front, this is the 500D Obsidian Case.

The funny thing is that the fans that came with the case work flawlessly, meanwhile the other 3 that I bought separately, the RGB just don't work at all. Now a days it doesn't even take iCUE color commands, I even put the RGB to black (so I can turn it off) and it takes a while to take the command.


The whole thing is a mess. And I know for sure it isn't the fan issue because sometimes they work for a few minutes (when I boot up my PC), and sometimes they don't turn on at all. Either the Software or my Corsair LED hub (which came with the case) is messed up.


The fans do take commands regarding speed, I also set variable speeds according to temps and it works fine. Just the RGB aesthetic is messed up.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.